We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Polperro Winery

Closed Now: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Disappointing cellar door experience, but a fab venue

7 of us came here on Saturday morning - we were interested in doing a wine tasting before moving to... read more

Reviewed yesterday
coglover
,
Melbourne
Worthwhile visit

What an amazing lunch. Four of us enjoyed the menu, we shared the food. The wine was good too. The... read more

Reviewed 27 August 2018
Penne R
,
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
via mobile
Read all 60 reviews
155
All photos (155)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good15%
  • Average6%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“deck chairs”(4 reviews)
“tasting room”(4 reviews)
About
Our cellar door is an intimate space featuring the Polperro and Even Keel wines. Reflecting winemaker Sam Coverdale's, passion and personality the tasting room is accessible for all wine enthusiasts and is designed to encourage conversation. Over 20...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
150 Red Hill Rd, Red Hill, Victoria 3937, Australia
Website
+61 3 5989 2471
Call
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
39
9
4
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
39
9
4
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deck chairs bottle of wine tasting room great wine tasting young man pinot noir cellar door lawn area barramundi beautiful venue chicken and chips service was excellent long weekend mornington peninsula open fire special occasion delicious food
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 59 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

7 of us came here on Saturday morning - we were interested in doing a wine tasting before moving to the lawn for some drinks and nibbles. I found it strange that initially we were asked if we have a booking for the cellar door,...More

Thank coglover
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a favourite of our family but no longer. They have changed menu. Too fancy, too small, and poor taste . Some family members found some of the dishes inedible This restaurant was successful because of what they used to do but no more...More

1  Thank anthony582018
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

What an amazing lunch. Four of us enjoyed the menu, we shared the food. The wine was good too. The service was okay. It was made better when the young man from the Netherlands came around to check that we were happy.

Thank Penne R
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We have stayed and eaten at some beautiful places around the world but to find this place 1hr from where we live, absolutely gorgeous. The minute you arrive the grounds are beautiful, vineyards scattered amongst the most magnificent gums, plenty of outdoor seating, fire pit...More

Thank Carolyn D
Reviewed 27 August 2018

The food was very nice, the wine was lovely but I would not go back as it was overpriced and the plate sizes were tiny Our meals were shared between 4 ( on their recommendation ) and would have been ok if it were between...More

Thank Ron F
Reviewed 17 July 2018

We booked on the day and went for lunch. It was raining hard but as we approached the winery, the rain stopped and the sun came out and the grounds looked magnificent. Rolling vineyards, lovely herb gardens and chooks running around! We had one child...More

Thank oldertraveller610
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Hello, Many thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience and that your little one had fun with the chickens! Hope to see you visit again next time. Kindest regards, Polperro Management

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

After our recent visit for dinner with 2 other couples at our table we decided that our diners were very much lacking food the size were very small we considered we wouldn’t rush back. The wine was well over priced for very average wine.More

Thank Winton P
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Dear Winton, Thanks for the review. Our menu is designed to be shared, therefore some dishes are in smaller portions, the pricing is reflective of this. To fully enjoy the menu it is recommended to choose multiple items on the menu to enjoy. Kindest regards,...More

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights and had lunch there. It’s just an amazing place! Everything from the actual place, the staff, the food and the wine and the villas. All just outstanding. Been there quite a few times and wouldn’t hesitate to go back again...More

Thank Dan F
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Hello Dan, Thanks so much for your 5 star review. We are pleased to hear that you have experienced all we have to offer including the accommodation. We hope to see you again for another wonderful experience. Kindest regards, Polperro Management

Reviewed 15 June 2018

We arrived for lunch just after 12 noon and were accepted even though we did not have reservations. Very soon the restaurant began to fill up and outdoor seating too was in demand. We were informed that the dishes in the menu could either be...More

Thank tina p
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Hello Tina, Pleased to hear that you were able to dine with us,sharing is most definitely the best way to enjoy our menu. Hope to see you again next time! Kindest regards, Polperro Management

Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Awesome location, stunning surroundings! Fabulous sharing menu, creative and absolutely delicious, loved it all!! Enjoyed the wine tasting too. Must return in Summer for a picnic...

Thank Karinakc
Polperro-Villas, Public Relations Manager at Polperro Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Hello Karina, Thanks for your 5 star review! Pleased to receive such wonderful feedback, we look forward to hosting you for a picnic upon your return. Kindest regards, Polperro Management

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Lindenderry at Red Hill
56 reviews
1.89 km away
The Outlook Shoreham
1 review
5.80 km away
Jackalope Hotel
145 reviews
6.18 km away
Bay Motel Safety Beach
273 reviews
7.10 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 30 nearby restaurants
Polperro Bistro
283 reviews
.01 km away
Port Phillip Estate
419 reviews
1.41 km away
Red Hill Epicurean
510 reviews
1.54 km away
Food On The Hill
40 reviews
1.58 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 30 nearby attractions
Bass and Flinders Distillery
70 reviews
.67 km away
Mont Rouge Estate
22 reviews
.73 km away
endota spa
18 reviews
1.56 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
chayavarsani
22 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from janemeans | Reviewed this property |
I saw some dogs outside but best check directly with the Vineyard
0
Votes
Stacey C
5 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Les H | Reviewed this property |
This is a very casual setting in terms of the beautiful surrounds, the restaurant itself and I would recommend smart and comfortable for dress standard. The boss wears shorts and T and so there's a lead.
0
Votes