We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 1610 SE Paradise Cir, Crystal River, FL 34429-4621
Phone Number:
+1 352-571-1888
Website
Today
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

Swimming With The Manatees is an ecotourism guide service located in...

Swimming With The Manatees is an ecotourism guide service located in Crystal River, Florida. In addition to Manatee swim and snorkel tours we offer Scalloping Trips and Airboat Rides. You will be thrilled by the glory of Florida nature at it’s finest. The Nature Coast is a birdwatcher’s and aquatic paradise. You may even catch a glimpse of the endangered Whooping Cranes that winter over in the Cha

                   

                   

                   

                   

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 82 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 60
    Excellent
  • 8
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Bucket list, another checked off.

This was amazing and our guides were great. We saw a ton of manatee and the guide was so informative. WE had a group of 7, kayaked and snorkeled. saw a ton of manatees and... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
sligo1986
,
Hudson, Wisconsin

Similar Things to Do in Crystal River

Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
sanibel
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We reserved and paid for our kayaks days ahead. The staff was fine and we were looking forward to a good time exploring. There were 6 of us and we rented 3 tandem kayaks. We were given horrible kayaks with no back support. My husband and I don't have back issues but both of us were miserable and only stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susie K
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you were not completely satisfied, we hope that you would return soon. I would say that everyone of our kayaks do have back supports; we do have a variety of kayaks: sit-on tops, sit-down ins, as well as excellent tracking kayaks or a more stable kayak. We do this to try to accommodate each customer's particular need,... More 

Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This was amazing and our guides were great. We saw a ton of manatee and the guide was so informative. WE had a group of 7, kayaked and snorkeled. saw a ton of manatees and flying fish!! the springs were bubbling away. I would do it again. I think our guides name's were JJ and ? ( sorry don't remember... More 

Helpful?
Thank sligo1986
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to swim with us. We hope when you chose to do it again, that you will visit us again! More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everyone at Capt. Mike's especially our guide Tom were great! Perfect time of year for swimming with manatees! It was a day I will never forget!

Helpful?
Thank Spagirl47
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

If Captain Tom gets any more excellent reviews I don't know what we are going to do with Him. He truly is a great guy, and an awesome addition to the team at Captain Mike's. Thank you for swimming with us, and please come again! More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

They sold us a tour that would visit 3 different springs but only brought us to one of the springs that had no clear water right in front of their business, maybe 2 minutes from dock! I could of swam to the place myself that's how close it was. It was supposed to be a 3 hour tour but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Derek D
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

Hello, we are very sorry that this was not what you had expected. I do assure you that you did receive what was advertised, and nothing less. Our Silver Tour is a 3 hour total tour and a manatee swim tour, not a Spring tour; so we do not ever guarantee going to any particular spring, although we do often... More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Manatees were all gone out into the Gulf because of the warm weather. Big waste of money. The price is high and they don't show you anything.

Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
SwimmingManatees, Booking Agent at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

I'm sorry your experience was not ideal. Unfortunately we can not control the manatees or the weather. We tell any potential customers that it may not be an ideal time to come, and that booking the earliest possible tour is always the best. Our Captains work very hard to see that every customer gets to see/swim with the manatees. Again,... More 

Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Captain Tom and guide Gina were great. The manatees where scarce the day we went. Those two worked so hard for us to find one. They did. We ended up seeing about 4 that day. It was a cold day so a lot of us boarded the boat early and saw a few from the boat. I was a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank brenwillifo
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

Thank you for swimming with Captain Mike's. Captain Tom and Gina truly make a great team, and it certainly is a plus when the manatees really put on a show. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We loved our swimming tour with Captain Scott and guide Jessica. We saw many manatee and interacted with them. Scott and Jessica were helpful and encouraging, especially nice for us older folks!

Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

Thank you so much for spending your day with us. Scott and Jessica make a great team and that certainly are accommodating. Please come visit us again soon! More 

Golden, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We rented kayaks from Captain Mike's. They provided instructions and video for seeing manatees and map of area to see them. We saw 5-6 in the 3 Sisters Spring area. Enjoyed the paddling and other wildlife along the way.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

Thank you so much for paddling with Captain Mike's. We are glad you were able to enjoy the manatees, they sure add to the fun! Please come see us again. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible! Not what said in their review. No water or cold beverages provided, "snacks" were a small bag of chips and pack of crackers. Worst of all no heat provided with the exception of 2 ten minute sessions that we had to ask for and were given a hard time about. The heated houseboat which was tiny wasn't heated which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience. I am not sure if this is the correct company, however. Both of our houseboats are heated during the cold days of winter, and all of our Platinum tours come with vouchers for lunch at Margarita Breeze Restaurant, onsite. We do offer simple snacks in addition to these vouchers.... More 

Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I did this for our honeymoon and it was SO worth it!! We got so close to manatees and our guide went above and beyond to ensure that we had fun and saw as many manatees as possible!

Helpful?
Thank Jacob S
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your special moment with us. We are happy that the manatees were very accommodating, please come see us again! More 

Travelers who viewed Swimming With The Manatees also viewed

 

Been to Swimming With The Manatees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Swimming With The Manatees and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Swimming With The Manatees staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?