We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Big fun at big space

Been loads with our two kids, reasonably priced to get in if you stay and get your money’s worth... read more

Reviewed 3 March 2018
bobbydaz100
,
Harpenden, United Kingdom
via mobile
Could do better!

We were in the area and I remember seeing a TV programme featuring Big Space and I was expecting... read more

Reviewed 14 February 2018
strawberryblushes
,
Bedfordshire
Read all 92 reviews
22
All photos (22)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good40%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
“soft play”(19 reviews)
“toddler area”(8 reviews)
“bouncy castle”(10 reviews)
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
19°
10°
Jul
20°
11°
Aug
16°
Sep
Contact
Unit 3 Southdown Industrial Estate Southdown Road, Harpenden AL5 1PW, England
Website
+44 1582 766100
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
24
35
14
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
24
35
14
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoft playtoddler areabouncy castlemy daughterdrop slideolder kidsgreat funa nightmareclearing tableshalf priceseparate areaan adultgreat value for moneychildren playgreat ideagreat place for the kidscomfortable seating
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

I bought my little boy here a few times as for £1 for under 1s I think it’s really good value. However on my last visit I was unimpressed by the baby and toddler area- it was really dusty and dirty, there were older children...More

1  Thank Becky608
BigSpaceHarpenden, Owner at Big Space, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Hi Becky Very sorry to read your review and to hear you found the toddler area dirty - we have a strict cleaning rota in place and the toddler area is of high priority due to the concerns with very young children. We have no...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Been loads with our two kids, reasonably priced to get in if you stay and get your money’s worth. The cafe is always good with a great selection off food to choose from. When it gets really busy the staff struggle a bit with clearing...More

Thank bobbydaz100
BigSpaceHarpenden, Owner at Big Space, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review! Yes we do try and keep the staff on table and floor clearance as we know how important it is to our customers - it's sometimes an uphill struggle but we keep sending them out there! Thank...More

Reviewed 14 February 2018

We were in the area and I remember seeing a TV programme featuring Big Space and I was expecting big things. Difficult to park at first, there’s a very small car park outside. My daughter seemed to love it, the slides were a big hit...More

1  Thank strawberryblushes
Reviewed 17 January 2018

good experience when I was young enough to enter and my sister still really loves big space and would definitely recommend this to people wit young kids

Thank Winston M
Reviewed 14 January 2018

This was the first time we had visited with grandchildren aged 2 and 6 years. Large hanger like space absolutely full of soft play areas appropriate for each age group. Health and safety had been well thought out and we felt we could allow the...More

Thank Happycouple448
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We had not visited Big Space for quite a while. To keep costs down we arrived just after 3pm and found plenty of car parking spaces available. Initial impressions not good as too many free tables had dirty crockery and left over food on them...More

Thank Andrew081
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

I have taken my nephews and niece here a few times and they absolutely love it! Lots of seating for adults and can grab a coffee and a bite to eat while children play. Only comment would be the opening a closing of the drop...More

1  Thank Jules C
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Smallish indoor soft play area with a bouncy castle and a four lane slide. Getting around some parts of the two storey soft play isn't easy for adults or bigger children. Large seating area for adults next to the cafe where signs say you're not...More

Thank Scott5570
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Big space good for parents as can see the kids playing safely.unfortunate downside is price £9 a child especially when you want to take 4-5 children makes it way over priced for 1hrs play .Sadly greed spoils it for families.More

Thank boohoo123456
BigSpaceHarpenden, Owner at Big Space, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hi there! Sorry to hear you found us expensive but I'm not sure why you thought you could only stay for an hour? We only ever impose time-limited play (minimum 1.5 hours) at times when we have reached capacity and have children waiting to come...More

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Very nice play centre. Has a small area for under 3s... although my 2 year refuses to enter after seeing the bigger area. Plenty for her to play on in there with an adult accompanying. Good selection of snacks and drinks. Avoid in half term...More

Thank aiacp
BigSpaceHarpenden, Owner at Big Space, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thanks for the lovely review! Hope to see you again soon! Sue & Lester Adams

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Abigail Jean Bo... B
7 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BigSpaceHarpenden | Property representative |
Hi Abigail! If they would like to use the drop slide then they must have a pair of tracksuit bottoms or trousers to pop on, due to friction burns. The wavy slide they can sit in a slide-sack or again longer trousers mean... More
0
Votes
Rhino888
30 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from HertsHearts | Reviewed this property |
Price depends on the age of the child, from memory I would say that for a 2 year old after 3pm it is £3. So that would mean it is £6 earlier in the day. Parking is free but can be a bit tight at busy times..... At campus... More
1
Vote
Hello11114444
19 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Gavin C | Reviewed this property |
Hi i have not seen anything that says you cannot and the website does not state you cannot. We took our own food last time and had no problem.
0
Votes