We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kai Kanani Sailing Charters

Features Animals
5400 Makena Alanui, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8435
+1 808-879-7218
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Bells

What a great time! We did the snorkeling trip one day and sunset cruise the next. If you don’t do... read more

Reviewed yesterday
jrbell41
,
Maui, Hawaii
via mobile
Highly recommended!!

I did the snorkelling and turtle cruise and it was absolutely amazing!!!!! The boat ride was... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
travelaussie2018
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Read all 1,410 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Kai Kanani Sailing Charters is the only South Maui charter to offer daily departures from Makena/South Maui. From this location, it only takes 15 minutes to sail to Molokini Crater, which means less time on the open water and more time snorkeling. With two snorkel trips daily to both Molokini and Turtle Town, Whale Watching Tours (late December through April) and romantic Sunset Champagne Sail three days a week, Kai Kanani is sure to make your vacation very memorable. Snorkel equipment, instruction, and select food/drinks are included in all snorkel tours. We have marine naturalists on-board, so you can learn more about all of the fascinating underwater life you see! We even have GoPro4 cameras available for rent on-board so you can capture all of the amazing memories you make. Staying in Wailea? Kai Kanani offers free Mercedes shuttle service from select Wailea Resorts.
  • Excellent87%
  • Very good9%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“sunset cruise” (120 reviews)
“early morning” (139 reviews)
“turtle town” (278 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
LOCATION
5400 Makena Alanui, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8435
CONTACT
Website
+1 808-879-7218
Write a ReviewReviews (1,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 120 reviews
"early morning"
in 139 reviews
"turtle town"
in 278 reviews
"molokini crater"
in 151 reviews
"captain anthony"
in 26 reviews
"express tour"
in 51 reviews
"morning express"
in 17 reviews
"fish"
in 292 reviews
"deluxe tour"
in 20 reviews
"makena beach"
in 59 reviews
"sea turtles"
in 107 reviews
"second stop"
in 46 reviews
"molokini express"
in 47 reviews
"snorkel trip"
in 75 reviews
"beautiful boat"
in 15 reviews
"mai tais"
in 24 reviews
"boogie boards"
in 37 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

What a great time! We did the snorkeling trip one day and sunset cruise the next. If you don’t do any other excursions on your trip go out at least once with these guys!! An 11 on a scale of 1-10! Thank you all !...More

Thank jrbell41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I did the snorkelling and turtle cruise and it was absolutely amazing!!!!! The boat ride was lovely, the food and beverages included were great and the staff were so helpful and friendly!!! Very professional service and it was flawless. Many thanks and will recommend to...More

Thank travelaussie2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Aloha travelaussie! Thank you for coming out with us! And thank you for the high praise! Hope to see you the next time you come stateside!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

These guys were amazing, right from the get go. Seas were a little rougher than desired, but the crew we able to accommodate any weather situation. Super helpful with snorkeling in the water for anyone that needed some help of confidence. They took us to...More

Thank Sammcg281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Aloha Sam! First of all, thanks very much for the review. Second, sorry about the seasickness! It can make a day rough. But we're so glad you still had a good time. Our crew are experts at helping the seasick passenger! Hope we see you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Professional crew and fun as well. Be prepared to get wet from the start as you have to wade out to the catamaran. The trip starts with course 1 of a 3 course breakfast and a cruise out to Molokini (sp). The snorkeling is good....More

Thank s0krm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Aloha! And Mahalo nui loa for the review! We're glad you were able to come out on the Sunrise Deluxe. It's the most exclusive snorkel tour on the island and the only trip that snorkels in Molokini completely alone. The majority of visitors want an...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Waking up at sunrise and heading out to the ocean is half the fun of the trip. It's a beautiful hour--the lighting and calm is alluring. The boat and crew are friendly and top class. The food is meh. Being up early before the other...More

Thank blungld200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha! Thank you for the review and the kind words. We're spoiled with incredible sunrises here on Maui. Thanks so much for enjoying one with us. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our experience on this tour. I would recommend the earliest possible morning tour (we had a 5:40am pick up). Boat had less passengers and crater was less crowded which provided for a more enjoyable snorkeling experience. Crew was fantastic - especially since this...More

Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha Ashley, Thanks so much for the review! Love that morning trip. I was out this morning, it was incredible. Guests kept saying, "Is this normal? The whole crater alone?" Nope... just the Kai Kanani Sunrise Deluxe. You nailed it! Hope we see you out...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Terrific trip for the whole family (16, 14, 10 year old kids). Had a beautiful weather day, beautiful boat, terrific crew (Captain Will, Teddy, Australian girl 😊, Kiki, josh and apologies for not remembering the other girls and guys name, but you were great! )....More

Thank regsf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha! Thanks so much for the review! And a big mahalo nui loa for recommending Kai Kanani to you friends and family. It is the highest compliment you can give. We’ll do our best to give them the best day of their vacations. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This Molokini snorkel tour is a very poor experience. Not the snorkeling, but the boat entry, a very over-crowded boat and a generally third class experience as a result. Almost no place to sit on the boat as they jam in to max capacity. This...More

1  Thank OftenTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha OftenTravelling, First off, we're very sorry your expectations weren't met. Though our boat is licensed to hold 80, we limit our passenger load to 60. During high season, the Signature Deluxe trip does sell out nearly every day, which is less than ideal for...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter and I had a great time on the deluxe snorkel trip. The boat and staff were great and we had a fun tour. We had two 30-40 minute snorkels at both Molokini and a spot near shore where we saw three sea turtles...More

Thank dakotajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha Dakota! Thanks so much for the review! Hope you come out with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly staff! Fantastic food...healthy, delicious,and plenty for all. Disappointed with ride- not much of a sailboat. Why not? No explanation, heard sail was ripped. Then why advertise a sailboat ride? Little white sail for 10 minutes? Come on crew, fix the sail,figure this out...More

Thank Timsatripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Public Relations Manager at Kai Kanani Sailing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha Tim, We're glad you had a good time with the food and the crew. We're sorry about the sail! The tour before yours, we had one of the battens in the mainsail break while tacking and because we didn't have time between trips to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 54 hotels in Maui
Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea
316 reviews
.34 km away
Napua Tower at Grand Wailea
1 review
1.16 km away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
7,095 reviews
1.17 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort
3,109 reviews
1.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Honolulu Cookie Company - The Shops at Wailea
236 reviews
.93 km away
Monkeypod Kitchen
5,127 reviews
.08 km away
Honolulu Coffee
237 reviews
.87 km away
Matteo's Osteria
957 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby Attractions
Little Beach
444 reviews
.85 km away
The Shops at Wailea
512 reviews
.98 km away
Wailea Tennis Club
60 reviews
.57 km away
A Promise Made in Paradise
13 reviews
1.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Avanti P
3 May 2018|
Answer
Response from Fred P | Reviewed this property |
I have no idea. They are very friendly and willing to help so I’d say it’s worth a telephone call or email to them.
0
Votes
KJG&DJ
18 April 2018|
Answer
Response from David T | Property representative |
Aloha, We'd be happy to answer any question you have about our tours!
0
Votes
roburg
2 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David T | Property representative |
Aloha roburg, We no longer offer the "Express" 2 hour tour. Our morning tour is now called the Sunrise Deluxe, which is a 3 and a half hours long, with a full breakfast, mimosas and bloody marys. We'd love to have you out... More
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor