We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Swimming With The Manatees

Features Animals
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 1610 SE Paradise Cir, Crystal River, FL 34429-4621
Phone Number:
+1 352-571-1888
Website
Today
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

Swimming With The Manatees is an ecotourism guide service located in...

Swimming With The Manatees is an ecotourism guide service located in Crystal River, Florida. We offer the finest in Manatee Swim Tours. You will be thrilled by the glory of Florida nature at it’s finest. The Nature Coast is a birdwatcher’s and aquatic paradise.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 87 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 61
    Excellent
  • 8
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
A truly great experience!

Went out with Captain Mike's with Tom and had a wonderful time! If you're a couple looking for a cool adventure in this part of Florida, I would highly recommend going out with... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Dan F
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Crystal River

Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 84: English reviews
Burgebrach
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We are a family of 4 and did the boat trip Crystal River Eco River Tour last week and we are more than disappointed. It was the worst and most expensive tour we ever did. The tour led just one hour through the small harbour of Crystal River (you can overview that from the shore already) and we saw the... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeggyPfotenhauer
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were disappointed. This price is the standard for the industry. I would also add that the "Eco-Tour" is not a Manatee Tour, it is a tour of the bay and is advertised this way. All of our manatee tours are in the morning due to inactivity of manatees in the afternoon, the eco-tour is in... More 

Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were put on the morning trip and we trusted the organizer with the time, but it was a big mistake since half of our time was cold and dark and we could not see anything and were waiting for more light . What's the point !!? Unfortunately even when sun was up we could not see much because the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hanapta
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your swim. Visibility is a difficult thing to predict; manatees are wild animals and do not always hang around the same areas, sometimes they are in areas that are not as visible, also there are so many other variables that contribute to poor or great visibility (rain, wind, silt, and spring... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went out with Captain Mike's with Tom and had a wonderful time! If you're a couple looking for a cool adventure in this part of Florida, I would highly recommend going out with Captain Mike's for a manatee adventure.

Helpful?
Thank Dan F
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

Thank you for swimming with Captain Mike's, we appreciate your business. Please come see us again soon! More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked with Captain Mike's Swimming with the Manatees. We purchased the silver package which included 3 hour tour, snorkel gear and wet suit. There were 29 people in our group which made swimming very difficult. Due to the warm weather we only saw a few manatee. The water was not clear at all. Captain Scott & Jessica were both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

Thank you for swimming with us! Yes the Silver Tour books up to 35 persons, so if you are looking for the more private experience, the Gold and Platinum tours are the best choice; however Scott and Jessica are on the Silvers. Not to worry all of our Captains are excellent and love to have a good time. Please come... More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a glorious day we had in the water courtesy of Captain Tom! Not only was he nice, he was so knowledgeable and had a genuine love and passion for the manatees. He could feel our excitement as Chicagoans and anticipation to get up close with these wonderful creatures and did not let us down. We loved every moment of... More 

Helpful?
Thank BeckyKovack
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

Thank you all for swimming with us! We absolutely love Captain Tom, you know the whole older senile thing has worked in his favor. He makes for a fun time, of course it really makes the trip when great people like you visit us too. We loved having you, you were a fun group. Please come see us again! More 

sanibel
Level Contributor
91 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We reserved and paid for our kayaks days ahead. The staff was fine and we were looking forward to a good time exploring. There were 6 of us and we rented 3 tandem kayaks. We were given horrible kayaks with no back support. My husband and I don't have back issues but both of us were miserable and only stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susie K
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you were not completely satisfied, we hope that you would return soon. I would say that everyone of our kayaks do have back supports; we do have a variety of kayaks: sit-on tops, sit-down ins, as well as excellent tracking kayaks or a more stable kayak. We do this to try to accommodate each customer's particular need,... More 

Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2017

This was amazing and our guides were great. We saw a ton of manatee and the guide was so informative. WE had a group of 7, kayaked and snorkeled. saw a ton of manatees and flying fish!! the springs were bubbling away. I would do it again. I think our guides name's were JJ and ? ( sorry don't remember... More 

Helpful?
Thank sligo1986
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to swim with us. We hope when you chose to do it again, that you will visit us again! More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2017

Everyone at Capt. Mike's especially our guide Tom were great! Perfect time of year for swimming with manatees! It was a day I will never forget!

Helpful?
1 Thank Spagirl47
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

If Captain Tom gets any more excellent reviews I don't know what we are going to do with Him. He truly is a great guy, and an awesome addition to the team at Captain Mike's. Thank you for swimming with us, and please come again! More 

1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

They sold us a tour that would visit 3 different springs but only brought us to one of the springs that had no clear water right in front of their business, maybe 2 minutes from dock! I could of swam to the place myself that's how close it was. It was supposed to be a 3 hour tour but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Derek D
SwimmingManatees, Manager at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

Hello, we are very sorry that this was not what you had expected. I do assure you that you did receive what was advertised, and nothing less. Our Silver Tour is a 3 hour total tour and a manatee swim tour, not a Spring tour; so we do not ever guarantee going to any particular spring, although we do often... More 

1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2017 via mobile

Manatees were all gone out into the Gulf because of the warm weather. Big waste of money. The price is high and they don't show you anything.

Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
SwimmingManatees, Booking Agent at Swimming With The Manatees, responded to this review

I'm sorry your experience was not ideal. Unfortunately we can not control the manatees or the weather. We tell any potential customers that it may not be an ideal time to come, and that booking the earliest possible tour is always the best. Our Captains work very hard to see that every customer gets to see/swim with the manatees. Again,... More 

Travelers who viewed Swimming With The Manatees also viewed

 

Been to Swimming With The Manatees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Swimming With The Manatees and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Swimming With The Manatees staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?