We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Scuba-Fun
Your PADI 5 Star Dive Resort and TDI Dive Center in the Florida Keys offering all things scuba: recreational, technical and rebreather dive trips and courses! Gear rentals, sales, and repair available. We also offer other activities such as snorkeling, kayaking, among others!
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Scuba-Fun
Overview
Learn to scuba dive in a small group setting with this convenient package. Start your day by learning the fundamentals from a certified instructor, and practice your technique in a training pool. Once comfortable and confident, head out on a dive boat in Pennekamp State Park for two dives in reefs with your instructor. Expect to see colorful fish, reef sharks, turtles, and more on both dives.
286Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 228
  • 26
  • 9
  • 5
  • 18
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
cindy d wrote a review Mar 2021
Monticello, Illinois1 contribution1 helpful vote
Even with March wind and rodeo seas this was my best dive trip ever! Visibility was phenomenal and the bonus - my son finished his Open Water Diver certification through SDI (Scuba Fun has PADI instructors too). We will be back - soo many more reefs and wrecks yet to be explored! Thank you!! BTW : make sure you check the dates on the reviews - Yvonne is the new owner and she is flat out amazing!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
A155 wrote a review Feb 2021
Boston, Massachusetts4 contributions9 helpful votes
This is the best place in the Keys to arrange all the diving trips. We rented all the gear here and booked both the independent diving tours and SDI classes. The tours that Scuba-Fun arranged for us were great and all the rental gear was in a very good condition, exactly to size and in a perfectly order. The instructor for the classes, Dennis, who works with Scuba-Fun was excellent and really taught us a lot. But most importantly, the owner of Scuba-Fun truly cared about our experience and went out of her way to organize the best diving trips and provide the best gear. We did not expect even a half of what she did. Thank you!!!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2021
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Stonesisgod wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions
I booked my visit through TripleA. Our reservation was cancelled and we were called back and coaxed to book on our own. I suppose this company is just a 3rd party and (you) have to pay for all of the actual rental, instructor, boat fees up front. We booked a 9 hour scuba tour. You never go to the location of this business at all during the rental or instruction. We swam in the holiday inn swimming pool with an instructor for and hour and 20 minutes and then were told to come back in 2.5 hours to go on our scuba tour for 3 hours. A half hour after we left we received a call that the weather was too bad and the trip was cancelled.....Ok I suppose. However we were only refunded 50%! So we paid $213 for 2 people to scuba dive in a mariott pool for an hour.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Yvonne H, Owner at Scuba-Fun
Responded 25 Nov 2020
Dear stonesisgod, we are sorry your experience was not what you had expected from it. Unfortunately, the weather has a huge impact on the scuba and snorkel activities that we offer. Weather forecasts are usually pretty reliable, and we check on wind and seas predictions multiple times a day. But sometimes we experience quick weather changes and in these instances, a scuba instructor will always decide what is best for their students, also factoring in students' in-water skills proficiency and prior experience. In scuba diving safety comes first. Considering that the wind had picked up significantly during that morning and dive boats were already reporting 3-4 foot high seas in the open water your instructor rightly decided that those were no conditions to continue your scuba experience in. You were offered two alternatives for the afternoon by your instructor though if you remember correctly, which you decided not to accept. You also were not available to reschedule that portion to another day, hence the afternoon portion of your experience was canceled. We do understand that it is disappointing you were not able to get the full Discover Scuba Diving experience as planned, but please understand that a dive shop cannot assume the entire risk of changes in weather and sea conditions only. You did do half of the experience, working with an instructor who needs to get paid, and using gear and pool resources. Your 50% refund reflects paying the usual rate for the "pool only" scuba experience. This is not a scam. This is paying for services rendered. As for the booking process: When your third party reservation came through we initially had to reject the reservation since Scuba-Fun had no instructor resources available for that weekend. Being a service-oriented facility we were considerate enough to call you right away and offer you the program on another day through another facility that we partner with. You were very happy to take us up on that offer, there was no coaxing needed if you are honest to admit. We also sent you an email confirmation stating which business your booking would be fulfilled by. So you were fully informed about all that upfront. Why it bothers you so much that we tried to make things streamlined and easy for you when organizing your check-in at the dive shop who fulfilled your reservation directly instead of showing up at our location first is totally beyond us.
Read more
Jim K wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions
I had been to Key West diving once before and had a horrible experience. I decided to go with Scuba Fun to plan all of our dives this trip. Yovann did an awesome job planning our week. We also want to recommend Cory as your Dive Master for anything you plan through Scuba Fun. Yovann does great planning, Cory is the guy who will make your trip fun. I highly recommend this dive shop as your first stop, if they are not able to provide you with the trip you need they will go above and beyond to make your request happen. We also recommend you stay mid way down the Keys like Marathon, Layton or Islamorada. Being located centrally allows you to see more while hitting the great dive sites!!!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Joakim Z wrote a review Dec 2019
Linköping, Sweden2 contributions
A warm and welcoming place. Really good instructor and all the dives were very good. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 😁🤘🏼⚓️
Read more
Helpful
Share
Previous