We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Cute site

I went on an excursion and did not have a lot of time. They offer different wine tasting options at... read more

Reviewed 31 May 2018
Gmickers11661
,
Portland, Oregon
Wine tasting only

My girlfriend and I stopped in to do a wine tasting and decided to share a mid and high priced... read more

Reviewed 15 July 2018
Matt G
,
Ann Arbor, Michigan
via mobile
Read all 339 reviews
272
All photos (272)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good28%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“oysters”(14 reviews)
“sauvignon blanc”(28 reviews)
“cellar door”(29 reviews)
About
This winery's sauvignon blanc brought international attention to New Zealand's wine region.
Contact
Jacksons Road, Rapaura, Blenheim, New Zealand
Website
+64 5209040
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
142
92
37
28
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
142
92
37
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoysterssauvignon blanccellar doorwine tastingoutdoor areanice winerynew zealandtasting experiencetasting roomtasting areatasting feebarrel roomgreat winecheese platterlovely settingraw barmarlborough region
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

The venue is lovely and very well done. However the staff were far from helpful. We arrived to taste and the staff said they were too busy to serve us but said they would come back to us shortly. They didn’t so we gave up...More

Thank Praxmeyer
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stopped in to do a wine tasting and decided to share a mid and high priced tastings ($10 and $15 respectively). We thought the wines were average at best, which was disappointing because this was one of the most expensive tasting...More

Thank Matt G
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Dropped by for a tasting at Cloudy Bay and was very happy with our experience. While they do charge a small cost for a tasting, this is discounted from the price if you decide to purchase a bottle, which we did and enjoyed later on...More

Thank Kate C
Reviewed 22 June 2018

It was not that impressive on the outside, but as soon as you entered, it was very classy, upscale. A very airy and open winery. They had wine tasting with fresh oysters, fig.. The big open green lawn is the most comfortable, serene place. Great...More

Thank itcheetam
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We went to Cloudy Bay with the intention of wine tasting, buying wine and having lunch. The moment we entered Cloudy Bay we were ignored despite greeting the staff. This continued while we were waiting. When the staff started to served other patrons who came...More

1  Thank GwaiLoh07
Reviewed 31 May 2018

I went on an excursion and did not have a lot of time. They offer different wine tasting options at different prices and some cheese plates to buy if hungry. They are known for their sauvignon blanc but I liked their chardonnay.

Thank Gmickers11661
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

It was a cold day in Blenheim but what a beautiful property this is. We did the three wine tasting and ordered a cheese platter. The local cheeses were absolutely delicious. Could only imagine how popular this place would be on a hot summers day!

Thank nzsarah2016
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Our wine tasting lady was more interested in talking to our driver. We were left standing waiting for her. Very Commerical, churn them through environment. She didn’t have much knowledge and wasn’t interested in finding us the answer. Not a great experience and not great...More

Thank skiwichick
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Fantastic wine tasting and very reasonable, averaging out at about £2 for a generous half glass and a very informative lady who knew her wine! There were some fruit flies buzzing around but that’s no-ones fault and they didn’t distract us at all from our...More

Thank crocettesontour
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

hi went to go here as really like there sav wine was waiting in line to be served by older lady who was nothing short of rude to customer as customer asked what wines were exceptional and she said all of them are yes they...More

Thank panam14
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
rmcgirr
31 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Traveller_45_UK |
Wine tasting can certainly be done on a turn up basis. They charge NZ$10 for a basic tasting of 4 wines of which $5 can be applied to a purchase. I consider this fair as it discourages those that only come to tastings for... More
1
Vote