We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Doodlepots

5B Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
+44 1947 825824
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely location great activity

We have passed by here a few times over the years, and decided this time to have a go. We were... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Kayrich2102
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
via mobile
A really fun thing to do with my partner

My boyfriend and I were visiting Whitby for our anniversary and decided to try some pottery... read more

Reviewed November 1, 2017
Vicky B
Read all 25 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good20%
  • Average0%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“glaze” (4 reviews)
“mugs” (4 reviews)
“figurines” (2 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
5B Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1947 825824
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"glaze"
in 4 reviews
"mugs"
in 4 reviews
"figurines"
in 2 reviews
"souvenir"
in 2 reviews
"prints"
in 2 reviews
"shop"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We have passed by here a few times over the years, and decided this time to have a go. We were shown to our table and chose our pieces, the lady explained to us a few tips and techniques and we were left to create...More

Thank Kayrich2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 November 2017

My boyfriend and I were visiting Whitby for our anniversary and decided to try some pottery painting as it was raining outside. I had previously been to a similar place and really enjoyed it, whereas my boyfriend had not. The staff were helpful, the atmosphere...More

Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Went with my adult daughter who loves anything crafty. The lady who runs it could not have been more helpful and pleasant.

Thank pmfWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky H, Owner at Doodlepots, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Thank you. It was lovely to meet you both and your newly glazed pots will be on their way to you very soon ♡ 🍵🎨

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

I came to whitby for a week with my husband and my mum visited for a couple of days. I haven't done anything creative for years & really fancies it. So at the grand old ages of 41 and 79 we went along. I LOVED...More

Thank Alison3br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky H, Owner at Doodlepots, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely review Alison. It was a pleasure to spend the morning with you and your mum and so pleased you enjoyed yourselves so much. Postage starts at £5 for one item or only £7.50 for a box of items, with pots...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We visited during our holiday to create a more personal souvenir to take home with us, and really enjoyed ourselves! Both myself and my partner painted a mug each (with the help of our two year old): o e depicting us outside our hotel and...More

Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky H, Owner at Doodlepots, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely review Peter and for feedback about snacks. We have offered food in the past but there wasn't the demand we expected, so we were throwing unwanted food away. We are however more than happy for customers to bring their own...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2017

I your staying in Whitby and you get a rainy day this is the place to go. Theres so many things to paint from plates, cups, pots and money boxes. Its really fun for all ages, and whilst you paint you can get tea coffee...More

Thank Naeve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky H, Owner at Doodlepots, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you for your 5* review. Remember we fill up very quickly with families all looking for indoor activities on rainy days. So please call 01947 825824 to reserve a table to guarantee you won't be disappointed ♡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

This is a brilliant concept, choose a lovely piece of pottery and spend as long as you want painting it then leave it to be fired and glazed. Our finished pieces arrived safely in the post today and my kids face just lit up, they...More

1  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky H, Owner at Doodlepots, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review Kathryn. It's great knowing that Doodlepots puts smiles on so many faces each year... that makes us smile too. And it doesn't gave to break the bank either, with sessions/pots starting at £10 and postage from £5...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

We arrived on a wet Whitby afternoon & weren't disappointed. Doodle-pots is very well organised; tables set with equipment, clear instructions for kids & parents, colour charts on the wall & a variety of pots to paint based on your budget- ranging from around £6...More

1  Thank Jenny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky H, Owner at Doodlepots, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review Jenny. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and that you managed to get a table on a wet day, as lots of people do reserve us as their rainy day activity, so we sometimes...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Wanted to try something different with my fiance so we came here. What a fabulous place. We spent an hour and a half just relaxing and painting some pottery and we really enjoyed it. You get to pick any pottery from the shelf and the...More

1  Thank gemmaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky H, Owner at Doodlepots, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely review Gemma ♡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Came here with my 17 year old daughter and 4 year old niece. We spent almost 2 hours painting our different pottery. I painted a butter dish, my daughter a large mug and my niece a snail. We were made to feel very welcome and...More

1  Thank Eleanormumof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky H, Owner at Doodlepots, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you for your very thoughtful review Eleanor and your recommendations for future customers. It's always advisable to phone and reserve a table to avoid disappointment during school holidays. Paint Mon-Weds for collection that week or have your pots posted from £5 if you'll be...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Whitby
Resolution Hotel
1,293 reviews
.04 km away
The George Hotel
278 reviews
.21 km away
The Marine Hotel
511 reviews
.22 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
515 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ditto Restaurant
1,035 reviews
.08 km away
Mademoiselles
113 reviews
.03 km away
Beckett's coffee shop
726 reviews
.01 km away
Rusty Shears
1,075 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Whitby Museum
645 reviews
.31 km away
Whitby Harbour
2,571 reviews
.17 km away
Whitby Tourist Information Centre
98 reviews
.31 km away
St Hilda's Church
30 reviews
.17 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sarah W
10 February 2018|
Answer
Response from JohnMHocking | Property representative |
Hi. Thanks for your enquiry. It's always advisable to book as we have a limited number of tables and can fill very quickly with walk-ins. The shelf price includes instructions, materials, glazing and firing and a 2 hour... More
0
Votes
Jillshoesmith
7 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Nicky H |
Hi Jill. You and your dog will be very welcome 😊
0
Votes
;