We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

West Bay Fishing Trips

Features Animals
Harbour Masters Office Esplanade, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4HE, England
Save
Review Highlights
Good fun with the kids

We went on the one hour mackerel trip. We didn't catch anything but who cares! The sun was... read more

Reviewed June 2, 2017
ABrown13
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Mackerel fishing - with not so many mackerel!

We did the 1 hour trip on Dawn Mist and thought it was a good choice as we were beginners. It is... read more

Reviewed April 19, 2017
Katie D
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 7 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
West bay fishing trips run from west bay, come on down and enjoy the Dorset sea fishing experience. Suitable for all ages and all anglers from novice to expert.
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible14%
Travelers talk about
“hour trip” (2 reviews)
“mist” (3 reviews)
“dawn” (3 reviews)
LOCATION
Harbour Masters Office Esplanade, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4HE, England
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hour trip"
in 2 reviews
"mist"
in 3 reviews
"dawn"
in 3 reviews
"skills"
in 2 reviews
"fun"
in 2 reviews
Filter
Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile

We went on the one hour mackerel trip. We didn't catch anything but who cares! The sun was shining, the view was great and the crew were really friendly. My boys (age 10 and 11) really enjoyed it even though they didn't catch a fish...More

2  Thank ABrown13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017

We did the 1 hour trip on Dawn Mist and thought it was a good choice as we were beginners. It is good for beginners as it requires little skill and would be good for children too. It was a little disappointing as none of...More

Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

We did the one hour trip which is done with hooked lines. This is perfect for families as the skill required is minimal. Team was friendly and helped out. Everyone got at least one fish and the view of the Jurassic cliffs is stunning.

Thank kittybloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Lots of car parking spaces at sensible fees. The harbour attracts lots of families doing their drop net fishing. There are plenty of fishing opportunities and the town has a more than adequate supply of restaurants. The beaches are also expansive and you get the...More

Thank robbiethetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2015

My husband and our 11 year old son did this fishing trip together. No-one on the trip caught a single fish, so very disappointing for the money they paid.More

1  Thank 1970karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Public Relations Manager at West Bay Fishing Trips, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2016

We are sorry you are disappointed with your experience. Even the most experienced anglers will tell you that fish are not guaranteed. I can assure you this is a very rare occasion, you just have to look at our amazing portfolio photos to see that....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2015

New to fishing went on the dawn mist and it was brilliant. I caught alot of fish and even took a few home to eat. Thank you for a good day out.

Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Public Relations Manager at West Bay Fishing Trips, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2016

Hi David, we are thrilled you enjoyed your day! We look forward to having you back on board in the future. Kind Regards Sam Toms (The Skippers Son)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2015

Well worth a trip out with Matt and Fred on the Dawn Mist! We only caught one fish, but still had fab fun.

Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T, Public Relations Manager at West Bay Fishing Trips, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2016

Hi Mark, we are glad you had a great day! Come again soon. Kind Regards Sam Toms (The Skippers Son)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all West Bay Hotels
The West Bay Hotel
307 reviews
.43 km away
Seacroft Bed & Breakfast
24 reviews
.43 km away
Haddon House Hotel
530 reviews
.47 km away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
389 reviews
1.53 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Rachel's
828 reviews
.11 km away
Baboo Gelato Ltd
128 reviews
.22 km away
Seagulls Restaurant
394 reviews
.38 km away
Snack Shack
126 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lyme Bay Rib Charter
156 reviews
.29 km away
West Bay Canoes
104 reviews
.21 km away
West Bay Harbour
1,001 reviews
.17 km away
The Customs House
60 reviews
.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from West Bay Fishing Trips staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit