We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Polperro Winery

150 Red Hill Rd, Red Hill, Victoria 3937, Australia
+61 3 5989 2471
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
What a setting!

Whilst I’m not able to comment on the restaurant, as we instead sat in the casual lawn area, I can... read more

Reviewed today
Mark M
,
Brighton, Australia
via mobile
Poor service. Extremely poor communication

My partner and I took a friend down to the peninsula for her first time at the wineries on the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
jasepadam
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Read all 47 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Our cellar door is an intimate space featuring the Polperro and Even Keel wines. Reflecting winemaker Sam Coverdale's, passion and personality the tasting room is accessible for all wine enthusiasts and is designed to encourage conversation. Over 20 years Sam Coverdale has made wines throughout Australia and internationally. Sam's focus has always been on producing sustainable, restrained wines.
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good10%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
150 Red Hill Rd, Red Hill, Victoria 3937, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 3 5989 2471
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"deck chairs"
in 4 reviews
"bottle of wine"
in 4 reviews
"great wine tasting"
in 3 reviews
"tasting room"
in 3 reviews
"pinot noir"
in 4 reviews
"cellar door"
in 6 reviews
"service was excellent"
in 2 reviews
"barramundi"
in 2 reviews
"lamb"
in 2 reviews
"tartare"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful venue"
in 2 reviews
"open fire"
in 2 reviews
"long weekend"
in 2 reviews
"young man"
in 2 reviews
"mornington peninsula"
in 4 reviews
"special occasion"
in 2 reviews
"delicious food"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 47 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Whilst I’m not able to comment on the restaurant, as we instead sat in the casual lawn area, I can highly recommend this winery for the most incredible views, friendly staff, great Pinot noir, and well considered selection of snacks. Our families relaxed with others...More

Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I took a friend down to the peninsula for her first time at the wineries on the Mornington peninsula I was very impressed with the wine tasting. However, that’s where being impressed ended. My partner and her friend have food intolerances and...More

Thank jasepadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Jase, Thanks for taking the time to review our winery and pleased to hear you enjoyed your wine tasting. Sorry to hear about your dining experience.Upon looking into your booking further we can see you ordered, 7 items from our menu - 4 starters,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice view and wines. We ordered overpriced food and wine, and were sitting outside. A friend just pulled out of her bag some bread, leftovers from a different bakery. There are a few sitting areas, so not quite clear where the picnic area is. Anyway,...More

Thank Jyldyz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello, Thanks for your feedback. Onsite we have a picnic area by the dam, this is not an area to which BYO applies. Our council permits do not allow external food or drink to be brought to any area on the property. We are surprised...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best wine 🍷 tasting cellar doors I have been to. The knowledge that Eric has about wines was impressive and even got a history lesson about Netherlands 🇳🇱 awesome 😎. Walked out with some Rose’ and 6 bottles of 60$ white wine,...More

Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked the picnic at Polperro for a special occasion and it blew away our expectations - we had one of the best afternoons of our trip at this beautiful venue. The food and organisation of the picnic was amazing, I can’t recommend this...More

Thank MRCC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2018

We had lunch here and the highlight was the setting and the views. The food and wine were good but a bit overpriced for what it was. The views and setting more than made up for that aspect and all things considered a great place...More

1  Thank Paddy-Relle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Hello, Thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the views and setting. Our menu features the best quality produce, including local products and elements grown in our kitchen garden. Prices are indicative of this quality in addition to the skilled...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2018

Have had the pleasure of dining at Polperro a number of times and have always been thoroughly impressed. With a fabulous new menu showcasing flavours of home grown produce you did not disappoint. The new Chef has built on what was already a strong menu,...More

Thank KMNich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Hello, Thanks for the fantastic review. We are so happy to receive this great feedback, our kitchen will be very pleased to hear that you loved your dining experience. Look forward to hosting you again soon! Kindest regards, Polperro Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2018 via mobile

Ate at 10 minutes and pt Leo and I felt this was the best food of the three. Kangaroo tartare and beautiful pork belly, unfortunately the wait between courses was ridiculous and one of our party the main was luck warm at best. We also...More

1  Thank Brasser T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Hello, Many thanks for your review. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food at Polperro. Apologies that there was a delay between courses, rest assured if you visit again we have ironed out this issue, we had only been running this menu for 2...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018

Polperro is in a magical setting, and has plenty of eating options. We chose the bistro where the service was excellent but as we booked late we had what was possibly the worst table in the house. They also have a strict 2 hour limit...More

Thank mmcin719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2018

Hello, Thanks for the review, glad to hear you enjoyed the venue and setting. In regards to the food we find your comments quite puzzling, a charcuterie plate is a selection of meats, which are cured with salt. If requested, your waiter/waitress could have added...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

What a delightfully casual yet elegant winery in a beautiful setting. Plenty of choices for dining, either in the bistro, in the chairs and tables under the trees, or on blankets below the vines. We visited with family and young children and chose the chairs...More

Thank Duphney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Hello, Many thanks for your 5 star review. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed the relaxed experience and setting. Hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards Polperro Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Red Hill Hotels
Lindenderry at Red Hill
394 reviews
1.90 km away
The Outlook Shoreham
1 review
5.79 km away
Jackalope Hotel
106 reviews
6.16 km away
Bay Motel Safety Beach
244 reviews
7.10 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Polperro Bistro
249 reviews
.00 km away
Port Phillip Estate
394 reviews
1.41 km away
Red Hill Epicurean
479 reviews
1.55 km away
Red Gum BBQ
130 reviews
1.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bass and Flinders Distillery
62 reviews
.66 km away
Mont Rouge Estate
21 reviews
.71 km away
endota spa
18 reviews
1.57 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
chayavarsani
June 22, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from janemeans | Reviewed this property |
I saw some dogs outside but best check directly with the Vineyard
0
Votes
Stacey C
April 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Les H | Reviewed this property |
This is a very casual setting in terms of the beautiful surrounds, the restaurant itself and I would recommend smart and comfortable for dress standard. The boss wears shorts and T and so there's a lead.
0
Votes
;