We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gecko Big Island Tours, LLC - CLOSED

38 Hihio Rd, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-1878
Save
Review Highlights
Paula was sick, had a substitute

I had organized a private tour from fellow cruise ship passengers. We had a bit of difficulty... read more

Reviewed March 12, 2015
DesertGirl28
,
Santa Clara, Utah
Great day - loved the different sites!

My husband and I really enjoyed the tour! The tour took a full eight hours and we tried to pack in... read more

Reviewed December 15, 2014
LaurenSnow
,
San Antonio, Texas
Read all 31 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Private, custom and small group tours on the Big Island. Our most popular and favorite tours include Hamakua Coast, Akaka Falls, Kalapana, Hilo Town and Volcanoes National Park. We offer complimentary hotel, airport and pier pick-up and return. We specialize in maintaining a vacation-paced tour tailored to our guests desires. Our guides have been trained by Volcanoes National Park staff to enhance your volcano experience.
  • Excellent97%
  • Very good3%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Mar 12, 2015
“Paula was sick, had a substitute”
Dec 15, 2014
“Great day - loved the different sites!”
LOCATION
38 Hihio Rd, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-1878
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2015

I had organized a private tour from fellow cruise ship passengers. We had a bit of difficulty locating Gecko BIT and when we meet up, Paula was not our tour guide. There had been a last minute change so we ended up with a part-time...More

1  Thank DesertGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula T, Owner at Gecko Big Island Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2015

Mark and I truly enjoy sharing the beauty of Hawaii with visitors to the Big Island. At this time, however, we are closing Gecko Big Island Tours to be with family. We hope to return in the future. Until then, Happy Trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed the tour! The tour took a full eight hours and we tried to pack in all of the different tourist attractions available in Hilo. Our only complaint is that we felt rushed at the volcano because we arrived as...More

1  Thank LaurenSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula T, Owner at Gecko Big Island Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2014

Aloha and thank you for your thoughtful review! We really did squeeze everything in for your tour! Good point about spending more time at Volcanoes National Park ... so much to see! Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We booked this tour online and had no idea of the treat we were in for! There were 8 adults and 9 kids and they comfortably accommodated all of us. Paula and Mark would the most delightful, energetic, informed, professional people we came in contact...More

Thank Vickie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula T, Owner at Gecko Big Island Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Vickie and Family and Friends, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review! Yes, everyone had a great time on that Kalapana tour! Mark and I love showing off Hawaii. When nice people like you give us a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Our cruise arrived in Hilo to torrential downpours. Ugh. What a mistake this is going to be, we thought. We met Paula at the pier and she had her sign as promised so it was easy to locate her. She quickly set us up on...More

Thank canuck43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula T, Owner at Gecko Big Island Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Aloha Daniel & Sandra, This is Mark responding! It was so great to meet you. Thank you for the most complimentary remarks! Yes, despite the rain, we did have great fun! I'm so glad we will see you again in the future. Until then, Happy...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We booked this tour on line and communication with Paula was very easy. She is a great communicator. She was waiting when the ship docked and unfortunately the van broke down in the parking lot. Mark, he hjusband came with a replacement soon after. We...More

Thank fredly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula T, Owner at Gecko Big Island Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Aloha and thank you for the thoughtful review! Our mechanic determined we needed a new battery ... and that little blip positively affected the entire tour! My husband and co-owner of Gecko Big Island Tours brought our best vehicle to the Port. He decided to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

What a great day this ended up being despite the rainy start. We booked this trip online and not thru the cruise ship. What a value compared to other similar tours and what friendly people. We got off the boat and walked out to the...More

Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula T, Owner at Gecko Big Island Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Aloha Mel. Thank you so much for the super review! We sure did have fun despite the rain that day! It's always so nice to meet such wonderful travelers as you and Tammy. Hope the rest of your cruise was amazing and we hope you'll...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Booked though C Big Island, and contracted out to Gecko. I was very fortunate to have this tour, run by Paula, who showed 5 of us around some of the most impressive lava forest and waterfalls on Big Island. Paula was very knowledgeable and chatty,...More

Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula T, Owner at Gecko Big Island Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor! It was a pleasure spending the day with you ... Your thoughtfulness is greatly appreciated! We hope to see you again on the Big Island ...Happy Trails, Paula & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Took a lava flow and east island tour on 2/24/14. Had a great time. Paula made the tour very personalized and took us to places not on the "official tour". Would highly recommend it.

Thank jimritagatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula T, Owner at Gecko Big Island Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Aloha Jim ! Thank you for the nice review. It's always fun to show off East Hawaii! Come back to the Big Island soon! Happy Trails.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Took the time to understand what we wanted to see, and took the time to help us create a memory. Great value

Thank hbjrcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula T, Owner at Gecko Big Island Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! We had a great time showing you around beautiful Hilo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Gecko Big Island Tours Let me just begin with a compliment and say that if you're interested in visiting Volcanos National Park and if you want the feeling of the tour being conducted by a close friends or relative, then booking with Mark and Paula...More

Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula T, Owner at Gecko Big Island Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Aloha Richard! Thank you for the very nice review ... Mark & I also felt that we were among family and friends. We really enjoyed showing off all of the wonderful things to see in and around Hilo and Volcanoes National Park. Hope to see...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 47 hotels in Island of Hawaii
Maui Coast Hotel
2,207 reviews
9.23 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea
289 reviews
9.61 km away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
1,451 reviews
9.72 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort
2,982 reviews
9.99 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kula Bistro
759 reviews
4.14 km away
Grandma's Coffee House
377 reviews
3.56 km away
Kula Lodge
1,299 reviews
7.01 km away
La Provence
165 reviews
5.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
O'o Farm
259 reviews
3.69 km away
Kula Botanical Garden
331 reviews
3.53 km away
Enchanted Floral Gardens of Kula
53 reviews
7.14 km away
Kula Country Farms
20 reviews
2.72 km away