We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brisbane Jazz Club

1 Annie St, Kangaroo Point | Corner Annie & Holman Streets, Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
+61 7 3391 2006
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
What a treat!

I am no jazz afficianado but my partner convinced me to give this place a whirl. I was gobsmacked... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Barbara L
,
Queensland, Australia
via mobile
cool and warm

What a cool place to spend an evening - great music, warm and welcoming atmosphere, hearty and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
mickangi2
,
Brisbane, Australia
Read all 84 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Just upstream from the Story Bridge, the Brisbane Jazz Club sits on the river with wonderful views across to the city. Brisbane's best kept secret, the club operates every Thursday to Sunday night and a brunch on the last Sunday of every month. If you feel like having dinner, the Story Bridge Hotel chefs will cook your meal and serve it to you at your table or if you prefer, you can have a drink or a meal on our wonderful deck overlooking the water. There is also a free ferry next to the club which operates every 15 minutes between the Jazz Club and Eagle Street in the city. Brisbane Jazz Club turned 45 years old in 2017 which is testament to the success of this 'not for profit' organisation.
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good25%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 6:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
1 Annie St, Kangaroo Point | Corner Annie & Holman Streets, Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 7 3391 2006
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Brisbane
from US$82.60
More Info
from US$1,107.50
More Info
from US$1,107.50
More Info
from US$119.40
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"story bridge hotel"
in 12 reviews
"ferry stop"
in 8 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 6 reviews
"true jazz"
in 3 reviews
"spend an evening"
in 3 reviews
"warm night"
in 2 reviews
"brisbane river"
in 20 reviews
"kangaroo point"
in 6 reviews
"eagle st pier"
in 4 reviews
"enjoyable night"
in 2 reviews
"the free city hopper ferry"
in 3 reviews
"high rise"
in 2 reviews
"great spot"
in 2 reviews
"visiting brisbane"
in 2 reviews
"hoffman"
in 8 reviews
"venue"
in 27 reviews
"bjc"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am no jazz afficianado but my partner convinced me to give this place a whirl. I was gobsmacked! This place is the bomb! It's cheap, full of atmosphere, superb position right on the River at the Holman Street ferry stop (free to get to...More

Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten W, Front Office Manager at Brisbane Jazz Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Barbara for your review. Often referred to as Brisbane's best kept secret, we too think it is pretty special. Hope to see you again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a cool place to spend an evening - great music, warm and welcoming atmosphere, hearty and delicious menu. Range of music talents from funk to big band, perfect for families and a comfortable place for anyone visiting Brisbane.

Thank mickangi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten W, Front Office Manager at Brisbane Jazz Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad you liked it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great Jazz, with food and wine made a great night. It’s in a great location near a ferry stop, we would love to come back in summer I’m sure it will be awesome. Highly recommend was one of the best nights we have had, was...More

Thank dazbeexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten W, Front Office Manager at Brisbane Jazz Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

46 years old now, we must be doing something right!! We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves, come back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We come back often to listen to some good music. We love this place, it always has s great vibe, good bands and a lovely crew of volunteers:)

Thank mAYUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten W, Front Office Manager at Brisbane Jazz Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad to hear you're frequent visitors to this wonderful venue. Introduce yourselves when you next come in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2018

The Brisbane Jazz Club has a great vibe in a wonderful location (on the water, right by the ferry stop), offers great food, has friendly service, and is run by passionate volunteers. The night I was there, they had a jam session with mostly students...More

Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten W, Front Office Manager at Brisbane Jazz Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Heidi for your lovely review. Hope you can make it back here one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Wow! We've just listened to some fantastic live jazz and had a lovely dinner. This place has a great atmosphere; staffed almost exclusively by volunteers and looks out onto Brisbane river with a beautiful deck. Highly recommend for a night out on the river in...More

4  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten W, FOH at Brisbane Jazz Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you so much Lisa for your nice comments. We appreciated it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We visited this jazz club on a Saturday night saw a band called 'Diamond in the sky'. The club is a non-profit making organization run by a team of jazz passionated staff and provided a good venue for jazz bands to perform there. The location...More

Thank rhwlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten W, Front Office Manager at Brisbane Jazz Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So pleased you enjoyed this special place. Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Located right below the story bridge, I was attracted by the music when I took the free ferry across from the eagle street pier. Live jazz music runs every Thursday to Friday. I went on a Friday night and went in late at around 9pm...More

Thank athinnerum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten W, Front Office Manager at Brisbane Jazz Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for this review. We are very proud of this amazing little place which has been running as a jazz club for 46 years now and loved by many. Hope you can come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2017

House-sitting here in Brisbane we acted upon a suggestion from our hosts to visit the Brisbane Jazz Club. We opted for the Sunday brunch event - and it didn't disappoint. The music was excellent, the food very good, and the whole experience was a delight....More

Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten W, Front Office Manager at Brisbane Jazz Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I hope you can visit us again some time Roy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Great spot. Food good, volunteers friendly. Thought that cover charge of $35.00 per head a little high, when you have to pay full fair for food and drinks. Sitting outside get a better sound to the music and then the great view over to Eagle...More

Thank Topbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten W, Front Office Manager at Brisbane Jazz Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're glad you enjoyed it. We try to keep our door prices as low as possible with special rates for members and concessions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 171 hotels in Brisbane
Oaks Aurora
915 reviews
.35 km away
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
1,805 reviews
.38 km away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
4,066 reviews
.44 km away
Il Mondo Boutique Hotel
238 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby Restaurants
La Vue Waterfront Restaurant
355 reviews
.26 km away
Blackbird Bar and Grill
696 reviews
.31 km away
Customs House Restaurant
550 reviews
.29 km away
Madame Wu
710 reviews
.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
City Hopper
1,420 reviews
.11 km away
Catholic Old St. Stephen's Church (chapel)
302 reviews
.63 km away
St. John's Anglican Cathedral
172 reviews
.53 km away
Customs House
73 reviews
.30 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Andrew M
24 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Lisa R | Reviewed this property |
Hi no I don't think so
0
Votes
Ltraveller2014
14 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Spincs | Reviewed this property |
Yes
1
Vote
peterH2757GG
5 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Valandwayne | Reviewed this property |
Inside is better, you will have better sound with good visuals of the artist. The deck is good in Summer.
1
Vote
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor