We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Claife Viewing Station

Claife Station Cottage Very close to the Windermere ferry landing | Kemble Drive, Far Sawrey LA22 0LW, England
+44 15394 41456
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Delicious food

We were passing by on our bikes. Stopped for some advice and a drink. Lovely little cafe with... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
jowilson21
,
Leeds, United Kingdom
Superb views across the lake.

Located above the west shoreline of Lake Windermere. Pass through a stone archway & The Café in the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Gregory O
via mobile
Read all 111 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
This Victorian Viewing Station is the perfect place on the beautiful west shore, to take in a panoramic view of Windermere. Wander up the Viewing Station as the first tourists to the Lakes did hundreds of year before you. Don't miss the cosy cafe in the courtyard and the striking vistas from the top of the station.
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good32%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“national trust” (12 reviews)
“hill top” (7 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Claife Station Cottage Very close to the Windermere ferry landing | Kemble Drive, Far Sawrey LA22 0LW, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 15394 41456
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"national trust"
in 12 reviews
"claife heights"
in 5 reviews
"hill top"
in 7 reviews
"short climb"
in 5 reviews
"lovely little cafe"
in 4 reviews
"stained glass"
in 4 reviews
"fantastic views"
in 7 reviews
"outside seating area"
in 2 reviews
"passenger ferry"
in 2 reviews
"info boards"
in 2 reviews
"scones"
in 5 reviews
"lovely surprise"
in 2 reviews
"car park"
in 7 reviews
"roaring fire"
in 2 reviews
"toasties"
in 2 reviews
"cup of tea"
in 4 reviews
"little gem"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We were passing by on our bikes. Stopped for some advice and a drink. Lovely little cafe with delicious food. Very friendly and helpful staff. We will return.

Thank jowilson21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Located above the west shoreline of Lake Windermere. Pass through a stone archway & The Café in the Courtyard, continue up the steep pathway to Claife Viewing Station. This is an old Victorian viewing point, originally built in the 1790’s & designed by John Carr....More

1  Thank Gregory O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Claife Castle is well worth the short climb from the car park if only to enjoy the wonderful views across lake Windermere. It is an easy ask even for small children to get there and they will think that they have accomplished something when they...More

Thank Bethcar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I called into the cafe today during our lake walk, as we have done on many occasions.Despite the weather being awful, we were met with a lovely smile and warm greeting, not to mention an array of fantastic cakes. Visiting this part...More

Thank DrBigJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Initially, I wasn't sure whether I could be bothered to climb to this but my wife persuaded me & it was only a few minutes, albeit uphill. Lovely idea and views. Great for photo opportunities!

Thank VINDEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTSouthLakes, Visitor Experience Officer at Claife Viewing Station, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are really glad you made it up to the Viewing Station, is really is worth the small walk! You can always refuel with a cake and coffee in the wee Courtyard Café as well. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2018

We walked to Claife viewing station on the hottest of days and sat and took in the breath taking views from the top. Truly beautiful.

1  Thank lynhuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTSouthLakes, Visitor Experience Officer at Claife Viewing Station, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Claife. We hope to see you again soon, hopefully when the sun is shining once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

We had one day in the Lake District to get the most out of our National Trust membership. Despite this not being fancy compared to some and technically free as there is no admittance fee, I was determined to visit after reading about the site....More

1  Thank Herta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTSouthLakes, Visitor Experience Officer at Claife Viewing Station, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

We are really glad you enjoyed your day exploring the Lake District. Do share your photos with us on social media @NTsouthlakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

My daughter an I stopped here after a very long walk, needing a bite to eat we were pleased to see this little cafe. Wish I had looked at the last review as we wouldn’t have gone in and experienced the same daylight robbery. The...More

4  Thank VixenVixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTSouthLakes, Lakes Catering Compay at Claife Viewing Station, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thanks for your feedback, we’ve passed it on to the café which is independently run by The Lakes Catering Company Ltd, and this is their reply: Hello, so sorry to hear your visit to us did not live up to expectations. Our Brioche toasties are...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Ok so we start with the positives the viewing station is really good and as you will see from my photos some spectacular views. Unfortunately the lower rating is based on the cafe. We had done a long bike ride to get here and we...More

2  Thank missy_diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTSouthLakes, Lakes Catering Compay at Claife Viewing Station, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thanks for your feedback, we’ve passed it on to the café which is independently run by The Lakes Catering Company Ltd, and this is their reply: Hello, thank you for your feedback and apologies that you were not happy with your visit to our Cafe....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2018

I only came here because I parked in the nearby National Trust car park (as it was full at Hill Top). The station and the views are stunning and definitely worth a visit.

1  Thank CJHowell26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTSouthLakes, Visitor Experience Officer at Claife Viewing Station, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

We are glad you discovered the Viewing Station on your way to Hill Top. Hope to see you in the Lake District again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Lindeth Howe
1,065 reviews
1.24 km away
Storrs Hall
863 reviews
1.40 km away
The Ryebeck
1,115 reviews
1.42 km away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
603 reviews
1.74 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Frithy's Tea Room
10 reviews
.83 km away
Restaurant at The West Vale Country House
8 reviews
1.10 km away
Kimi's Gelato Bar
97 reviews
1.43 km away
The Boathouse Bar & Restaurant
314 reviews
1.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Blackwell, The Arts & Crafts House
673 reviews
1.60 km away
The Fun Factory Bowness
135 reviews
1.54 km away
Sail 'n' Dine
395 reviews
1.29 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
steward51
23 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Andy M | Reviewed this property |
It is an old hall, that had started to crumble. The National Trust have repaired it. It is outdoors and open all year and free. There is a National Trust car park about 5 mins walk from it too. Hope this helps
1
Vote