We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MV Southern Cross Cruises

Lotus Bay, Mariner Place, Yarralumla, Canberra, Australia
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Check before turning up

This should be a great way to see Canberra but twice now I have planned to take a visitor on a... read more

Reviewed May 4, 2018
Birdie56
,
Canberra, Australia
Morning Tea Cruise

If your a visitor to Canberra or want to know some facts, this is a must. Come aboard a beautiful... read more

Reviewed March 2, 2018
B7066OCmichelle
,
Warner
via mobile
Read all 9 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The MV Southern Cross offers a range of cruises that can introduce you to Canberra and her monuments, museums and political battlegrounds. Available cruises include sightseeing, lunch and dinner cruises and special events. Check the website for up-to-date schedules.
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good22%
  • Average11%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible11%
Travelers talk about
“lower deck” (2 reviews)
“hour cruise” (2 reviews)
“yacht club” (2 reviews)
LOCATION
Lotus Bay, Mariner Place, Yarralumla, Canberra, Australia
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lower deck"
in 2 reviews
"hour cruise"
in 2 reviews
"yacht club"
in 2 reviews
"lake burley griffin"
in 3 reviews
"captain"
in 4 reviews
"commentary"
in 4 reviews
Filter
Reviewed 4 May 2018

This should be a great way to see Canberra but twice now I have planned to take a visitor on a cruise, checking the time and days on the website, only to find that the cruise had been privately booked for a function. The first...More

Thank Birdie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare B, Marketing Manager at MV Southern Cross Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Birdie56, Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback. I would like to apologise for the confusion in relation to being able to access the sightseeing cruise. Unfortunately we do on occasion cancel our sightseeing cruises for private events and I am...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

If your a visitor to Canberra or want to know some facts, this is a must. Come aboard a beautiful cruise along Lake Burley Griffin & have a cuppa, while you listen to the commentary of the Captain. Suitable for all ages.

Thank B7066OCmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare B, Marketing Manager at MV Southern Cross Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi B7066OCmichelle Thank you for the feedback on your cruise experience. I’m glad you had a wonderful time and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Jason Lowe, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We decided to go with our family on a Christmas Day cruise and it was perfect. Food was delicious and the crew friendly. We explored every part of the lake and it was a nice leisurely afternoon. No cleaning or cooking for us this Christmas.

Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare B, Marketing Manager at MV Southern Cross Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Karen P Thank you for your feedback on your Christmas day lunch cruise. I am glad to hear you had a wonderful experience and I will pass your comments on to the team. Kind regards, Jason Lowe, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We had a 2 hour cruise on Lake Burley Griffin with a delightfully served 2 course meal and beverages. Adam our young Captain gave a delightful commentary. He was so knowledgeable. We really enjoyed this. See so much from the boat cruise of the areas...More

Thank Herbie2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare B, Marketing Manager at MV Southern Cross Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Herbie2219, Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the cruise and hope to see you back on board soon. Kind regards, Jason Lowe, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Substantial flat bottomed boat with friendly and informed crew. Leisurely trip around Lake Burley Griffin with commentary on all of the various sights. Very child friendly. Indoor and outdoor viewing. Disabled access to lower deck (indoors).

Thank Richard-Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare B, Marketing Manager at MV Southern Cross Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Richard- Canberra, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your cruise. Kind regards, Jason Lowe, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

We went Saturday morning the captain was a very lovely man full of wonderful information would recommend ferry trip .jpz

Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare B, Marketing Manager at MV Southern Cross Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Pamela M Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your cruise. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Kind regards, Jason Lowe, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We were a pre-booked and prepaid group booking of 32 people. We arrived at the Southern Cross Yacht Club on Mariner Place, Yarralumla and boarded the MV Southern Cross cruise boat. There was upstairs seating as well as on the lower deck with wide window...More

Thank Niec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare B, Marketing Manager at MV Southern Cross Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Niec, Thank you for your feedback on your cruise. It is nice to get such positive comments. We hope you can visit us again soon. Kind regards, Jason Lowe, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We did this cruise on a wild windy Canberra day. However inside the boat we were immune to the elements. Great view of Canberra with good commentary spiced with a few jokes. Complimentary coffee or tea as well.

Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare B, Marketing Manager at MV Southern Cross Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Robyn R, Thank you for your feedback on your cruise. I am glad you enjoyed it and hope you can join us again soon. Kind regards, Jason Lowe, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Booked as part of a work conference and arrived to be told by the staff they had not restocked drinks or food as they had just had another cruise. Not happy, would not recommend this tour.

Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare B, Marketing Manager at MV Southern Cross Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Josh H, Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear of the poor level of service and I can assure we have worked hard on improving both the service and product we offer. Kind regards, Jason Lowe, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 60 hotels in Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
2,800 reviews
.66 km away
Ovolo Nishi
818 reviews
1.69 km away
University House
360 reviews
1.77 km away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
1,854 reviews
1.78 km away
Nearby Restaurants
T on the Square
32 reviews
1.19 km away
Water's Edge
386 reviews
1.57 km away
The Promenade Cafe
254 reviews
.69 km away
Canberra Southern Cross Yacht Club
186 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Burley Griffin
1,625 reviews
1.52 km away
Museum of Australian Democracy
1,042 reviews
1.22 km away
Canberra Walk in Aviary
57 reviews
1.19 km away
National Portrait Gallery
1,581 reviews
1.55 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from MV Southern Cross Cruises staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;