We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hope Estate

Closed Now: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Share
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
61
All photos (61)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good16%
  • Average10%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible35%
Travelers talk about
“picnic rug”(4 reviews)
“wine tasting”(22 reviews)
“great wine”(5 reviews)
About
Hope Estate draws a bigger crowd than any other destination in the Hunter Valley. We've had the honour of hosting some of the biggest names in the world: Elton John, The Rolling Stones, The Eagles, Fleetwood Mac and Bruce Springsteen are just a few...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
2213 Broke Rd, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Website
+61 2 4993 3555
Call
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
107
60
39
37
123
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
107
60
39
37
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews picnic rug wine tasting great wine cellar door barrel kangaroos
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Can't believe the bad reviews on this place, they have definitely stepped up their game since the last gig there because FKA was literally the best festival set up I have ever seen. Basically no wait times for drinks / toilets and all the toilets/facilities...More

1  Thank Jephry
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Lunch on the grass was excellent, beers and wine whilst the kids played- perfect arvo! Will be back for sure!

Thank Shalea2313
Reviewed 20 July 2018

There are monthly markets in the carpark of the vineyard and this was our main purpose of the visit. While there we did go inside the shop to try some wines. It was dark and freezing cold on a June day. I thought it would...More

Thank dalton1skiing
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

How disappointing! We came up from Wollongong for a girls weekend away. Upon walking in at 10, they were not even set up properly. Not sure on the number of people attending but to only have 6 food vans was an absolute joke! People waiting...More

4  Thank mrscakechef
HopeEstatePR, Public Relations Manager at Hope Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thanks for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience at Saturday’s Hunter Valley Cheese & Chocolate Festival at Hope Estate. With the event in its first year, we recognise there were some logistical issues on the day...More

Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We attended the cheese and chocolate factory there was 16 of us in total. We got to the festival at 2pm and festival was advertised to finish at 5pm. Two of the couples that we were with bought tickets and I was next to be...More

9  Thank melginardi
HopeEstatePR, Public Relations Manager at Hope Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thanks for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience at Saturday’s Hunter Valley Cheese & Chocolate Festival at Hope Estate. With the event in its first year, we recognise there were some logistical issues on the day...More

Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

What an absolute disgrace of a festival. The owners of Hope Estate should be ashamed of themselves. It was a complete waste of money and we were all unfortunately taken for an unpleasant ride. We took our young family to the festival with the promise...More

9  Thank NatandTheClan
HopeEstatePR, Public Relations Manager at Hope Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thanks for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience at Saturday’s Hunter Valley Cheese & Chocolate Festival at Hope Estate. With the event in its first year, we recognise there were some logistical issues on the day...More

Reviewed 16 July 2018

We attended the Cheese and Chocolate festival last weekend and the whole thing was an absolute disgrace. Arrived at 12:30.. two and a half hours after the event started and they had already run out of most items. Paid $60 entry for absolutely nothing. 5...More

7  Thank sam p
HopeEstatePR, Public Relations Manager at Hope Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thanks for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience at Saturday’s Hunter Valley Cheese & Chocolate Festival at Hope Estate. With the event in its first year, we recognise there were some logistical issues on the day...More

Reviewed 16 July 2018

I can only concur with the negative reviews below. What a money making festival! It's sad that so many people left thoroughly disappointed and Hope Estate choose to ignore the feedback and delete the reviews on the FB event. Days later and I'm still disappointed....More

3  Thank Lisa B
HopeEstatePR, Public Relations Manager at Hope Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thanks for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience at Saturday’s Hunter Valley Cheese & Chocolate Festival at Hope Estate. With the event in its first year, we recognise there were some logistical issues on the day...More

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

After seeing that all of the 100’s of negative reviews on the event Facebook page had been taken down by Hope Estate I felt compelled to write this TripAdvisor review to save others from making the same mistake as us. I feel it is important...More

15  Thank Jessica A
HopeEstatePR, Public Relations Manager at Hope Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thanks for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience at Saturday’s Hunter Valley Cheese & Chocolate Festival at Hope Estate. With the event in its first year, we recognise there were some logistical issues on the day...More

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

EPIC fail! Only posting on here because Hope Estate are deleting all the negative feedback on FB. Left festival without even tasting any cheese or chocolate. Overcrowded and ridiculously long lines for so called 'tastings' or even purchases. Went to cheese shop on the way...More

10  Thank ticko1977
HopeEstatePR, Public Relations Manager at Hope Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thanks for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience at Saturday’s Hunter Valley Cheese & Chocolate Festival at Hope Estate. With the event in its first year, we recognise there were some logistical issues on the day...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 nearby hotels
Pokolbin Village
398 reviews
.67 km away
Tower Lodge
130 reviews
.96 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
995 reviews
1.21 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
274 reviews
1.63 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 81 nearby restaurants
Circa 1876 Restaurant
622 reviews
1.38 km away
Blaxland Inn
1,009 reviews
.65 km away
Il Cacciatore Restaurant
707 reviews
.61 km away
Sabor Dessert Bar
183 reviews
1.59 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 143 nearby attractions
Wine House Hunter Valley
203 reviews
1.31 km away
Petersons Wines Broke Road
92 reviews
1.59 km away
Pepper Tree Wines
148 reviews
1.46 km away
Hunter Valley Gardens
2,002 reviews
1.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jill J
8 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Edleg | Reviewed this property |
Hi Jill J I have no idea, I'm sorry. We were not in the General Admission area.
1
Vote
Mark D
26 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from NealeP6 | Reviewed this property |
It is actually an open air concert venue, so with the grounds available, and dependent on how they configure the venue, you would expect at least 5000.
0
Votes
Trena S
20 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Nicholas T | Reviewed this property |
It's an outdoor venue, and often there is some allocated seating up the front for certain ticket holders, while the rest of the visitors will set themselves up on the surrounding lawn. It's a very relaxed atmosphere.
1
Vote