We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stirling Ghost Walk

St John's Street, Stirling FK8 1EA, Scotland
+44 1592 874449
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely stroll with excellent storytelling

As someone who has given way to many tours at different jobs it's always great to have a really... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
A TripAdvisor Member
via mobile
Excellent ending of a long day

The ghost walk was the one thing we did this vacation that our teenagers likes the most. The happy... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
TobiasWallin
,
Uppsala, Sweden
Read all 288 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Stirling Ghost Walk - now nearing it's twenty-fifth year - is a guided dramatic guided tour of Stirling's historic Old Town, using comedy and drama to recount frightful tales from the history and folklore of the area. Tours run at 8.30pm, Tuesday-to-Saturday in July and August, each year, and at 8pm on Fridays and Saturdays from September-to-June - all tours meeting at the gates of the Old Town Jail / SYHA Hostel in St John Street, Stirling. Private bookings are available throughout the year - and a 10% discount offered to patrons of local hotels, hostels and B&Bs.Visit our website or Facebook for details and updates.
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good5%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“jock rankin” (18 reviews)
“david kinnaird” (12 reviews)
“story teller” (9 reviews)
LOCATION
St John's Street, Stirling FK8 1EA, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1592 874449
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jock rankin"
in 18 reviews
"david kinnaird"
in 12 reviews
"story teller"
in 9 reviews
"local hotel"
in 5 reviews
"spooky fun"
in 3 reviews
"evening's entertainment"
in 3 reviews
"whole group"
in 5 reviews
"great storyteller"
in 3 reviews
"halloween weekend"
in 3 reviews
"youth hostel"
in 5 reviews
"old jail"
in 9 reviews
"brilliant tour"
in 4 reviews
"small group"
in 6 reviews
"history tour"
in 3 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"all ages"
in 10 reviews
"tales"
in 51 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 275 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
75
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As someone who has given way to many tours at different jobs it's always great to have a really enthusiastic guide. This tour is that and more. We were a smaller group the other night and it was great. David is a wonderful actor and...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you. Whatever the size of group, we try to make sure we're able to connect with audience members on a one-to-one basis. Glad you enjoyed the show!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The ghost walk was the one thing we did this vacation that our teenagers likes the most. The happy hangman included the audience in his stories in a fun and sometimes surprising way. All the stories were presented in a teatrical manner with a very...More

Thank TobiasWallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you, Tobias, I'm glad the kids enjoyed the show. I hope we added something special to your memories of Stirling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When we visited the old town jail one of the guides gave us the tip to go on his Ghost walk starting 8pm. We thought he seemed both knowledgeable and funny so we gave it a shot. The ghost walk, which was my very first...More

1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you, Michelle. The GhostWalk's Happy Hangman also helps run the Old Town Jail, so both shows share the same passion for the darker aspects of local history and lore...but with a few chuckles thrown in, to lighten the tone. I'm glad both attractions helped...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I guess creepy is a better word for it, the ghost tours are very interesting. The history part of the tours just draws you in and really adds to the fear factor. We came with a guide group so really is good for all ages....More

Thank angusmail53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed the show, Angusmail53. Focussing comic interactions on the adults - or 'hairy weans', as The Hangman prefers to think of them - does tend to make the younger, more nervous audience-members relax a little, as they know they'll be safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Many thanks to the happy hangman for a wonderful evening of entertainment and fun! We were impressed by his historical knowledge, theatrical presence and skill, storytelling abilities, quit wit, sense of humour, and ability to engage and include his audience (From a grandma to a...More

Thank wwpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Many thanks, wwpears. We try hard to involve the whole of the audience in performance, and make them feel like part of the show...be you 6 months or 66 years old. Glad your brood enjoyed the show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Had a great time, stories were fun and interesting and incredibly well acted. Would definitely come again, thanks for an amazing evening! - 'Stripey'

1  Thank bubsmcsqueak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you, Bubs (aka 'Stripey'). Glad you enjoyed the show!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2018

I went on this tour as part of a work experience with a bunch of other people from North America. I had never been on a tour like this, but if they are all this good, I will be seeking them out. The storyteller met...More

1  Thank JavisQDunkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Thanks, Javis. Glad you enjoyed the stories...and the town: the gloriously gothic graveyard and the Castle looming over it are certainly atmospheric, especially on a misty Winter night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Wonderful stories, lots of History and a great Host. A must do while in Sterling not for the faint hearted 😍

1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Many thanks, Sarah. I hope our recent snowy weather added to the athmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Our guide was wonderful. He kept everyone hanging on every word with the griping tales of history and legend. He is by no means a stuffy humdrum walk around the grounds boring guide. He became the Happy Hangman right down to period dress. On the...More

Thank Gypsysdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you, Gypsydragon. Thank you, articularly, for coming on the tour when the Old Town was under feet of Scottish snow - which, I hope, added to the experience. Spread the word - the best marketing a show like this can have are the comments...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Having been on this ghost walk a few years back it was great to revisit and hear the new stories and take part in the fun of Stirlings best ghost walk. A must if your visiting the area or a local looking to do something...More

Thank Morag70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Stirling Ghost Walk, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Thank you, Morag. Hope to see you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Stirling
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2,241 reviews
.17 km away
The Portcullis Hotel
198 reviews
.20 km away
Hotel Colessio
847 reviews
.21 km away
Allan's Guest House
1 review
.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Smithy
255 reviews
.19 km away
Darnley Coffee House
269 reviews
.06 km away
Henderson's Bistro
349 reviews
.27 km away
Hermann's
628 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Old Town Jail
331 reviews
.06 km away
Church of the Holy Rude
345 reviews
.10 km away
Stirling Smith Art Gallery & Museum
150 reviews
.27 km away
Argyll's Lodging
271 reviews
.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ashley4182
13 April 2018|
Answer
Response from David K | Property representative |
Hello there. Yup. Just show up at the Old Town Jail gate from 7.45pm. On those occasions where scheduled shows are sold-out or at full capacity we will post details at least a week in advance on our main website and our... More
0
Votes
Melanie M
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David K | Property representative |
£6 for adults, £4 for Kids, Students or Seniors
0
Votes
allison f
1 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David K | Property representative |
We start at the gates of the Old Town Jail, St John Street, Stirling (next to the SYHA Youth Hostel), at 8pm on Fridays and Saturdays - tickets available from 7.45pm. Booking in advance is usually unnecessary - except for... More
2
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor