We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captiva Cruises

Features Animals
11401 Andy Rosse Lane, Captiva Island, FL 33924
+1 239-472-5300
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Captiva Cruises is the best!

We had an incredible time on our trip to with Captiva Cruises. We did a half day to Cabbage Key and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Samantha G
,
New Rochelle, New York
via mobile
Shelling trip

I reserved the 1/2 day shelling trip to Cayo Costa but was disappointed when we were taken to North... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
travelerforever2018
,
Pittsburg, Kansas
via mobile
Read all 860 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good20%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“lady chadwick” (67 reviews)
“dolphin cruise” (66 reviews)
“cabbage key” (162 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
11401 Andy Rosse Lane, Captiva Island, FL 33924
CONTACT
Website
+1 239-472-5300
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lady chadwick"
in 67 reviews
"dolphin cruise"
in 66 reviews
"cabbage key"
in 162 reviews
"cayo costa"
in 129 reviews
"boat ride"
in 66 reviews
"collier inn"
in 30 reviews
"boca grande"
in 36 reviews
"top deck"
in 22 reviews
"great cruise"
in 20 reviews
"return trip"
in 22 reviews
"dolphin watch"
in 14 reviews
"captain and crew"
in 14 reviews
"day trip"
in 39 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 52 reviews
"tarpon lodge"
in 12 reviews
"cheeseburger in paradise"
in 25 reviews
"highly recommend this cruise"
in 9 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had an incredible time on our trip to with Captiva Cruises. We did a half day to Cabbage Key and had such a wonderful experience. The crew was amazing... friendly and knowledgeable and we were so lucky to see so many dolphins. It was...More

Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaCruises, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your kind review!!! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your cruise to Cabbage Key. We love providing our guests with wonderful memories! Thank you for cruising with us and we look forward to having you aboard again...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I reserved the 1/2 day shelling trip to Cayo Costa but was disappointed when we were taken to North Captiva Island instead. Captiva cruises should have offered a refund since it was not what we signed up for. The red tide was horrible on July...More

Thank travelerforever2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaCruises, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry to hear about your trip. We are very open and honest about the red tide bloom that our area is experiencing. We tell all our passengers about what is happening before they book a cruise with us. Some people decide to do...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We took the dolphin cruise off Captiva Island on August 1st. While we were excited to take our kids on the short cruise it was more than disappointing. The red algae has killed thousands of fish, so we spent an hour and half looking at...More

Thank susannahfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaCruises, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry to hear about your experience. The red tide bloom in our area is the worst it has ever been and we are sad that you did not get to experience our beautiful waters they way that they should be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an awesome time! We took the 1/2 day beach tour. we were on the boat for about 1/2 an hour and was on the beach that was only accessible by boat for 2 hours and it was just so nice and peaceful. The...More

Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaCruises, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your half day shelling trip! We hope to see you again in the future! Thank you for cruising with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our second trip with Captiva Cruises. We selected the Useppa Island cruise (last time we went to Cabbage Key). Same trip to different locations. The ride out was very relaxing and informative. The crew does just the right amount of explaining the sights and history...More

Thank broseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaCruises, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice review! We appreciate that you have tried different cruises with us and hope to see you in the future! Thank you for cruising with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cruise was pleasant and interesting; we came prepared for the insect”attack” ! But was disappointed in the lack of shells in comparison to the beaches of Sanibel...but we realize that that is a “nature” thing, so cruise company not responsible...all in all, a fun experience!More

Thank BeBe53207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaCruises, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the cruise and thank you for understanding that shells are part of nature and while they are typically plentiful there are times that nature just has other plans. We hope to see...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Wonderful morning trip to Cayo Costa. It is called a shelling trip and while the shells there are nice, they honestly are not any better than Bowman’s Beach or Gulfside City Beach. You can find a few more fighting conch shells and tons of living...More

1  Thank B90x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaCruises, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for the nice review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your cruise! We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Nice enough cruise but get there 45 min early to get shaded spot on board. The sun can be brutal until you get moving. We did not see much but that was due to weather and bad luck. The captain offered for us to come...More

1  Thank Justine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaCruises, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you did not see much. Bad weather can definitely affect seeing wildlife. We hope that you will take us up on the rain check to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

I’ve been on ever of these cruises over the years and they are always enjoyable. The staff is very friendly and professional. I’m sorry to see the negative reviews by people who were upset by the red tide. I don’t know how they can fault...More

Thank hwhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaCruises, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for the kind review!! And thank you for understanding that red tide is a part of nature that is not pleasant. We are so happy that you are repeat customer!!!! Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2018

You book the trip, pay for trip then board the boat. Once on boat for about 15 minutes they talk about the Red Tide and hope you brought a lot of bug spray. Once arrived you go through a bug infested walkway then find out...More

2  Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptivaCruises, Guest Relations Manager at Captiva Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

We are sad to hear about your experience. Red tide is a very unfortunate part of nature. When red tide blooms are in our area (which is not often) we warn all our customers when they book. Red tide also moves daily so sometimes it...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Captiva Island
Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina
153 reviews
.11 km away
Jensen's "On the Gulf"
185 reviews
.53 km away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
3,422 reviews
1.34 km away
South Seas Island Resort
3,684 reviews
3.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva
2,030 reviews
.50 km away
Old Captiva House
867 reviews
1.30 km away
Sunshine Seafood Cafe and Wine Bar
641 reviews
.20 km away
Keylime Bistro
1,742 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Captiva Beach
1,150 reviews
.69 km away
Captiva Chapel By-The-Sea
183 reviews
.36 km away
2 Islands Gallery
35 reviews
.44 km away
NASCRAB
187 reviews
1.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
szq377
3 December 2017|
Answer
Response from CaptivaCruises | Property representative |
Captiva Cruises goes to Useppa Island most days. Please call for availability and reservations.
0
Votes
szq377
3 December 2017|
Answer
Response from stephenpash | Reviewed this property |
Not sure. It was a shell island visit
0
Votes
lizabug1
10 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CaptivaCruises | Property representative |
Yes that is correct. The ½ day trip pulls up to a dock at the southern end of the island. It is about a ½ hour boat ride from Captiva to this dock. The full day trip goes to the northern end of the island to the main State... More
0
Votes