We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shaw & Smith

Closed Now: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
86
All photos (86)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good24%
  • Average9%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“wine tasting”(41 reviews)
“wine flight”(11 reviews)
About
The Shaw + Smith Tasting Room is located at the winery and offers Wine Flights: a tasting of five wines, accompanied by a matched cheese plate. Wine Flights are designed for one person, at a cost of $15 each ($20 with cheese). By spending $80 at the...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
136 Jones Rd, Balhannah, South Australia 5242, Australia
Website
+61 8 8398 0500
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
81
37
15
16
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
81
37
15
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting wine flight tasting experience tasting room sav blanc adelaide hills cellar door cheese platter per head sit down beautiful setting take your time different wines arrived late in the day tasting fee wine club great taste
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The's a flutter of welcoming when you arrive and the staff seem keen to herd you into the tasting room - more like a school classroom which in a way I guess it is. We selected the Limited Release Flight which while expensive seemed to...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank DavidDean78
tarajsullivan, Wine Club Manager at Shaw & Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi David, thanks for your feedback, and I am very sorry to hear of your experience. Some guests prefer to enjoy the wines at their own pace, and having spoken with the team, it sounds like you were largely left to your own tasting. On...More

Reviewed 16 January 2019

This winery was not the cheapest but the staff member who served us was great. Went through the types of food to have with each wine, how differing temperature can change the way wine tastes and overall taught the 4 of us how to appreciate...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Andrew H
tarajsullivan, Wine Club Manager at Shaw & Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for visiting, and for your review Andrew!

Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

Beautiful place and nice environment. Service was great and so the wines. We had the wine tasting which local platter, which would be just an entree for the next stop. Definitely I would recommend it!!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Talita C
tarajsullivan, Wine Club Manager at Shaw & Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Talita

Reviewed 26 November 2018

Shaw and Smith is a great location and has a beautiful building. When we arrived, we were explained the tasting menu and the time needed. Due to a flight out of Adelaide we opted to have a glass of wine and a cheese plate. At...More

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank mrandmrsbeas
tarajsullivan, Wine Club Manager at Shaw & Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, sorry to hear your comments. With the Tasting Room being set up for the more structured wine flights, it sounds like you were seated in our lounge, where we feel it is more relaxing to sit with a glass of wine and have the...More

Reviewed 20 November 2018 via mobile

I visited 5 wineries in Adelaide Hills and the only reason I visited here was it is my favourite sav blanc. Tasting was $15pp without food which I thought was very high as most wineries don’t charge you anything or the odd one may charge...More

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank KDisco
tarajsullivan, Wine Club Manager at Shaw & Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, great to hear that you enjoy our Sauvignon Blanc! We do charge a tasting fee, as we have generous pours with our Wine Flights which equates to 2 glasses of wine per tasting. And if you were to spend $80 on wines to take...More

Reviewed 7 November 2018

The property is easy to navigate too, parking is good, and the wine cellar is presented well (both externally and internally). I suggest to have a wine flight (in the pic), and taste 5 different wines. The staff are friendly and give you enough space...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Smart_Traveller_Aust
tarajsullivan, Wine Club Manager at Shaw & Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the comments Liam, great to hear that you enjoyed the wines and the experience. Regards, Tara

Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Some great wines. Service can’t be rated because it was non-existent!! Absolutely terrible paying $15 for a taste with no one to talk you through it!More

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank lyndonn2018
tarajsullivan, Wine Club Manager at Shaw & Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Lyndon, while it's great to hear that you enjoy the wines, it sounds like we didn't give you the level of service that want all of our guests to receive. I would like to chat with you more about this, if you can please...More

Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

Being fans of their best selling Sav Blanc, our group of 6 decided on a visit to Shaw and Smith. Initially put of by the $15 minimum charge for tasting, we decided that we weren’t going to waste the trip. Sitting around a large table,...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Stephen E
tarajsullivan, Wine Club Manager at Shaw & Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Stephen, thanks for the review - it's great to hear that you decided to stay on, and found it to be worthwhile. Glad that you enjoyed the experience. Regards, Tara

Reviewed 17 October 2018

Whilst we were told there was a charge to do thew wine tasting, we were not disappointed. 5 Tastings and Cheese to match for $20 was well worth every cent. Whilst we were familiar with the Shaw & Smith wines we learned a lot more...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank LMO65
tarajsullivan, Wine Club Manager at Shaw & Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the review! The cheeses are a delicious match to the wines, and glad you enjoyed the experience. Regards, Tara

Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

My low grading of this winery is for the cost of wine tasting. We were travelling in a group of 8 and we had told them of the quality of a Shaw and Smith wine. Upon arrival we were told we had to pay $15...More

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank 721kathyw
Tara S, Wine Club Manager at Shaw & Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Hi Kathy, we do things a little differently in our Tasting Room, with a seated wine flight tasting, and our $15 wine flight equates to around 2 glasses of wine, which is a more generous pour than a 'standard' taste. If you spend over $80...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Stables Boutique Motel
70 reviews
2.88 km away
Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park
147 reviews
2.95 km away
Hahndorf Motel
105 reviews
2.98 km away
Hahndorf Motor Lodge
154 reviews
3.14 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 5 nearby restaurants
The Lane Vineyard
537 reviews
1.42 km away
The Olive Branch
21 reviews
1.61 km away
Lobethal Bakery
10 reviews
1.26 km away
Balhannah Chinese Restaurant
9 reviews
1.24 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 3 nearby attractions
The Cedars
234 reviews
1.83 km away
Nepenthe Wines
80 reviews
.64 km away
Hahndorf Hill Winery
227 reviews
2.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Shaw & Smith staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines