We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room

Features Animals
Foxholes Farm London Road, Hertford SG13 7NT, England
+44 1992 552900
Website
Save
Review Highlights
bad raw food bad attitude from staff !

staff are excellent but the owner is a stuck up fat blimp. my daughter slipped and fractured her... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
ben w
Farm visit

We had a great afternoon at the farm today and my son enjoyed feeding the lambs . The young girl... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
harty65
,
Hertford, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 117 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Foxholes Farm is an award winning family run farm deep in the Hertfordshire Countryside. A fully stocked farm shop, butchery counter and Tea Room, serving breakfast, lunches and afternoon tea. The Animal Barn is open every weekend and throughout the school holidays and the farm plays host to a enclosed children's play area. Admission is free into to the farm and there is a small charge to enter the animal barn. Please note the Animal Barn is open 11am - 3pm
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“play area” (10 reviews)
“cakes” (9 reviews)
“meat platter” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
LOCATION
Foxholes Farm London Road, Hertford SG13 7NT, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1992 552900
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"play area"
in 10 reviews
"cakes"
in 9 reviews
"meat platter"
in 5 reviews
"light lunch"
in 4 reviews
"sunny day"
in 4 reviews
"full english"
in 3 reviews
"lovely little place"
in 3 reviews
"ham"
in 4 reviews
"feed the animals"
in 2 reviews
"black pudding"
in 2 reviews
"preserves"
in 2 reviews
"enjoyed our visit"
in 2 reviews
"staff were lovely"
in 2 reviews
"great choice"
in 2 reviews
"frozen meals"
in 2 reviews
"small area"
in 2 reviews
"without a doubt"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

staff are excellent but the owner is a stuck up fat blimp. my daughter slipped and fractured her ancle so went inside for help and basically got forced to leave and even warned to keep it quiet and refused to enter this in the accident...More

1  Thank ben w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded today

You have written a review on the WRONG BUSINESS PAGE we are FOXHOLES FARM -HERTFORD (not Sheffield) ! We will be reporting this to have this removed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great afternoon at the farm today and my son enjoyed feeding the lambs . The young girl- Amy - who was looking after the lambs was very cheerful and great with the kids. We followed it up with some tea and cake...More

Thank harty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review , we are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointing visit. I took my mother to visit the tea room. She has a condition which affects her ability to express herself clearly. The woman serving us was extremely abrupt and showed no patience. The woman charged us incorrectly £4.95 for mince pies with...More

1  Thank chezza619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review as you can imagine we take these comments very seriously, we will follow this up with the person concerned, we apologise for the inconvenience and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I personally was disappointed. The weather was awful which didn't help. Coffee in the tea rooms was very average. The children enjoyed their cookies...But tasted better from those in Sainsburys (I thought, having had a nibble of one). It was a very drizzly day and...More

Thank Hecandtobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for writing this review, due to bad weather conditions our cows have had to be kept indoors as the ground is at least six weeks behind, also most of our cows are due to give birth this time of year, so it would...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited with my granddaughter to feed a lamb. I was distressed to see these tiny, scrawny, dirty, uncared for, very hungry animals huddled together in the corner or wandering about crying for food. We were given a very small amount of milk in a...More

1  Thank debholmes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Firstly, lambs are not always cute fluffy animals all of the time, they huddle in the corner to take in the heat of the lamps as the weather has not been kind when they are used to being born this time of year in a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We often stop here on the way back from the cemetery in Hoddesdon. It is in a lovely setting on a farm, nice and quiet. The coffee shop is lovely with seating inside, on decking or on the grass. Often where you sit is dictated...More

Thank LouLouTravel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and for visiting us on a regular basis. We are extreamly sorry that our full menu was not available, it was simply due to the fact we were incredibly short staffed at very short notice. Apologies once a gain and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went there on Halloween half term, after seeing all the great looking photo's online. A pumpkin patch, where you can pick your own pumpkins, monster bowling, sweetcorn throwing and you can feed the animals, sounded great, but the pumpkin patch was a very very...More

Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this long review on your visit FIVE months ago????? Would have been nice if you could have published such a review on the day you visited, so our team at the time could respond but thank you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I came to the farm today for Easter weekend. We had booked in to feed the orphaned baby goats, it was £9.95 each. We had a lovely time with the goats and safe to say it was worth every penny! It was...More

Thank ohliviyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review.. We are looking at other alternatives for customers access through the tea room very soon, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We live only a few miles away and yet never knew of this farm. Having bumped into it online, we made a spur of the moment decision to pop in for lunch. A really nice meal, happy atmosphere and friendly staff. The adjoining farm shop...More

Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting and your lovely review and we will look forward to seeing you visit again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

Great tearoom/cafe which is open 7 day’s a week and offers great selection of food. Just had a sandwich but it was gorgeous - freshly made. The farm shop is also fabulous. Great find.

Thank Malttaylors99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Hertford
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
138 reviews
.59 km away
Salisbury Arms Hotel
314 reviews
.70 km away
Hertford House
297 reviews
.75 km away
Premier Inn Ware Hotel
235 reviews
3.15 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lussmanns - Hertford
661 reviews
.67 km away
Salisbury Arms Hotel
250 reviews
.70 km away
Loch Fyne
473 reviews
.54 km away
Rose Cafe
84 reviews
.66 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hertford Theatre
114 reviews
.84 km away
Hertford Museum
62 reviews
.76 km away
Hertford Castle
47 reviews
.87 km away
Hartham Commons
14 reviews
.98 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit