We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club

Open Now: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Open today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Review Highlights
Fun track

Passing through found this course on TripAdvisor. Very accommodating staff, course was lush and... read more

Reviewed 6 September 2018
playgolf52
,
Naples, Florida
via mobile
Fun course but hard condition ate alot of golf balls!

Really enjoyed the track but the dry September created some hard conditions. Lost quite a few golf... read more

Reviewed 7 October 2017
tmocon1
,
Washington
Read all 59 reviews
7
All photos (7)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good32%
  • Average22%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“under repair”(4 reviews)
“once a year”(3 reviews)
“ball marks”(2 reviews)
About
Playing here, our customers know they will receive one of the best possible golfing experiences available. This is due to our attentive staff and the systems we have in place to provide excellent customer service at every opportunity. From the Bag...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
456 Shadows Dr, Front Royal, VA 22630-6930
Website
+1 866-631-9661
Call
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
21
19
13
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
21
19
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews under repair once a year ball marks stayed at the holiday inn challenging holes green fairfax handicapper shape track
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Course was in excellent condition. Hard course to play. No discount for residents living on the course for some reason but there is a discount for employees of the adjacent Holiday inn. Probably owned by the same people. Way over priced.More

Thank Gr8_times4_2
BrianJ2932, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate your feedback. We do not offer discounts to residents, because we have membership programs and our Shadows Club associate membership that offer steep discounts to our regular pricing. Most of the residents who play...More

Reviewed 2 October 2018

The staff here has followed through on what they told us was going to take place. Our group plays here once a year on the way to an extended golf marathon weekend in Luray. Last year they told us that they we replacing all the...More

Thank bluewatergolf
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Passing through found this course on TripAdvisor. Very accommodating staff, course was lush and challenging. Too bad their clientele doesn't fix their divits or ball marks. Would recommend to our snowbird friends!

Thank playgolf52
Brian J, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thanks you so much for taking the time to share your experience! We are really glad you enjoyed your day with us, and hopefully next time you are in the area you will come back out!

Reviewed 5 July 2018

I try to play this course once a year, but its about 90 minutes from my home and not in a direction that I usually travel. Whenever I do, I am not disappointed. Its challenging, interesting and, in my experience, always in very good shape....More

Thank kip598
Brian J, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thanks for the kind words and 5 Star Review! We greatly appreciate you making the 90 minute journey to tee it up with us! Hopefully we can get you back out before the end of the year!

Reviewed 7 October 2017

Really enjoyed the track but the dry September created some hard conditions. Lost quite a few golf balls due to the big bounces and run off the fairway. Greens were very fast. Some sand trap still ground under repair but they are working on it....More

1  Thank tmocon1
Brian J, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience! We did have some tough conditions in the fall with a very firm track. Fortunately that shouldn't be a problem here this spring! Also, I am happy to report that we have finished the sand trap...More

Reviewed 7 June 2017

We stayed at the Holiday Inn adjacent to the golf course on a golf package, it was well worth the very reasonable cost. This is a nice golf course with some very interesting holes, especially on the back 9.More

Thank bob p
Brian J, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Bob, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at BRSGC! We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your golf trip, and that you thought we offered a great value! Hopefully we will be able to get you back down for...More

Reviewed 15 May 2017

The staff were all very friendly so it was a great start of the day. The overall condition was excellent except for a large number of the bad sand traps. The traps that were good were great the ones that were covered with weeds were...More

2  Thank fisherman65
Brian J, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Blue Ridge Shadows! We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your day with us. You are correct that some of our sand traps are in need of attention, but we are in the...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017

Nice round of golf at Blue Ridge Shadows with my son.. Good price, 55 mins drive from Fairfax. Cheap gas in the valley. course is in nice shape.. some sand traps are being repaired. Good lay out- 3:45 mins for 18 holes with a Saturday...More

Thank tmocon1
Brian J, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for coming out to The Shadows this past weekend! We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day with us. We have been working hard to improve the golf course and we are really excited about where we are at and...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We play this course about every month because we like the scenery and always have fun here. The pulled pork is great and usually comes with homemade potato chips. Just ask Trudy what's cooking and she will make a great sandwich. The place is well...More

Thank Julie R
Brian J, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Julie, Thanks for your great review! We appreciate you make us one of your regular stops for a day of golf! We are also glad that you check out whats cookin' in Shadows Grill! We will look forward to seeing you out, teeing it up...More

Reviewed 8 January 2017

Recently played this course for the first time even though I live in the area as part of a company tournament...what a great surprise. Great layout, very challenging, very well maintained and a great place for an outing. Overall service was very friendly and accommodating,...More

Thank pdkim69
Brian J, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Thank you so much for playing here at Blue Ridge Shadows, and thank you for taking the time to let others know about your experience! We are very excited to hear that you enjoyed your day with us. The layout is a hidden gem here...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 nearby hotels
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
530 reviews
.38 km away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
998 reviews
3.24 km away
Motel 6 Front Royal, Va
92 reviews
5.86 km away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
386 reviews
8.02 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 100 nearby restaurants
Backroom Brewery
13 reviews
2.97 km away
Houlihan's
328 reviews
.40 km away
Cracker Barrel
67 reviews
2.72 km away
Los Potrillos
94 reviews
2.78 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 49 nearby attractions
Front Royal Visitors Center
191 reviews
7.93 km away
Backroom Brewery
39 reviews
3.00 km away
Warren Rifles Confederate Museum
50 reviews
7.71 km away
Belle Boyd Cottage
26 reviews
7.70 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines