We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre

74a Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
+64 3-304 7784
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Friendly knowledgable staff

Always get great service from the team at the Isite. They offer great options and know about most... read more

Reviewed 2 May 2018
davidkinnaird2002
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Nice

Good service and very nice lady behind the desk. Very helpful and friendly. I-side is easy to find... read more

Reviewed 26 April 2018
PriceMTL
,
Noosa, Australia
via mobile
Read all 53 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Information: local and national; Free itinerary planning; Travel reservations; Accommodation reservations; Activity and tour reservations. We also have a great range of souvenirs and gifts (lots of kiwiana). We can help with all bookings, whether local or nationwide. We look forward to seeing you soon.
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good30%
  • Average20%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
“banks” (3 reviews)
“tender” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
LOCATION
74a Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-304 7784
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Akaroa
from US$100.50
More Info
from US$58.90
More Info
from US$54.80
More Info
from US$104.00
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"akaroa dolphins"
in 2 reviews
"banks"
in 3 reviews
"tender"
in 2 reviews
"cruise"
in 4 reviews
"boat"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018

Always get great service from the team at the Isite. They offer great options and know about most things to do around the town. Hours are adjusted to match the demand of locals and visitors alike and you always get a smiling face to match.

1  Thank davidkinnaird2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoreenAkaroa, Manager at Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear David, Thank you for your lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Good service and very nice lady behind the desk. Very helpful and friendly. I-side is easy to find. Good parking area in front

Thank PriceMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen M, Manager at Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds all very positive but I was wondering if you could let us know what we can do better or improve to get a 4 or 5 star rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Good place to get a walking map of the area. Lots of items for sale but little free material which was disappointing. 2230More

Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen M, Manager at Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hello, Thank you for your review. Which free materials were you after? The walking maps are for sale since we have to buy them. Other than this we have heaps of free material to take, like visitor guides, camping brochures, activities in Akaroa and all...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2018

I found the young lad I talked to not very helpful at all. When I go to an I-site I am attempting to get an overview of what I might like to look into a bit more. They typically are very good at making sure...More

Thank CozumelQueen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen M, Manager at Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Hello, Thank you for your review and sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience. All of our staff are well trained to give information. We apologize if we spoke too fast (since there is so much to do in Akaroa). In case...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Loads of activities and information available on their ISite. However, be careful about the timings of various activities. Some activities might have to be pre booked.

Thank Nabeel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Called in on the weekend to ask for local knowledge about walking/hiking tracks - the girl clearly had no idea and gave us some vague information about the starting point for the track we were wanting to take (which it turned out was incorrect). There...More

1  Thank jnb911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoreenAkaroa, Manager at Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

We do have lots of different walks in and around Akaroa therefore we have comprehensive walking maps (most of them produced by Rod Donald Banks Peninsula Trust). These maps show you the start and finish points of the walks and gives you more details about...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Isite Akaroa disappoints. I Asked about which tour to do for river adventure. Was told there were four and all the same only difference is time u want to go. I chose one and when shown the boat decided I didnt like the boat so...More

1  Thank anne255120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoreenAkaroa, Manager at Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear visitor, Firstly, little bit confused as if the review is about Akaroa, since we do not have a river here nor river adventures. Our harbor cruises take people around the harbor and all the way to the open ocean, which you surely notice if...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Popped in to pick up some information and was immediately guided to the right maps. Extensive selection of tourist attractions and activities available in this area. Many thanks.

Thank Ceridwen888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Walked in. Saw it was a souvenir shop. The assistant was on her cellphone and didn't even acknowledge us. Continuing her call she went outside to bring in the signage and then (still on the phone) turned the "open" sign to "closed" We left

1  Thank Kiwiseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoreenAkaroa, Manager at Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hello Sorry about your negative experience. We endeavour to enrich the traveller experience wherever we can and are disappointed that in this instance we failed to do so. We hope that the rest of your travels within New Zealand are enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Extremely helpful and knowledgeable Staff. All staff able to assist with booking accomodation, travel and activities.

Thank Owen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Akaroa
Akaroa Criterion Motel
330 reviews
.03 km away
Tresori Motor Lodge
140 reviews
.41 km away
La Rochelle Motel
239 reviews
.47 km away
The Grand Hotel Akaroa
62 reviews
.55 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Murphy's On The Corner
130 reviews
.65 km away
La Rangis Pizzeria
71 reviews
.06 km away
The Little Bistro
805 reviews
.29 km away
Ma Maison
117 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Little River Rail Station
16 reviews
.60 km away
The Giant's House
919 reviews
.64 km away
Akaroa Museum
177 reviews
.02 km away
Banks Peninsula War Memorial and Grounds
85 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Akaroa i-SITE Visitor Information Centre staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor