We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brockholes Nature Reserve

Features Animals
Preston New Road | Juction 31 M6 Motorway, Preston PR5 0AG, England
+44 1772 872000
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
summer afternoon

Perfect afternoon out with the family..kids loved it..so peaceful & lots to see..relaxing and just... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
SweetAsian1
,
Preston, United Kingdom
via mobile
A relaxing walk

We went to the venue hoping for a walk and a coffee. We had a coffee first in a large cafe... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
ann m
,
Preston, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,283 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Brockholes is a new kind of nature reserve, an unreserved reserve. Everyone is welcome at Brockholes, whether you're a naturalist or a beginner, we have something for you to enjoy and lots of chances for you to get close to nature! On the site of an old quarry, the Lancashire Wildlife Trust have used their expertise to create habitats for lots of different wildlife. You can take a stroll by the River Ribble, explore our woods or enjoy the lakes on site, which have all been specially designed to attract all kinds of wildlife for you to see! Our spectacular floating Visitor Village means that you are as close to nature as possible providing stunning views across the lake. You can also discover our interactive Welcome Centre and learn all about the wildlife that you could see on-site, discover the exciting play area and explore our network of walks and trails (including shorter ones for little legs). After exploring the reserve you can sit back and relax in our restaurant where you can enjoy the beautiful lake view with a coffee and a tasty treat or a long leisurely meal. The Nest, our Brockholes gift shop is brimming with an inspiring collection of gifts, jewellery, books, toys, arts & crafts and other exciting treasures to remind you of your day and are sure to put a smile on the faces of people young and old. A fantastic new addition to the Visitor Village is The Gallery at Brockholes. The Gallery will showcase a range of art and craft by guild members which includes fine art, photography, textiles, ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood and furniture. The Gallery at Brockholes is run by the Art & Craft Guild of Lancashire, made up of a wide range of the finest local artists, designers and makers.
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good30%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“car park” (147 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Preston New Road | Juction 31 M6 Motorway, Preston PR5 0AG, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1772 872000
Write a ReviewReviews (1,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"car park"
in 147 reviews
"visited brockholes"
in 39 reviews
"floating village"
in 37 reviews
"wildlife trust"
in 28 reviews
"play area"
in 83 reviews
"adventure playground"
in 28 reviews
"bird watching"
in 24 reviews
"pond dipping"
in 17 reviews
"parking fee"
in 18 reviews
"lovely place"
in 44 reviews
"zip wire"
in 14 reviews
"information centre"
in 18 reviews
"lovely walk"
in 32 reviews
"guild wheel"
in 49 reviews
"all ages"
in 50 reviews
"soup"
in 17 reviews
"an ice cream"
in 14 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Perfect afternoon out with the family..kids loved it..so peaceful & lots to see..relaxing and just a nice place to unwind and watch kids play&enjoy their ice creamsMore

1  Thank SweetAsian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for the 5* review of Brockholes. It's great to hear that you had a fantastic family day out with us. If you are looking for activities to entertain the children, we still have two weeks of Summer holiday activities left and our October Half...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We went to the venue hoping for a walk and a coffee. We had a coffee first in a large cafe overlooking the water. It was ok but lacked atmosphere. The toilets were very basic The walk around the nature reserve was great. Lots of...More

1  Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Ann Thanks very much for telling us about your visit to Brockholes. It's great to hear that you enjoyed and exploring the reserve and will be back to see us again soon. Next time you visit, why not join one of our free guided...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We enjoy visiting Brocholes at least 4 time a year. Yes, the £5 parking fee appears expensive but there is no entrance fee charged. We mistakenly visited during school holidays so the whole site was rather busy. The restaurant must have been extremely busy as...More

2  Thank MrsS594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed on your visit. As you mention, we can be very busy during the school holidays, but that is no excuse for your experience. Please could we ask you to drop us a line at info@brockholes.org with...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

We visited the nature reserve today and the noise pollution from the motorway had an adverse impact on our experience. It is a great venue for children and grandchildren with a range of positive activities available to engage them. I would not recommend adults to...More

Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi George We are located close to the M6 at junction 31, so I am sure you can appreciate that there is not much we can do about traffic noise! Brockholes was a sand and gravel quarry before Lancashire Wildlife Trust purchased the land and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Brockholes is a relatively new nature reserve on the banks of the River Ribble in Salmsbury near Preston. It's located on the site of a former gravel extraction operation. Without doubt it's a great asset to the area and has attracted a wealth of wildlife...More

1  Thank expat1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback and thank you for supporting our work. It is much appreciated. As you mention, Brockholes is owned and managed by Lancashire Wildlife Trust, a small, local conservation charity. We can only operate Brockholes and maintain...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited during school holidays so expected it to be busy. There were a few families in but not as busy as I would expect. Food is pre prepared and left under lights. Not a great choice, quality is not as good as most well known...More

Thank nijo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you will not be back. You will have noticed on your visit that we don't charge an admission fee like many similar attractions, so the only charge we make...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

They do have a monopoly on customers, being in the middle of nowhere. Sandwiches expensive and not fresh or nice quality filling. I thought the main meals way over the top pricewise and v small portions.More

Thank foodtastermags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you considered our restaurant expensive and were disappointed. We regularly check our prices and find them inline with other similar visitor attractions. It would be really helpful if you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Brockholes is an amazing place for an event. The wetlands are awesome to visit and the restaurant serves lovely food. Well done Brockholes!

Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Paul Thanks so much for the 5* review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed visiting and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really can’t recommend these sessions enough, there is a small fee but you receive a discount from your parking so overall you pay no more than £5 to take part, the staff are great with the children, having a little sing song and doing creative...More

1  Thank Pud24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thanks so much for the 5* review and for recommending our Nature Tots sessions. I have passed your feedback onto the Nature Tots Team. They are delighted to read your comments! Sessions start again in September, once the schools are back. If you sign...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice and pleasant place, relaxing and calm fun for all , lots of things to do, from young to old, lovely place for picnic.

1  Thank Zafat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Brockholes Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Zafat Thanks for the 5* review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Brockholes. Thanks for supporting our conservation work by visiting and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Preston
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
1,705 reviews
.96 km away
Best Western Plus Samlesbury Hotel
874 reviews
1.85 km away
Premier Inn Preston East Hotel
694 reviews
2.79 km away
Travelodge Preston Central
658 reviews
3.75 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant at Swallow Preston
26 reviews
.88 km away
New Hall Tavern
138 reviews
1.58 km away
Macdonald Tickled Trout
73 reviews
.97 km away
Moor Nook Chippy
11 reviews
1.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
Samlesbury Hall
693 reviews
3.83 km away
The Bee Centre
57 reviews
3.92 km away
Lancashire Infantry Museum
38 reviews
3.74 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Margaret W
19 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from | Reviewed this property |
Just checked their website and it clearly states DOG FREE ZONE
1
Vote
HaloNorthwest
17 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Brockholes | Property representative |
Early mornings and later on in the afternoon tend to be the best times. Just call into our Welcome Centre when visit and our friendly team of Volunteers will give you loads of advice on where to spot them.
1
Vote
Lianne F
26 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from James B | Reviewed this property |
i have spent a few late afternoons here looking for the bittern but I have no seen any large starling gatherings
1
Vote