Wine House Hunter Valley

Wine House Hunter Valley, Pokolbin: Hours, Address, Wine House Hunter Valley Reviews: 4.5/5

Wine House Hunter Valley
4.5
Wineries & Vineyards
Read more
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Write a review
About
We are a Cellar Door and Wine Lounge offering the largest selection of premium wines from a range of Hunter Valley winemakers. We offer a series of tailored wine experiences with culinary pairings for those wishing to focus on individual styles and varieties. The Wine House is designed to be welcoming, informative and relaxing. Whether it’s time with good friends, a quest to learn more about wine or a lazy afternoon out, we believe the experience is as important as the wine.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
291 reviews
Excellent
225
Very good
43
Average
10
Poor
3
Terrible
10

Frederic B
Killarney Heights, Australia6 contributions
Couples
Great tasting experience for the Hunter Unearthed. Our host was very knowledgeable, friendly and took time to make us discover wines on and outside the list. We also had an excellent cheese and cold cuts platter, probably one of the best I’ve ever had. Wines were of great value and variety as well so we bought some after the tasting. Highly recommended!!
Written 11 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

DianA J
45 contributions
Friends
Neil the kiwi was fab. A group of friends in our 40s and 50s and he actually taught us all
How to taste wine, not just drink. Had so much fun and the wines were lovely. Great experience
Written 16 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

John O
Central Coast, NSW, Australia17 contributions
Personal & knowledgeable service, fantastic wines and great atmosphere. Extra highlight is the ability to broaden your experience by tasting iconic and aged wines via special argon dispensing rack with 30, 75 or 150ml tastes at various prices.
Written 9 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Trudie R
Wollongong, Australia333 contributions
Couples
Dave was our server, very knowledgeable. But disappointed that there was only one Pinot Gris and as I don’t really like anything else I am pleased I didn’t pay for the tasting as we r members. He did cater to the boys who drink red. Still worth a stop in as you can try different wine makers in the one place.
Written 15 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Trudy, we're always happy to see members call in and take advantage of their complimentary tastings. We have more than a dozen different white varieties and we want to showcase as many of these as we can, so it would be odd for us to have more than one Pinot Gris available for tasting (and disappointing that we scored a poor review because of it) especially as the Hunter Valley is famous for Semillon and Chardonnay and Pinot Gris is quite rare. Hopefully next time we can tempt you to try some other varieties and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Hunter!
Written 18 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jo L
Manly, Australia1 contribution
Friends
7 of us had an amazing wine tasting experience yesterday with Neil!
It was probably the best and most unique wine tasting we've ever had!
The bottles were disguised in very colourful jackets! We were tasting wine blind, to let our senses try and pick up what wine we were tasting, what we thought it was, was often wrong! Ha ha
Neil is so knowledgeable and you can tell he is passionate about his job.
A fabulous afternoon had! And really enjoyed The Little Wine Co. wines! Jo & Brian
Written 30 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks so much for your glowing review. It's great to hear you got to enjoy a bespoke tasting by Neil ! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Hunter Valley
Written 4 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

29plymouth
505 contributions
Made a booking in November for $20 a head which included white wine tasting and some nibbles. When we arrived we were informed that our booking included 4 white wine samples but no food. The wines we sampled were lovely, diverse and we bought 4 bottles. A little disappointed with the confusion re: our booking as I had booked this experience as a birthday treat for myself.
Written 7 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for your feedback and glad to hear you enjoyed the wines. As to the confusion, when you booked you paid for two white wine flights (which cost $20 each) and at the time of booking there is the option to order a Tasting Plate to accompany the flight ($30 each) or you are welcome to order a Tasting plate when you arrive.
Written 8 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Trudi
2 contributions
Couples
Neil was amazing. We learnt so much and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We have been to many different vineyards and this was by far our favourite experience!
Thank you so very much!
Written 28 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for taking the time to review us and great to heat that you were able to experience a personalised tasting from Neil. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Written 29 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Italo Rafael S
2 contributions
Couples
Just had a 5 star experience with Neil from the Wine House. After being to numerous cellar doors, we hit the jackpot with Neil. Neil took the time to teach us how to taste wines properly, his patience and knowledge was superb! Unlike the other places we had visited, Neil took his time, explained and took a genuine interest in our likes/dislikes in order to help us find our favourite flavours. Ask for Neil when you get to the winehouse, or better still, make a booking! We were originally looking for The Little Wine Company (as listed on google), but it turns out TLWC is just one of the (many great) wine makers available at The Wine House - It was a little confusing to find at first. All in all, we were educated, entertained and very well looked after at The Wine House! An extra special mention goes out to Neil, thankyou for making our weekend! Just a thought: Neil should be running complimentary 'How to' wine tasting lessons every week/weekend. Make a Facebook event and let other happy holiday makers enjoy the amazing service (and wives) we were so lucky to experience!
Written 18 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks so much for visiting us and taking the time to write such a great review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Written 29 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anoushka
7 contributions
Couples
We thought the service was amazing and really appreciated how generous our host was, allowing us to try more than 8 wines, just because there were so many good ones to try!

We also liked the vision of Wine House, which was set up to house great and local wines in order to help out other wineries and give visitors a true Hunter Valley experience.
Written 20 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
You certainly 'get' what we're about! Thank you so much for visiting and supporting our local, family owned wineries. See you on your next visit!
Written 4 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jessie W
2 contributions
Friends
Neil gave us such an amazing experience.
A lot of fun, good conversations and the best wine I've ever had!
Will definitely return and see Neil next time we are up. Absolute legend!
Written 11 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Jessie, thanks for taking the time to write a review, it's always great to hear how much our guests have enjoyed the wonderful tasting experience. See you again soon!
Written 11 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 288
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wine House Hunter Valley

Wine House Hunter Valley is open:
  • Sun - Sat 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM