We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oak Ray Handcrafted Wood Carvings

Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Do nego hard if you like !

We came here and looks the genuine of the wood quality. Get to know about wood but I have reserve... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Tai Sheng G
,
Singapore, Singapore
via mobile
Expensive and not good as they say

I have bought 2 wood carving item. all of them cracked some where of them. and for not good... read more

Reviewed 16 April 2018
PoorangT
,
Tehran, Iran
Read all 126 reviews
62
All photos (62)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent11%
  • Very good23%
  • Average14%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible41%
4 weeks ago
“Do nego hard if you like ! ”
Apr 16, 2018
“Expensive and not good as they say”
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
28°
24°
Jul
28°
24°
Aug
28°
24°
Sep
Contact
9 Deveni Rajasinghe Mawatha. Gatembe, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Website
+94 81 2 386161
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Kandy
from US$187.00
More Info
from US$64.00
More Info
from US$48.00
More Info
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
11
19
14
12
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
11
19
14
12
39
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Purchased a wood elephant from Australia from Kelum at Oak Ray Wood Carvings, from initial email to finally receiving the elephant couldn’t be happier with the service & care taken. Elephant was delivered as described & via air in perfect condition. Would definitely recommend purchase...More

Thank Margeaux72
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Waste of time... terribly overpriced store guides and people will try to take you there just avoid it. We wanted to buy the secret boxes that we got in Sigiriya for 1500 they charged us 6000.

Thank carlospenagal
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really beautiful products here. If you have the budget then worth a purchase, but just a short visit en route out of Kandy is also worth it.

Thank Claire M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here and looks the genuine of the wood quality. Get to know about wood but I have reserve my views about the quality till I receive my purchased goods:- a coffee table, wall hang carving and elephants carving on table display . Definitely...More

1  Thank Tai Sheng G
Manager_OakRayHotels, Manager at Oak Ray Handcrafted Wood Carvings, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sheng, Thank you sharing your views about Oakray woodcarvings. Firstly we thank you for patronizing our store. We will keep a close eye and get the furniture delivered as er sales contract. With regard to discounts, yes - depending on the destination/ place of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Prices are outrageous.. they have more than 50% mark up prices for outsiders than locals. but if a local walk-in with a foreign person we still have to pay the crazy prices. The manager there is rude and he is arrogant. please don't waste your...More

4  Thank DEE k
Manager_OakRayHotels, Manager at Oak Ray Handcrafted Wood Carvings, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for expressing your opinion about Oakray wood carvings. A discount is common and a better discount is possible specially when the purchase is bigger or the quantity is larger. Also we offer certain discounts at times for local credit card holders...More

Reviewed 10 June 2018

This is your typical Oak Ray tourist trap. You show up, they pretend to be the real deal with 1-2 wood carvings workers hanging around, give you a demo then ask you to have a look and perhaps buy something. Your driver earns an end...More

2  Thank Abheerk
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Oak Ray Woodcarvings are purely a tourist trap and will charge you 3 times the cost elsewhere and in return you will not get any after sales service. I bought a teak coffee table from them 6 months ago and it cost me £1500 but...More

3  Thank threecoinsinthefount
Reviewed 22 May 2018

They sold me a coffee table for £1500 which started cracking up once brought to the UK. On getting in touch with evidence of poor quality of wood, all they offered was to replace a drawer and then claimed they care for customers! Such lies...More

2  Thank abhattacha_11
Reviewed 16 April 2018

I have bought 2 wood carving item. all of them cracked some where of them. and for not good packaging of them , one of them was broken. they packaged them by newspaper!!! Also, the items are very expensive than the other place!!!.More

1  Thank PoorangT
Manager_OakRayHotels, Manager at Oak Ray Handcrafted Wood Carvings, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Sir, Thank you for you sharing your views about us. We would like to stress the fact that our products are not similar to what is offered in the market. The wood varieties are different and we do not support illegal wood felling by...More

Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Think twice before you purchase wooden articles like tables from Oak Ray Wood carvings Kandy Sri Lanka. The wood will shrink and crack like mine did and then the table will be worthless. Don't pay more than half the asking price. Oak Ray is 3...More

3  Thank Sam S
Manager_OakRayHotels, Manager at Oak Ray Handcrafted Wood Carvings, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Sam, We had gone through your e-mail and your comment on trip adviser. Your table had started cracking after few months in UK. I was seeking clarifications from you whether the table was kept near a central heating unit. Because all our wood had...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question