We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders

58A Amala Pl, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-2111
+1 877-764-2453
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great way to start the vacation

1:30 am pickup time from Kaanipalli tough to swallow initially but worth getting up early, and hey... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
A TripAdvisor Member
via mobile
SUNRISE AT HALEAKALA CRATER EDGE AND BIKE RIDE

What an amazing experience!!!! CRUISER PHILS was very well organized from the 01:30am pick up at... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Grahame W
,
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
via mobile
Read all 324 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good10%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“bike ride” (107 reviews)
“sunrise tour” (23 reviews)
“a lot of fun” (18 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
LOCATION
58A Amala Pl, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-2111
CONTACT
Website
+1 877-764-2453
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bike ride"
in 107 reviews
"sunrise tour"
in 23 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 18 reviews
"base camp"
in 10 reviews
"van driver"
in 13 reviews
"beautiful sunrise"
in 12 reviews
"the sun rise"
in 9 reviews
"blocking traffic"
in 4 reviews
"warm clothes"
in 8 reviews
"watching the sunrise"
in 8 reviews
"national park"
in 9 reviews
"these guys"
in 13 reviews
"other companies"
in 10 reviews
"picked up from our hotel"
in 4 reviews
"rain gear"
in 6 reviews
"granola bars"
in 5 reviews
"single file"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 323 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

1:30 am pickup time from Kaanipalli tough to swallow initially but worth getting up early, and hey it’s 6hrs behind anyway. Middle of August and still really cold and windy at the top of the crater...wear more clothes than you think. Bike ride down was...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiserPhil, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Yep 0130 comes quick. And viewing the sunrise from 10'000ft can be sublime. Mahalo for sharing your time and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What an amazing experience!!!! CRUISER PHILS was very well organized from the 01:30am pick up at my hotel, to the check in, the drive up the volcano, the viewing and then the ride down and the drop off at my hotel by midday. Of the...More

Thank Grahame W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiserPhil, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are glad you had an amazing experience. The bike ride is not meant to be a high speed adventure but at times it does get going. Happy you are among the many participants who find this not only fun but safe. And your right....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

We were picked up at two in the morning to begin the day. Had a great shuttle driver that was vary familiar with Maui that kept us entertained for the 1 1/2 hour drive to the shop. We got our gear and headed up the...More

Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiserPhil, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Nice....Thanks you so much. We are glad our entire staff that you met that day, help to make a great experience for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Great way to start the day! Bill, our driver and Trey, our tour guide were both excellent! Bill was quite the expert on so many details of the sites. Trey had a great sense of humor and ensured everyone's safety on the bike ride. We...More

Thank mcputty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiserPhil, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are glad you had a great tour with Bill and Trey, two of our very best guides. Mahalo for visting Maui!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2018

my 13 year old daughter and I went on this adventure. the 2am pickup time was brutal, but the trip was great. our guide and drive up the volcano were a ton of fun. once on top we got a lot of great photos of...More

Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiserPhil, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Glad you had an unforgettable experience with us. You could get a job with us as a copy writer when we create our ads. LOL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We had a great ride down the mountain with Cruiser Phil's. Our guide Trevor did a really good job and was a lot of fun. Very safe ride with very little pedaling. Great scenery. Lots of stops.

Thank IndyDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiserPhil, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Yep that Trey just loves his job! Thanks for choosing Cruiser Phil's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 June 2018

What a great time... the guys getting us to the top of Haleakala and the Dru who was out bike tour guide down were outstanding.... got a bad break as we were overcast at the top, so no view of the sunrise over the volcano......More

Thank markj4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiserPhil, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Wow...Thanks, glad you had a blast! And nice touch with the Okina on the word Pa'ia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

We came to scout activities for our group for an upcoming conference and had a first class experience with Cruiser Phils. Preston and Trevor were our guides and were fun, knowledgeable, respectful, and obviously have a passion for what they do. The sprinkled in facts...More

3  Thank troberts14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiserPhil, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Mahalo, for scouting us out. We are glad to hear your coming back. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Today we had the pleasure of getting to ride down the beautiful crater with Preston and Trevor. Great tour guides. They were very knowledgeable, kind, entertaining, and valued everyone’s safety. The sunrise itself was gorgeous and we had plenty of time for photos along the...More

Thank Randi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiserPhil, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Aloha Randi, we loved having your party as our guest's. Mahalo for visiting our shores. Inside tip " Sunsets" from any beach are breathless! see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Tour was awful! Might as well utube it and save your money. Bikes were 100 years old! Try another bike company. This one is terrible!!!

6  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiserPhil, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

This guest did not go on the tour. They called in sick,the night before. Because she is not happy about our refund policy, she has decided to play this hand. Mahalo for visiting Maui!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 54 hotels in Maui
Maui Seaside Hotel
1,174 reviews
1.08 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Maui Kahului Airport
599 reviews
1.31 km away
Maui Beach Hotel
614 reviews
1.40 km away
Sprecks Plantation House
30 reviews
5.25 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Da Kitchen
1,658 reviews
.96 km away
Tasaka Guri Guri Shop
128 reviews
.71 km away
Acevedo's Hawaicano
43 reviews
.79 km away
Kahului Ale House
226 reviews
.54 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hana Coast Gallery
54 reviews
.68 km away
Maui Mall
31 reviews
.65 km away
Bext
49 reviews
1.16 km away
Maui True North
30 reviews
1.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
hrmdds
14 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Darrin L | Reviewed this property |
Harold, there is no pressure for everyone to ride. As a matter of fact, grandparents and the 10 year old can sit in the van that brings up the year as the bike riders roll down the hill. That is how the tour is done. Tour... More
1
Vote
hrmdds
14 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Meghan B | Reviewed this property |
You don't need to ride bikes down. There is a van that follows the group and anyone not comfortable riding bikes can go in the van. I'm not sure if cost is different if you don't ride bikes.
0
Votes