We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterCity

Auckland Central, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
+64 9-583 5780
Website
Share
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from InterCity tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
More Info
US$184.67*
and up
Auckland to Rotorua via Waitomo Glowworm Caves One-Way Tour
More Info
US$45.28*
and up
Auckland City Highlights Tour
More Info
US$210.14*
and up
Cape Brett Hole in the Rock Cruise from Auckland
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
InterCity offers quality point to point bus transport on modern buses at economic fares nationwide. Together the combined networks of InterCity and GreatSights New Zealand premium coach services connect to more than 600 destinations nationwide, with over 130 services every day..
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible20%
Travelers talk about
“franz josef” (8 reviews)
“bus company” (4 reviews)
“south island” (8 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Auckland Central, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 9-583 5780
Ways to Experience InterCity
from US$184.70
More Info
from US$45.30
More Info
from US$210.10
More Info
from US$181.10
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"franz josef"
in 8 reviews
"bus company"
in 4 reviews
"south island"
in 8 reviews
"long journeys"
in 3 reviews
"always on time"
in 5 reviews
"gold seats"
in 2 reviews
"complimentary wi fi"
in 2 reviews
"fellow passengers"
in 2 reviews
"mount cook"
in 3 reviews
"running commentary"
in 3 reviews
"new zealand"
in 18 reviews
"interesting things"
in 2 reviews
"waitomo caves"
in 4 reviews
"hobbiton tour"
in 3 reviews
"milford sound"
in 2 reviews
"great sights"
in 2 reviews
"day tour"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 102 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

I took an InterCity bus from Picton to Christchurch on 15 June 2018. The booking and the change in the booking were easily done. The bus was on time. The driver was very professional and very helpful. It was one of the best bus rides...More

Thank khuzaimi2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCityNZ, Marketing Coordinator at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded today

Kia ora khuzaimi, That's so great to hear! I'm glad you've enjoyed travelling with us. We have the flexibilty to change bookings up to 2 hours before departure, so it's awesome you were able to do that! Thank you for sharing. All the best for...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took the bus from the country to the city to see Body Vital at the Auckland Hilton. Same day return. The morning bus was 15 min late but I got a call so all OK. The driver was lovely, chatted, informed us of future changes...More

Thank w00fies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCityNZ, Marketing Coordinator at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora w00fies, Thanks for sharing your feedback. I'm sorry that your return trip wasn't as good as your morning trip with us, our drivers are usually very friendly and accommodating people. I'll pass your feedback on to our operations team. All the best for...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2018

On our recent tour of New Zealand we decided to use the intercity bus for our journey from Queenstown to Dunedin. We booked the trip online from the UK nearly 3 months in advance and booked 2 gold seats which in total cost NZ$60 for...More

Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCityNZ, Marketing Coordinator at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Kia ora Peter, Thank you for sharing your tips. The further out you book the cheaper the seats are, it pays to be organised! I hope you enjoyed your trip with us and I'm really sorry our driver wasn't very helpful with directions. All the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We took the Intercity bus from Taupo to Wellington. Everything went well. Passed by several towns where passengers either got off or got on the bus. A lot of scenery was seen in this half day journey. We reached Wellington safe and sound.

Thank GreenThumb331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCityNZ, Marketing Coordinator at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Kia ora GreenThumb, Glad to hear your trip went well! Isn't the lower North Island beatiful! Thanks for sharing. All the best for your future travels, Esther and the team at InterCity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Took the bus from Wanaka to Queenstown. The bus was jammed with passengers, all full. Luckily the air-con was functioning. It cost $29, a little bit more expensive than normal price as this was kind of a tour bus, so the driver would give you...More

Thank D8490IValicec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCityNZ, Marketing Coordinator at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Kia ora D8490Valicec, I'm sorry to hear about this issue, so that we can look into it further would you mind emailing us with your booking reference? You can reach us at info@intercity.co.nz and please also include the above information. I hope you enjoyed seeing...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 May 2018

If you don't have your own car then you have to depend upon this company for intercity travels. I did quite a few routes with this company and it was good service. Though the tickets can get expensive if you book near to the date...More

1  Thank Satyabrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCityNZ, Marketing Coordinator at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Kia ora Satyabrata, Thank you for sharing your feedback and your tips for other InterCity users. Our Rewards programme is great for regular travellers and you can also track your bus on the day of travel! I'm glad you enjoyed seeing New Zealand with us....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Avoid intercity. This company is a scam. I booked a $1 trip 3 months in advanced and just days before the trip they called saying the bus had been cancelled. They wouldn't reaccommodate me another seat for the same bus next day unless I pay...More

Thank Yukio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCityNZ, Marketing Coordinator at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Kia ora Yukio, As stated in our terms and conditions, that you agreed to at the time of making your booking, a booking fee of $3.99 applies to all online reservations and is non-refundable. Charging a booking fee is standard practice in the travel industry....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Travelled from Christchurch to Dunedin with Intercity. $45 for a 5 hour journey is a little too much. The bus however was well maintained and the driver was friendly. There was free Wi-Fi throughout the journey. It would have helped if there were power outlets...More

Thank Sanjal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCityNZ, Marketing Coordinator at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Kia ora Sanjal, Thanks for your feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed our service! All the best for your future travels, Esther and the team at InterCity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Strictly, this is not a sight or activity but a mode of travelling in NZ. If you do not drive or prefer not to drive, the Intercity bus is a great way to go. We bought the pass (based on expected travel hours) and travelled...More

1  Thank hyitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCityNZ, Marketing Coordinator at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Kia ora hyitis, Thanks for your review, it's great to hear you enjoyed seeing New Zealand with us! All the best for your future travels, Esther and the team at InterCity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I have just spent 6 wks exploring North and South of NZ with intercity. I have found the service Good, with some delays (I was careful to plan with time for some delays). Coaches mostly comfortable, good rest breaks. WiFi temperamental.

Thank supersunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterCityNZ, Marketing Coordinator at InterCity, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Kia ora supersunshine, Thanks for sharing! I'm glad you enjoyed using InterCity to see New Zealand! All the best for your future travels, Esther and the team at InterCity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 67 hotels in Auckland Central
SKYCITY Hotel
2,149 reviews
.04 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
2,728 reviews
.09 km away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
1,938 reviews
.16 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
377 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Depot Eatery & Oyster Bar
2,361 reviews
.08 km away
The Sugar Club Auckland
808 reviews
.08 km away
Masu
818 reviews
.11 km away
Federal Delicatessen
1,217 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sky Tower
9,385 reviews
.09 km away
Sky City Casino
527 reviews
.06 km away
St Matthew-in-the-City Church
42 reviews
.14 km away
Auckland i-SITE Visitor Information Centre - SKYCITY
28 reviews
.13 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
debkits
22 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from InterCityNZ | Property representative |
Kia ora debkits, we don't have toilets onboard (except for our overnight buses), however, we stop regularly for bathroom breaks and our driver will let you know how much time you have each stop. We allow cold food onboard... More
0
Votes
pbs1986
10 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from InterCityNZ | Property representative |
Kia ora, Yes, there are lockers at the Sky City Travel Centre. The small ones are $2 to open and $4.00 to reopen. Medium lockers are $3 to open and $5 to reopen. Large lockers are $4 to open and $6 to reopen. Kind regards... More
1
Vote
Ash L
8 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from InterCityNZ | Property representative |
Kia ora Ash, Our seats can sell out in the busy months so we recommend booking your ticket early. Kind regards InterCity NZ
1
Vote
;