We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Book In Advance
Tours from InterCity tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
31
All photos (31)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible19%
Travelers talk about
“franz josef”(7 reviews)
“bus company”(4 reviews)
“south island”(7 reviews)
About
InterCity offers quality point to point bus transport on modern buses at economic fares nationwide. Together the combined networks of InterCity and GreatSights New Zealand premium coach services connect to more than 600 destinations nationwide, with...more
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Auckland Central, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Website
+64 9-583 5780
Call
Ways to Experience InterCity
from US$174.80
More Info
from US$219.00
More Info
from US$158.10
More Info
from US$42.90
More Info
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
41
27
9
11
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
41
27
9
11
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfranz josefbus companysouth islandlong journeysgold seatsalways on timemount cookrunning commentarynew zealandhobbiton tourgreat driverinteresting thingsmilford soundwaitomo cavesgreat sightsday tourqueenstown
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I rode InterCity busses throughout both the North and South Island and I can't recommend them enough. Having paid for just a normal ticket, I felt as though I was on a scenic tour route. The busses were comfortable, equipped with acceptable WiFi, and we...More

Thank Kortney L
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora Kortney, It's great that you had such a comfortable and enjoyable ride - thanks for your kind feedback! All the best for your future travels, Amanda and the team at InterCity

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked our tour of Hobbiton from Auckland through Intercity and were dubious whether we would get there and back without any problems. Everything went like clockwork. The buses all ran to schedule, the drivers had our names and our Hobbiton tickets were waiting for...More

Thank Catrob60
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora Catrob60 It's great to hear your travel went as planned and you enjoyed your tour. All the best for your future travels, Amanda and the team at InterCity

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We did hobbiton/glowworm from Auckland with driver Damian. He made the trip absolutely excellent! Everything ran according to plan and we had the most wonderful time! He even managed to add on lunch at hobbiton for us as we forgot to add on ourselves, and...More

Thank BAC12SH
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora BAC12SH, It's great to hear you enjoyed Hobbiton and Waitomo Caves, and were so happy with our driver Damian's commentary! All the best for your future travels, Amanda and the team at InterCity

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The tour was well organized and did everything in a timely manner. The tour guide/driver was knowledgeable. Instead of talking about the sights he really explained to us the culture and history of NZ, which I found very interesting! Hobbiton and Waitomo were awesome destinations!...More

Thank Choco A
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora Choco A, Thank you for your great feedback, we're really glad you enjoyed Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton! All the best for your future travel, Amanda and the team at InterCity

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

2 days ago we travelled from Christchurch to Hanmer Springs, the bus came on time, also had a few minutes toilet break and stopped at a weekend market. The following day we were picked up at the exact time as well but we arrived a...More

Thank CrystalA1032
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora Crystal, It's great to hear you were pleased with your service and that you enjoyed the driving through Lindis Pass. All the best for your future travels, Amanda and the team at InterCity

Reviewed 7 August 2018

I went from Hamilton to Auckland recently on the Intercity Bus. I was very pleasantly surprised at the speed and efficiency with which I was delivered to the Auckland Sky City Terminus. This was super convenient for my plan of spending the day in Auckland...More

Thank milliesmum2016
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora milliesmum2016, We're so pleased you enjoyed your journey and your experience with your driver. All the best for your future travels, Amanda and the team at InterCity

Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

I did 4 trips with InterCity buses, in the Otago region. Of those 4, only one driver was nice... all the others were deplorably rude. And punctuality is not a thing for them either: had a 1 and a half hour delay once that almost...More

Thank leothekiwi
GreatSightsNZ, Marketing at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora leothekiwi, We're really sorry to hear you were disappointed by your experience with us. We pride ourselves on the service our drivers provide and in offering value for money. If you'd like to follow up further on your experience, please contact us using...More

Reviewed 14 July 2018

We are very disappointment with Intercity as my elderly mother was left stranded at intercity , Hamilton due to a change in the scheduled departure time. Despite getting there 35 minutes before the scheduled time she thought it was strange as the bus had not...More

1  Thank Realm10
InterCityNZ, Marketing Manager at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Kia ora Realm10, I'm sorry that your mother missed her bus. Road closures on this route caused by severe weather conditions meant we had to change the timetable to allow all passengers to reach their destination and we notified passengers as soon as possible. Notifications...More

Reviewed 11 July 2018

We took the InterCity Coach from Lake Tekapo to Queenstown. We arrived at the bus 20mins before departure and approached the driver to load our luggage onto the coach. The driver (Leigh Pink) was rude and abrasive in rejecting our request. 20mins later we tried...More

1  Thank Lachie_and_Steph
InterCityNZ, Marketing Manager at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Kia ora Lachie and Steph, I'm really sorry to hear about the experiences you had with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly, helpful drivers and it sounds like we fell well short of these standards in your case. I have filed a complaint on...More

Reviewed 29 June 2018

My 2pm departure from Welly was running late...but to be expected given ALL the road work in NZ. We must have driven past every orange cone available in New Zealand. Kudos to our driver Tony for driving this obstacle course from Welly to Hawke's Bay...More

1  Thank HaljoHal
InterCityNZ, Marketing Manager at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Kia ora Haljohal, thanks for your feedback and I'm glad you had a relaxing trip despite all the delays! I'll make sure your comments are passed on.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 69 hotels in Auckland Central
SKYCITY Hotel
2,182 reviews
.04 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
2,775 reviews
.09 km away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
1,983 reviews
.17 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
387 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,450 restaurants in Auckland Central
Depot Eatery & Oyster Bar
2,427 reviews
.08 km away
Masu
840 reviews
.11 km away
The Sugar Club Auckland
826 reviews
.08 km away
Federal Delicatessen
1,261 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 678 attractions in Auckland Central
Sky Tower
9,613 reviews
.09 km away
St. Patrick's Cathedral
247 reviews
.31 km away
Brothers Beer
90 reviews
.27 km away
Sky City Casino
542 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
debkits
22 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from GreatSightsNZ | Property representative |
Kia ora debkits, we don't have toilets onboard (except for our overnight buses), however, we stop regularly for bathroom breaks and our driver will let you know how much time you have each stop. We allow cold food onboard... More
0
Votes
pbs1986
10 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from GreatSightsNZ | Property representative |
Kia ora, Yes, there are lockers at the Sky City Travel Centre. The small ones are $2 to open and $4.00 to reopen. Medium lockers are $3 to open and $5 to reopen. Large lockers are $4 to open and $6 to reopen. Kind regards... More
1
Vote
Ash L
8 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GreatSightsNZ | Property representative |
Kia ora Ash, Our seats can sell out in the busy months so we recommend booking your ticket early. Kind regards InterCity NZ
1
Vote