We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backwater Cat Adventure

Features Animals
3 S Front St, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4262
+1 904-753-7631
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Fun Time!

Went on this boat tour last week. Jimmy was our guide. We had a fantastic time. The boat were easy... read more

Reviewed today
Islandcouple88
Great!

I booked this online based on Trip Advisor reviews. This adventure did not disappoint. My 15 year... read more

Reviewed yesterday
LizTaylor1997
,
Atlanta, Georgia
via mobile
Read all 572 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Book a tour at Backwater Cat Adventure dot com. This is a boating adventure you will cherish for years to come! Driving your own 2 seat catamaran boat, while a guide in a lead boat shows you the waters around Amelia and Cumberland Islands, on a 2.5 hour trip. Our goal is to see wildlife, like the wild horses on Cumberland Island, sea life like dolphin, manatee, sea turtles and more. We travel by historic Fort Clinch on the tip of Amelia Island to take pictures and talk about the history or this 1800's fort. We stop on the beach at Cumberland Island to swim, do some shelling and it is a great break off of the boats. We do some very cool boating in the backwater, never going into ocean waters. In colder weather we provide waterproof pants and jackets to keep you comfortable. This is great for families with children 5 years old and up, adventurous first time boaters, and people who love the water, wildlife, sea life, history and driving a really cool boat!
  • Excellent94%
  • Very good3%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“wild horses” (198 reviews)
“saw dolphins” (48 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
3 S Front St, Amelia Island, FL 32034-4262
CONTACT
Website
+1 904-753-7631
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wild horses"
in 198 reviews
"cumberland island"
in 237 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 48 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 40 reviews
"great guide"
in 39 reviews
"two seater"
in 13 reviews
"craig cat"
in 10 reviews
"dry storage"
in 8 reviews
"highly recommend this trip"
in 9 reviews
"fort clinch"
in 41 reviews
"great fun"
in 23 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 25 reviews
"hilton head"
in 6 reviews
"back waters"
in 7 reviews
"open water"
in 8 reviews
"beautiful sunset"
in 16 reviews
"dungeness ruins"
in 7 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 572 reviews

Reviewed today

Went on this boat tour last week. Jimmy was our guide. We had a fantastic time. The boat were easy to maneuver, fun to ride in and an experience unlike any tour we have been on. Jimmy was a lot of fun. very knowledge and...More

1  Thank Islandcouple88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I booked this online based on Trip Advisor reviews. This adventure did not disappoint. My 15 year old thought it was great and we saw lots of dolphins that surfaced very close to us a quite a few times. Dylan was a great guide. I...More

Thank LizTaylor1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen E, Owner at Backwater Cat Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Exceeding expectations is our goal. I'm so glad we hit the mark on your adventure with us. Thanks so much for the review and the kind words about Dylan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

We found this after we had arrived on Amelia Island. There were three adults and a child. We had a blast and really enjoyed this adventure. I would highly recommend this. If you are shying away from it due to the cost, go for it....More

Thank Christin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen E, Owner at Backwater Cat Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Definitely worth it is a great compliment! Thanks for sharing your experience with everyone. Hope to see you again soon sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Two adults, two teens. We were guided by Mr Jimmy and had an amazing couple hours on the water. We saw dolphins, alligator, horses, birds, and the most colorful beautiful sunset over the water. The cats are easy to learn and can be a lot...More

Thank 3infamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen E, Owner at Backwater Cat Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Treat yourself and totally worth it is high praise in deed! Thanks so much for the review. Those teens will be old enough to drive before you know it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Our family had a wonderful experience on water cat adventures. It was easy to drive. We went on a 9:00 AM tour. Our guide Cray was great. He was very informative, lead us safely, took lots of pictures. We saw an alligator, pods of dolphins,...More

Thank Svalbuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen E, Owner at Backwater Cat Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for highly recommending us to the TripAdvisor community! Glad Cray did such a nice job leading the trip and you saw so much wildlife and sea life!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Husband and I went on a boat together. Had a great time. Saw dolphins, wild horses and some historic landmarks. Worth the money and got a whole bunch of pics emailed to us

1  Thank helenacoco1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen E, Owner at Backwater Cat Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for the 5 star review and the shout out. Glad you had a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

We went on the 9 am tour and what fun we had! It was something we wouldn’t normally do, but we decided to splurge and we are so glad we did! Our guide was Bobby and he was very knowledgeable. We stopped near some dolphin...More

Thank Iva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen E, Owner at Backwater Cat Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

"Well worth it" is quite a compliment. Thanks for taking a chance on us. We try to make memories for a lifetime. Glad Bobby showed you a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank you Captain Cray for a delightful adventure. We highly recommend adding this activity to your itinerary when visiting Amelia Island.

Thank saradeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen E, Owner at Backwater Cat Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for the 4 star review and highly recommending us to everyone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

While it seems pricey, it's money well spent! We opted for the 9:00 a.m. trip to avoid the extreme sun, but no worries there is plenty of breeze and a bimini top of your watercraft as you glide on the water. Captain Cray was the...More

1  Thank keywesttraveler502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen E, Owner at Backwater Cat Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow! Thanks for noticing how Cray makes sure you have a memorable adventure with us! Sounds like you saw it all while on your trip. Glad you had so much fun!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time on a Craigcat and loved it. These boats are easy to drive. Our guide was very informative during the entire time. Loved beaching on Cumberland Island where we saw wild horses and collected beautiful large shells. We also saw dolphins and when we...More

Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen E, Owner at Backwater Cat Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So much fun is the best compliment we can get. Glad you thought the boating adventure was so fun. We always have a lot to live up to on our tours because of reviews like yours. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Amelia Island
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
1,649 reviews
.15 km away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
430 reviews
3.21 km away
Seaside Amelia Inn
788 reviews
3.34 km away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
745 reviews
3.34 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Nana Teresa's Bake Shop
271 reviews
.27 km away
Fantastic Fudge
1,083 reviews
.27 km away
Joe's 2nd Street Bistro
1,134 reviews
.20 km away
Pi Infinite Combinations
362 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Amelia Island Welcome Center
275 reviews
.12 km away
Fernandina Beach
521 reviews
.19 km away
Amelia Island Historic District
450 reviews
.18 km away
Shrimping Museum
37 reviews
.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Christa168
15 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Julie L | Reviewed this property |
It's to the left of Brett's Waterfront restaurant as you are looking at the water, right over the train tracks. I would think it's walkable! Enjoy!
1
Vote
Julie D
7 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Fran C | Reviewed this property |
Morning would be the best. It is cooler.
1
Vote