We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southwinds Golf Course

19557 Lyons Rd, Boca Raton, FL 33434-2816
+1 561-483-1305
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Better than advertised

On our recent February trip to southern Florida we were looking for a few reasonably priced golf... read more

Reviewed 3 March 2018
Bill M
,
North Bellmore, New York
PUBLIC GOLF COURSE WITH EXCELLENT SERVICE

We booked 18 holes on GolfNow for a Monday but in error we were booked for previous day. We arrived... read more

Reviewed 4 February 2018
Ernest M
,
Delray Beach, Florida
Read all 16 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Southwinds Golf Course offers an 18-hole championship course, driving range and full practice facilities, including a bunker and putting green. With its lush foliage, picturesque tree lined fairways, and tranquil beauty, Southwinds Golf Course is pure golf the way it was meant to be played, with nothing to distract your game except the natural beauty of your surroundings. A sanctuary for golfers, birds, and wildlife. Southwinds Golf Course was voted "Best of Boca" in 2003 and 2004. Outstanding course conditions and friendly staff complete your extraordinary golf experience. Southwinds Golf Course features top-ranked LPGA and PGA instructors and provides affordable group and private instruction for all ages and abilities.
  • Excellent12%
  • Very good57%
  • Average25%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible0%
Mar 3, 2018
“Better than advertised”
Feb 4, 2018
“PUBLIC GOLF COURSE WITH EXCELLENT SERVICE”
LOCATION
19557 Lyons Rd, Boca Raton, FL 33434-2816
CONTACT
Website
+1 561-483-1305
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Boca Raton
from US$649.99
More Info
from US$500.00
More Info
from US$299.95
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2018

On our recent February trip to southern Florida we were looking for a few reasonably priced golf course to shake the cobwebs off the golf clubs we hadn't needed since the end of the season in NY last October. Southwinds came up in our Google...More

Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachpicasso, General Manager at Southwinds Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

We are glad you enjoyed your experience at Southwinds. Our goal is to consistently provide a pleasant experience for our guests with both good course conditions and customer service. Thank you for your positive comments and we hope you visit again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We booked 18 holes on GolfNow for a Monday but in error we were booked for previous day. We arrived Monday with no tee time but the pro shop staff and starter worked us in their busy schedule. We enjoyed the sunshine and the couple...More

1  Thank Ernest M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachpicasso, General Manager at Southwinds Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you for your review of Southwinds Golf Course. We are glad you enjoyed the experience and that our golf professional Pat Dowd and the rest of our team were able to accommodate you and your wife. We look forward to you visiting with us...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Went golfing with friends. Weather was perfect. Negatives: Course was very beat up. Rough with lots of wet areas and beat up greens. I like the course but wish it was in better condition. I haven’t golfed in this area before so don’t know if...More

Thank kimmysue42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Public golf course rental clubs rental golf cart should be for fun and it is not they take the game too serious I have lived in that development for over 20 years and never went there came on vacation to play with my son and...More

Thank giresi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I played Southwinds a number of times this March and enjoyed it very much. Not hugely challenging, it has enough water and sand to trip you up. Greens are true but the fairways are poor.More

Thank CandNMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachpicasso, Manager at Southwinds Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thanks for playing Southwinds and for your feedback. As a target course, length is not the challenge but as you mentioned, shot placement is key. The fairways have suffered a bit this season due to the lack of rainfall and an extreme amount of wind....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

My brother spends much of winter in Florida while I'm stuck in iciest climes. So he gets to golf and I don't. So when I visited, we got an afternoon tee time at Southwinds and were able to play 12 holes before the sun set....More

Thank K16kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn R, Special Projects Coordinator at Southwinds Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Thank you for your review of Southwinds. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your round with us enough to return. Please come see us again on your next trip down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

If you are a duffer this is a very good golf course for you... However if you are a "good" golfer looking for either a challenging course or an upscale experience This course is not for you!!!More

Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachpicasso, Manager at Southwinds Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Southwinds is a "target" golf course with a yardage of 6,018 from the back tees. While the long hitter would not want to hit driver on most holes, accuracy is a premium. There are 16 holes in which water hazards or out of bounds come...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

Ok course... Quite easy and short... Could bebbetter mainteined... Carts do NOT have GPS so take your range finder... Tee boxes need some care... Fairways are ok ... Just ok... Greens are a notch above ok... All in all this course is average period!More

Thank Jacques R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachpicasso, Manager at Southwinds Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Southwinds Golf Course. The course has recently survived above average rainfall and cool weather which put the bermudagrass in a dormant stage. As the weather warms up, conditions will improve. As for GPS...we are in the testing...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

If you are a low handicap golfer looking for a challenging course then - This is not the course for you- If you are an average golfer looking for a relatively easy course then this is a worthwhile selection. It is very well maintained and...More

Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachpicasso, Manager at Southwinds Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2015

Thanks for taking the time to both play and review Southwinds. Southwinds is more of a "target" golf course, as you state, with a premium put on accuracy of your golf shot over distance. We appreciate you visiting and hope you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Southwinds is a fair course at a reasonable price for those of us looking for a day out with friends and who suffer from a high handicap! Bonus is the 19th hole offers $1.00 draft beers after the round with a friendly bar staff to...More

1  Thank ronz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn R, Special Projects Coordinator, Marketing at Southwinds Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Thank you for your review of Southwinds. We are happy to hear that you enjoy playing the course and find both the golf and the clubhouse restaurant to be a great value. We take pride in our staff offering superior customer service and are pleased...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 hotels in Boca Raton
Holiday Inn Express Boca Raton-West
192 reviews
2.89 km away
Hilton Boca Raton Suites
1,265 reviews
3.26 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Boca Raton
68 reviews
7.10 km away
Renaissance Boca Raton Hotel
1,038 reviews
7.10 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Doris Italian Market & Bakery
100 reviews
.86 km away
La Ferme
146 reviews
.90 km away
Davito's Italian Restaurant
42 reviews
1.39 km away
Brendy's Yogurt & Ice Cream
25 reviews
.90 km away
Nearby Attractions
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
1,765 reviews
5.80 km away
Daggerwing Nature Center
76 reviews
3.54 km away
Coconut Cove Waterpark
118 reviews
3.48 km away
Burt Aaronson South County Regional Park
23 reviews
3.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Southwinds Golf Course staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit