We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great afternoon

Lovely ferry ride down the river to MONA. We opted for the package which included canapes and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Sydney, Australia
Great cruise to get to a must see attraction.

Starting your mona experience on this ferry will add to your trip. Parking at the museum can be... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kununurra, Australia
Read all 642 reviews
All photos (200)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good25%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“sparkling wine”(19 reviews)
“art museum”(7 reviews)
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Franklin Warf | Mona Ferry Terminal, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
+61 3 6277 9978
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Hobart
from US$22.70
More Info
from US$99.70
More Info
from US$524.90
More Info
from US$169.90
More Info
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssparkling wineart museumcomfortable ridesmooth ridegreat tripderwent riverenjoyable tripreturn journeypitsheepposhcanapesticketscatamarancommentarycamouflagedwharf
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 636 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

A short trip to MONA but add significantly to the cost of the museum ticket. Treat this warily if you are between 2- 4 people. Limited seating inside on a cold day.

Thank wwwt56
Reviewed 3 days ago

Lovely ferry ride down the river to MONA. We opted for the package which included canapes and drinks. Very enjoyable way to cruise to the museum. The museum itself is great for a couple of hours and then enjoyed sitting in the sunshine with a...More

Thank Pam1997
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Your two glasses of wine won't make you feel like you've had value for money. The food won't come close to filing you either. Perhaps it's changed recently. I've been a bit disappointed by MONA today!

Thank Jack B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Starting your mona experience on this ferry will add to your trip. Parking at the museum can be difficult on some days and this eliminates the stress. The catering and service onboard is fantastic and you will arrive ready to absorb the amazing art.

Thank F3ralwombat
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to travel to Mona, Captain gave a few pointers of what we passed on our way to Mona. $25 for return, take the 5pm ferry if you wanna see everything.

Thank Ben W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fabulous service by Jasmin. Beautiful food both canapes and little desserts. Bubbles topped it off. Excellent boat trip to and from Mona Gallery.

Thank Lilylou1
Reviewed 1 week ago

We paid for posh but it was less than average. On both trips the food was extremely disappointing. No longer worth the extra money. Don't bother buying expensive ticket. It's a short journey and you can eat and drink as soon as you arrive at...More

Thank Jennifer G
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Served as a unique method of travelling to a cultural establishment but also as a mini sightseeing tour of a small section of the Derwent and surrounding landscape. Super smooth travel, love how it’s camouflaged, as if we need to be wary of some lurking...More

Thank doricoz
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My favourite MONA ferry trip so far was returning from the Zero exhibition opening, probably because we were all quite merry and chatty enough for meeting new people to turn into an impromptu karaoke session. I have also traveled in the Posh Pit which is...More

Thank FenellaFeline
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

while waiting to go to mona stop off her and have lunch and a drink . Great food and coffee and service while you watch the boats on the harbour

Thank gina b
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
9 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Garry C | Reviewed this property |
Hi Lauren, sorry for the delay... yes it's possible. Just advise the ferry people and they arrange to transfer you at another jetty that provides access without steps (I think they even transfer you up top in a... More
Leonie M
1 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from Baci09 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, absolutely! I went to MONA a few years ago and you were warned about the steps if you had mobility limitations. On my recent trip I was really impressed. The way they deal with it now, is you take the new 300 capacity... More
4 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 16 answers
Response from Pierette1 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I only discovered I had messages so you've probably already visited. It's a river trip so not usually rough. I can also get seasick but the ferry is very, very stable. Give it a go.Good luck and enjoy.