We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jackson Hole Adventure Rentals

182 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Jackson Hole Adventure Rentals

182 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Full view
Location
Contact
1060 S Hwy 89, Jackson, WY 83001-8511
Get to know the area
Grand Teton and National Elk Refuge Winter Day Trip
Nature & Wildlife

Grand Teton and National Elk Refuge Winter Day Trip

51 reviews
There’s a special beauty to Grand Teton National Park in the snowy silence of winter, free of the summertime crowds. On this Grand Teton day trip from Jackson Hole, a guide helps you search for bison and bighorn sheep, and you could also see moose, coyotes, eagles, or even wolves. In addition, visit the National Museum of Wildlife Art as well as the National Elk Refuge, where you ride past herds of powerful elk on a comfortable, horse-drawn sleigh.
US$199.00 per adult
182Reviews4Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 147
  • 15
  • 3
  • 2
  • 15
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Devin3333 wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
I'll start off by saying, the owner was not present (that we know of) at the time that we rented our UTV from JH Adventure Rentals. We did not have any issues with machine, damages, deposits, etc. That being said, my wife and I rented a 4 seater (Maverick Sport) on our honeymoon for a half day rental from 1pm to 5pm. Our parents met up with us in Jackson for the last couple of days of our trip and were looking forward to riding some trails while in town. When we arrived to pick up the machine, the customer service left a lot to be desired. When you call to rent a machine, they note that you are limited on trails due to only having the machine for 4 hours. Without clarification, I took that as if we could pick any open, nearby trails, as long as we had the machine back at drop-off time. Having rented a machine from a competitor in Jackson a few days prior and been provided a map of ORV trails around Jackson, we had a few trails (different from those we had already ridden) picked out that were within a reasonable distance of the JHAR office and which we could complete in 4 hours. When we arrived and signed our waivers, we were provided a map of one trail (Curtis Canyon) and told that was the only trail that we could ride, due to us renting for 4 hours. I asked if there were any other trails available and was told that was the only trail that we were allowed to ride. I noted that we had some trails picked out on the ORV map and had ridden Curtis Canyon as our first trail on a prior UTV trip. I was then told there was an alternative of Flat Creek (great trail), and if I didn't like either of those two trails, I was free to go rent from someone else or our prior rental company, not only from the guy handling our paperwork, but also the guy behind the counter 15 feet behind us, not involved in our conversation. I'll note, there are numerous trails within a short distance of the office that can be completed in 4 hours and I signed the waivers accepting responsibility for damages, if incurred. We ended up riding Flat Creek, another trail, and making a good day out of it, though the customer service upon pick-up was enough for me to take my money elsewhere in the future. A couple things to note: 1. If you have any experience with UTV's, ATV's, or Jeeps and want an off road experience, save your time and money and don't ride Curtis Canyon. Having owned and ridden ATV's and UTV's over the past 20 years, as well as members of our party wheeling Jeep's all over the country for 20+ years, I don't want to be followed on a trail by a rented Ford Focus on a "trail" (i.e. packed gravel road). Lesson learned. Take your rental car up the trail like everyone else if you want some mountain views. 2. Flat Creek is a nice, scenic trail, if that is the only trail you are allowed to ride, but will only take 1-2 hours. 3. This review is not a reflection of the mechanic at JHAR. He did our pre-rental walk around and was very nice. He maintains 40+ machines, works very hard to keep those running, and was nothing but pleasant to talk to. He's the reason they get 2 stars instead of 1. Note: I had never met him before this rental. 4. This is not a review to bash on this Company, but rather a note to let customers know their experience is limited to one, maybe two trails, unlike my experience with another competitor in Jackson. Our machine was returned to JHAR without damage, full of fuel, and in perfect operating condition. My rating of "poor" should be taken as a relative term compared to other rentals that I have done in the past with other companies. If you rent from JHAR and have never rented before, you may have a great experience. I'm sure the owner will have a response to this review, as he has responded to others with similar rating. However, the actions of the office employees are indefensible, in my opinion. As a paying customer, I never raised my voice, and I would certainly not expect an employee to raise their voice to me, having just met. I don't want a refund or any other reparation, but I do want other customers to know what they are getting into before making a reservation.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from jhadventurerentals, Manager at Jackson Hole Adventure Rentals
