We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whitehaven Cellar Door

193 Rapaura Road | Rapaura, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
+64 3-577 5177
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
First Down Under

This is a quaint little place to sample some wine($) or purchase some. There are a few different... read more

Reviewed 28 April 2018
Julia K
,
winnipeg, Canada
Disappointed

We were disappointed with this $5 wine tasting. There were four small tastes of the standard... read more

Reviewed 22 March 2018
32brucebeach
,
Kincardine, Canada
via mobile
Read all 11 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Established in 1994 Whitehaven Wine Company is one of Marlborough's earliest wine companies, and the realisation of Greg and Sue White to create an award-winning Marlborough winery. All of our wines are made from 100% Marlborough grapes in the classic Marlborough style. Because we source fruit from all three of Marlborough's sub-regions our wines have the advantage of showing true diversity of flavours. the Cellar Door is open 7 days a week, summer and winter hours do apply. Check our website for current opening hours. After your tasting enjoy a coffee or lunch in the Vines Village Cafe and outdoor dining area.
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“taste wines” (2 reviews)
“cellar door” (4 reviews)
“wine tasting” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Suggested Duration: < 1 hour
LOCATION
193 Rapaura Road | Rapaura, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-577 5177
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Blenheim
from US$87.60
More Info
from US$70.70
More Info
from US$80.90
More Info
from US$171.80
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"taste wines"
in 2 reviews
"cellar door"
in 4 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 4 reviews
"karen"
in 2 reviews
"sample"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2018

This is a quaint little place to sample some wine($) or purchase some. There are a few different shops for souvenirs and a cafe for a hot or cold drink and eats. Also a quilting and wool shop.

Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitehavenCellarDoor, Public Relations Manager at Whitehaven Cellar Door, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thanks Julia for your review. We hope you enjoyed yourself. Regards, Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We were disappointed with this $5 wine tasting. There were four small tastes of the standard wines... no reserves or special tastes offered. Don’t waste your money or time.More

Thank 32brucebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitehavenCellarDoor, Manager at Whitehaven Cellar Door, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback and we are genuinely sorry that you were disappointed with your experience. We pride ourselves on providing visitors to our Cellar Door with a warm, welcoming and informative experience. While we don’t offer a reserve wine on our advertised tasting,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Wow - thoroughly enjoyed the wine tasting here - delicious wine at decent prices and really lovely service - highlight of our day.

Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitehavenCellarDoor, Marketing Manager at Whitehaven Cellar Door, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thanks so much for your lovely review, we hope you will be back! It's great to know that you enjoyed the wines and that our prices were received well too. Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

After visiting cloudy bay and Hans herzog wineries where you are slug with hefty prices to taste 4 wines, Karen was very down to earth and knowledgeable. All the whites and the Pinot noir tasted great. We had a great time, tried lots of wines,...More

1  Thank DebB123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 10 July 2017

Hi Deb, Thanks so much for your review, we are thrilled to hear that you had such a great time in our Cellar Door. We hope to see you again. Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

This is much more than just a cellar door. There's also a number of shops and a café with a nice garden and a playground. We tasted the nice wine and bought a few bottles before we had a fantastic lunch. We shared the delicious...More

1  Thank DrG_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 10 July 2017

Hi, Thanks for your review and we are pleased to hear that you and your family had such a nice visit to the Vines Village and the Whitehaven Cellar Door. We hope you continued to enjoy the rest of your stay in Marlborough. We look...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We randomly stopped at Whitehaven Cellar Door, and enjoyed a wine tasting and a nice lunch. We ended up buying quite a few bottles, so needless to say - the tasting was very good. Good service, and nice to learn more about wines in the...More

Thank Kajsa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2016

A tasting room, without a view, but thats OK, we were here to sample the wine. Very pleasant hostess, who pointed out they were about to get busy with a tour bus - we had finished before they arrived, but very thoughtful. Nice wines. Very...More

Thank 007Winelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Fabulous wines; a wonderful experience. Great service from Karen with a warm welcome and friendly smile. Lock us in for the wine club!

Thank jackaboy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

After lunch next door, my wife and I did the wine tasting here. The nice lady running the tastings was friendly and knowledgeable. Definitely worth a visit :)

Thank Jacob15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Very nice lady at the cellar door, full of information and answers to our questions. It was 4 dollars to taste 4 wines which was reasonable. Definitely a good spot to stop along the Marlborough wine trail

Thank EJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 32 hotels in Blenheim
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
467 reviews
.17 km away
Lake Timara Lodge
23 reviews
4.72 km away
The Marlborough Lodge
109 reviews
5.88 km away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
259 reviews
6.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Vines Village Cafe
75 reviews
.04 km away
Renwick Roadhouse
39 reviews
2.99 km away
Cork & Keg
28 reviews
3.06 km away
Arbour
276 reviews
3.60 km away
Nearby Attractions
Huia
7 reviews
.92 km away
No1 Family Estate
24 reviews
.30 km away
Eradus Wines Cellar Door
8 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Whitehaven Cellar Door staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit