We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gentle Cycling Company

Closed Now: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

The Gentle Cycling Company
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
67
All photos (67)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“great taste”(30 reviews)
“cheese shop”(4 reviews)
About
Self-guided half day, full day and multi-day bike hire and tours on and around the Great Taste Cycle Trail. Explore vineyards, craft breweries, cafes, historic villages, beaches and beautiful rural landscapes in Nelson, the Craft Brewing Capital of...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
411 Nayland Road, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Website
+64 3-929 5652
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
104
18
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
104
18
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great taste cheese shop comfortable bikes fun ride wine tasting bike trip suspension bridge easy ride quality bikes lovely friendly staff rabbit island nice scenery cellar door highly recommend this trip abel tasman dropped off nelson area
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. The bikes were ideal and we had a fun time exploring the cycle ways of Nelson on our hired bikes. Location is great for easy access to the cycle ways.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank joy5428
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Joy, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your ride. Best wishes, Rose at Gentle Cycling

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Gentle folk provided us four women with bikes to pedal from their base in Stoke to Mapua. Two of us had ebikes. It was a lovely trip along the Waimea estuary on the Great Taste trail, to Moturoa and the Mapua ferry. We were...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Jane B
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. That was a great day ride option for you. Check out our website for recommendationed itineraries for a multi day trip. The Pigeon Valley Loop might be a good option, given your experience. Cheers, Rose

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I first want to state, I’m not a cyclist. My hubby and I are traveling with my son and his wife who are adventurous. They’ve wanted to do a cycling wine tasting trip in New Zealand. Staying in Nelson, we had a choice of a...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 291maggieb
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there Maggie, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your ride. Just a clarification, a half day bike hire is $33nz and the full day is $45. I imagine you had a full day trip,...More

Reviewed 13 March 2018

Following our succesful cycle trip last year with the Gentle Cycling Company we decided to repeat the fabulous 3 day-Coastal Classic bike trip from Stoke to Kaiteriteri. Again, very good communication by email and phone ahead of our personalised trip. Prompt pick-up from our accommodation...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank AnnemarieKatrien
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was lovely to see you in Nelson again and great to hear you enjoyed your trip the second time, as much as the first!. Best wishes, Rose

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

My daughter researched cycle hire in Nelson and decided on Gentle. An excellent choice from start to finish. We were picked up and dropped off at our Airbnb. On arrival at their base we were given tour advice, fashioned to our particular requirements and backed...More

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank redsgothenburg
Reviewed 28 February 2018

I had two bike hire confirmations for an afternoon during a holiday to NZ. Unfortunately, on that day Nelson experienced some flood rain, and we weren't able to do the bike tour (it wasn't even safe to drive). We were informed by this company that...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Sean C
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

I'm sorry you feel this way. You were aware of our cancellation policy and you were eligible for a 90% refund if you had cancelled by 10am the day prior, which is common for activities in NZ. This means that you do need to watch...More

Reviewed 19 February 2018

I can not recommend Rose Griffin and her team too highly. Our two day " I love Nelson Trip" was outstanding-Dunpuffin Lodge food and hospitality is excellent . We were most impressed with the Top 10 Motor Camp in Motueka. Our bokes were first class...More

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank hughestravels2016
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi Wayne, It is great to hear your group enjoyed your trip on the Great Taste Trail. Dunpuffin is certainly a very special location to stay in, both for it's ambiance and for the welcome offered by the hosts. It was our absolute pleasure to...More

Reviewed 15 February 2018

Background: After completing a 5 day hiking trip in Abel Tasman (going lodge to lodge versus hut to hut), we advance booked a 3 day bike trip with Gentle Cycling, who gave us a route, bikes, ferry tickets and booked us lodging in Mapua (Mapua...More

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank GlobalVillage
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Hi Global Village, thanks for sharing your experience of cycling the Great Taste Trail Coastal Route to Mapua. It's great to hear you enjoyed your trip and your accommodation in the village. This route is great for a super-relaxed ride as the distances are very...More

Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

The owner took pains to explain the Tasting Route and gave uh photographic visuals to help us fi d the way. A solid hours ride to Wakefield. Lunch at Rhubarb Cafe then a more gentle ride back

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank sunny121UK
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thanks for your review of riding the off-road Great Taste Trail route to Wakefield (22km). It's great to hear you enjoyed your day. Best wishes, Rose

Reviewed 10 February 2018

just spent the day biking around nelson wineries with my 2 sisters, prompt pick up at our hotel. good instructions and maps provided, good quality bikes, we got an e bike for my older sister at the last minute, which was not a problem to...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank travelbunny75
StokeRosie, Owner at The Gentle Cycling Company, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review of your Great Taste Wine tour. Although the route is flat, the E Bike makes it easy for everyone to enjoy the day. The Cellar Door Cafe is a very popular destination and many...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 42 nearby hotels
Saxton Lodge
169 reviews
.89 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
177 reviews
1.22 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1,048 reviews
1.25 km away
Boutique Motel Nelson
117 reviews
1.30 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 215 nearby restaurants
The Monaco Kitchen
346 reviews
1.26 km away
Crusoes Cafe
117 reviews
.67 km away
McCashins Brewery Kitchen and Bar
96 reviews
.63 km away
Honest Lawyer
324 reviews
1.22 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 142 nearby attractions
Private Driver Hire
20 reviews
1.17 km away
Broadgreen Historic House
80 reviews
1.24 km away
McCashin's Brewery
71 reviews
.64 km away
Saxton Oval
17 reviews
.75 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Peter N
7 February 2015|
Answer
Response from StokeRosie | Property representative |
we are closed for day rides on Good Friday and Easter Sunday
0
Votes