Responded 15 Nov 2020
Thank you for your review. Our 1/2 day adventures out of our Jackson location typically go to the Curtis Canyon and Flat Creek trail system as they are the closest open access forest service road to our Jackson location. While we strongly suggest that you take that trail system you had stated that you did rent from our competitor and had already done part of the suggested 1/2 the trail system (Curtis). We instructed that you should checkout flat creek (the other part of the 1/2 day trail system) but you insisted that you had already been to that area and had an area that you wanted to go to which we warned was mostly payment. Our second front desk agent then stated you are more than welcome to take the machine where ever you want to go as long as you are back in 4 hours. We by no means mandated that you go on the specific trail system, although we did suggest it. Our side by sides travel on open access forest service roads. True you can drive any vehicle you want up these roads and you are more than welcome to do so. Our side by sides are designed with suspension more capable of handling the forest service roads and make the adventure more enjoyable. Flat creek is only part of the 1/2 day trail system. Clearly noted on our website you can find our 1/2 day adventure includes both Curtis Canyon and Flat creek for a 4 hour rental period. That being said once again, you are more than welcome to go anywhere legally you want in the 4 hour rental period. Our mechanics do work hard to maintain a very large fleet. We are glad you had no issues with your machine. Out of our Jackson location you can access the Flat creek and Curtis canyon trail system for our 1/2 day adventure and for the full day you have access to the Gros Ventre Trail system. We also have a separate location with different trail access available out of our Alpine location. You had a good ride, you went where you wanted to go, and the machine operated as it should. We do apologize for the miscommunication on directions during checkout. We are working on new measures on our website to insure guests have more access to maps ahead of time in order to plan their best adventure.
Read more
Martha W wrote a review Sep 2020
Keller, Texas19 contributions9 helpful votes
I can’t say enough about the ATV tour in the Tetons we took with Denise. What a wonderful guide! She was friendly, funny, relaxed, knowledgeable and accommodating. I will say this tour, in my opinion, was not for 1st time or beginner drivers. The terrain was difficult at times, and a challenge to navigate, which we loved as experienced drivers. This was the best ATV tour we’ve ever taken. So many are mundane. Denise stopped several times to point out huge grizzly bear tracks. How she saw them, we’ll never know. The lunch was excellent, we had our choice of sandwiches in advance. The tour was the longest we’ve ever taken and we throughly enjoyed every minute. Thanks for a great day! I highly recommend JH Adventure Rentals and their amazing guide, Denise!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Jackson Hole Adventure Rentals
Responded 26 Sep 2020
Hi Travler1004, Thank you for such an amazing review! We will be sure to pass this along to Denise! We hope to see you again!
Read more
Debra Jarratt wrote a review Sep 2020
Katy, Texas8 contributions
We had the fastest and most most fabulous guide in all of the Pacific North West...Denise...aka Scout Squatch. So much fun and beautiful backdrops for family snap shots. The terrain was great and the atv’s met the challenge very nicely. Would highly recommend to anyone.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Jackson Hole Adventure Rentals
Responded 19 Sep 2020
Hi djarratt1, Thank you for the great review! Denise is the best and never disappoints! We will be sure to pass this along to her! We hope to see you all again!
Read more
EMGolf wrote a review Sep 2020
Columbia, South Carolina2 contributions2 helpful votes
Denise was the best damn ATV guide ever! My wife and two boys had a great day riding ATVs with her. Lunch was delicious as well. Thanks Denise!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Jackson Hole Adventure Rentals
Responded 19 Sep 2020
Hi EMGolf, Thank you for this great review! Denise is amazing and we will be sure to pass this on to her! We hope to see you all again!
Read more
Julia P wrote a review Sep 2020
New York City, New York10 contributions1 helpful vote
Awesome ATV experience! Denise was great with a quick intro and getting everyone on the trail. She was able to read the group’s ability and set the trail levels appropriately. For us that meant adding to technical declines on tight trail with rocks - very cool! Also lots of space to run the ATV fast on the open trails. Beautiful scenery with interesting stories/history from Denise. Drive from the store to the trail head is about 45 minutes.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca W, Front Office Manager at Jackson Hole Adventure Rentals
Responded 16 Sep 2020
HI juliapW6116WT, Thank you for your kind words! We are so glad Denise left you with such a great memory and will be sure to pass this along to her! We hope to see you all again.
Read more
Previous