We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Derwent Hunter Day Tours

Shingley Drive | Abell Point Marina South, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
+61 7 4946 7124
Website
Share
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Derwent Hunter Day Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Tall Ship Reef Adventure. Day Sailing on board the Australian legend Derwent Hunter. Whitsunday Islands, Great Barrier Reef. Help sail, snorkell fringing reefs, explore coral atolls of Langford Reef and Bali Hai. Multi award winning for adventure and eco tourism. Departs Airlie Beach.
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“tall ship” (29 reviews)
“chocolate cake” (14 reviews)
“sailing ship” (15 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Shingley Drive | Abell Point Marina South, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 7 4946 7124
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tall ship"
in 29 reviews
"chocolate cake"
in 14 reviews
"sailing ship"
in 15 reviews
"day trip"
in 43 reviews
"fish"
in 46 reviews
"actual sailing"
in 5 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 15 reviews
"beautiful ship"
in 4 reviews
"morning tea"
in 17 reviews
"snorkeling spots"
in 11 reviews
"stinger suits"
in 16 reviews
"langford island"
in 5 reviews
"whitsunday islands"
in 17 reviews
"for sale"
in 4 reviews
"plenty of food"
in 6 reviews
"biscuits"
in 8 reviews
"sea life"
in 6 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

A great day on the talk ship Derwent Hunter today. Sailing out of the harbour to Hook Island for snorkelling. Delicious lunch, morning and afternoon tea provided. Great snorkelling, lots of beautiful fish and coral. A great day

Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for sailing with us, and for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a privilege it was to sail on this grand old boat for a day. If only she could talk! Skipper Ena and crew members Amy and Fiona ensured we had a fantastic day out snorkelling around Hook Island, whale watching and just chilling onboard...More

Thank Arthur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for sailing with us Arthur, I'm sure the Derwent has plenty of tales to tell you're right! It is such a special experience under sail on the old girl,and the Whitsundays are such a fabulous background. Hope to see you back on board again...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous day, really unforgettable. Picked up at the B&B, very friendly crew welcomed us on board of the beautiful “Schoener” and we hoisted the sails together. After two and half hour we stopped for one hour of snorkeling, later on followed on a different place...More

Thank Egber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent day, great crew, wonderful day in the water, snorkeling excellent, food excellent. Worth every dollar.

Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

We took our kids aged 4, 6 and 8 on a day tour to snorkel at Hook Island. The snorkelling exceeded our expectations, lots of different coloured coral and lots of different fish. The crew were really kind and patient with the kids. Great day...More

Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Great to hear that you family had a great day out with us, we hope that you enjoy the rest of your holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

A great day out on a beautiful old ship. A lovely way to travel for snorkeling at two coral reef sites. The crew were very informative and took care of everything. It was well worth it.

Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Great to hear you enjoyed your day, and thanks for taking time to review us with your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful day today in the Derwent. Crew were sensational, snorkel sites did not disappoint, the sailing was peaceful and plenty of delicious food. We loved learning more about the Reef from Amy, Fi and Ena who answered all our questions all day! Such...More

Thank Boop1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks for sailing with us and for taking the time to review us. We love talking about the reef ( i bet you guessed that already!) Enjoy the rest of your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

derwent was AWSOME!!! i went on a fay trip on their 1947 sailing boat boat and loved it! the crew was great! they let me help a lot with the sailing and eaven starred the boat!!!! the reef spot where we snorkeled was the best...More

Thank arturofarkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Glad you day was Awesome!! Sailing and snorkeling two of our favorite things that we love sharing with our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Day trip taken with my wife and grandson March 2018 and it turned out to be way above our expectations. The 3 person crew Pete,Aimee and Nigel went out of their way to ensure we were safe at all times,their knowledge of sailing,the coral,fish and...More

1  Thank cprussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Many thanks for review, we are so glad that your family had such a great day with us. We love entertaining our junior sailors in a safe and engaging environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately our day trip experience on the Derwent Hunter didn’t quite match up to the other reviews. Objectively I had an OK day, but I didn’t find it a very exciting day trip. There was not much to be seen at the first snorkelling spot...More

Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo L, Owner at Derwent Hunter Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we always welcome feedback. With your comments relating to snorkelling, we do recommend that you take your time with the snorkelling which is why we offer two snorkelling locations with plenty of in water time. Nature doesn't...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Motor Lodge
176 reviews
.35 km away
Adventure Island Resort
151 reviews
.40 km away
at Marina Shores
441 reviews
.44 km away
Whitsunday on the Beach
172 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe One 3
308 reviews
.50 km away
Little Vegas Burger & Bar
715 reviews
.66 km away
Treehouse
139 reviews
.71 km away
Shuckz Oyster & Champagne Bar
81 reviews
.69 km away
Nearby Attractions
Abell Point Marina
107 reviews
.00 km away
Conway National Park
24 reviews
.27 km away
Whitsunday Jetski Tours
2,591 reviews
.30 km away
Whitsunday Stand Up Paddle and Kayak
431 reviews
.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Maggie G
18 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jo L | Property representative |
Hi Maggie, We take a maximum of 39 guests (25-30 on average), there is no formal "chair'seating but plenty of cabin top space to sit.
0
Votes
sillyassfog
4 April 2016|
Answer
Response from Jo L | Property representative |
Hi Paul, thanks for , the message, great to hear that you enjoyed your trip so much. We now offer day trips sailing in the Whitsundays, if you want a couple of days we do combo with ocean Rafting called "Thrill n Chill" for... More
0
Votes