We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gosfield Lake Golf Club

Gosfield Hall Park, Halstead CO9 1SE, England
+44 1787 474747
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Fathers Day

A lovely lunch, good value. Plenty of meat and veg. A good choice of menu too. The service was... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
345jen
,
London, England, United Kingdom
via mobile
Lovely venue good quality food

We had a family meal at the Golf Club and really enjoyed the whole experience. We were able to sit... read more

Reviewed 5 June 2018
eonaLondon
,
London
Read all 21 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
On 230 acres of rolling Essex parkland to the north of Gosfield Lake, the Lakes course has six separate lakes and these lakes come into play on eight holes. Golfers can enjoy the peace and tranquility away from the bustle of modern life. In this idyllic setting the course winds around and over the lakes, through woods and across streams in some of the most beautiful countryside in England. The Championship course here at Gosfield has the potential to become the ‘finest inland test of golf in England’ so said Sir Henry Cotton. Sir Henry was responsible for masterminding the design of the 6,600 yard Lakes course and the less demanding 9 hole Meadows course in association with golf architect, Howard Swan. Sir Henry is remembered by giving his name to his own particular favourite hole at Gosfield, the 14th ‘Cotton’s Choice’. There is a beginners ‘Meadows’ course available measuring 4990 yards and gives new golfers the opportunity to improve their game with double tees to vary the 18 holes. Please note: Soft spikes are required. Society bookings very welcome.Wedding bookings available, please contact us for more information.
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good50%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible4%
4 weeks ago
“Fathers Day”
Sep 5, 2017
“Wedding ”
LOCATION
Gosfield Hall Park, Halstead CO9 1SE, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1787 474747
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely lunch, good value. Plenty of meat and veg. A good choice of menu too. The service was friendly atnd attentive. When we finished we had drunks overlooking the golf course which was in beautiful surroundings.

Thank 345jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
379Kate, Membership Administrator at Gosfield Lake Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. Sunday lunches are available every week, it would be great to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We had a family meal at the Golf Club and really enjoyed the whole experience. We were able to sit outside in the sun before and after the meal and enjoy the view over the beautifully landscaped golf course. The meal itself was very good,...More

Thank eonaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
379Kate, Membership Administrator at Gosfield Lake Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Open to non golfers. Had excellent Lunch today 18/02/2017 Super service and food and really good value. will return soon.

1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

No staff, everyone (wedding guests) lost and aimlessly wondering around, no directions what so ever! Very strange place! A hotel with no receptionists. A function room at the back of the building that no one can find. All very confusing!

Thank jc3cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
379Kate, Front Office Manager at Gosfield Lake Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

This is meant for Gosfield Hall, we are a Golf Club. This feed back has been incorrectly logged against our Golf Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely wedding at the Hall. Great staff always on had to ask and help in anyway. Food great for sit down and evening buffet. Lots of beautiful rooms to sit in if your not dancing. Amazing garden and courtyards for photos. Very old...More

Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

had a fabulous wedding at gosfield hall wow what a place amazing food great helpful staff and wonderfull rooms and settings .. cant tell you how wonderful the day and night was had a wonderful time with a great band thanks glyn carlese what a...More

Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Stayed here for one night for my nieces' wedding day, a beautiful setting and spectacular house , very grand. Our room was the Elizabethan suite on the top floor , huge room, immaculate but sparsely furnished . Staff all work hard and are friendly and...More

Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

One off the best venues around and the staff are brilliant we have had 2 weddings there they are so hard working a big thank you to them all for making them special 10 out off 10 once again thank you

Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Had a funeral tea at the golf club. The club house is in a lovely setting, the food was delicious and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you for making this difficult time a little easier.

Thank GST4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We went for a round of golf with two friends , had a really great day. Good price friendly staff and good food. Course was well looked after and good greens. Met the owner who chatted with us for a while. Very nice man and...More

Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Halstead Hotels
The Bull Hotel
182 reviews
3.61 km away
White Hart Hotel
459 reviews
6.87 km away
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel
481 reviews
7.11 km away
Essex Golf & Country Club
356 reviews
7.79 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Apple Tree
22 reviews
.38 km away
The Kings Head
118 reviews
.66 km away
Memories
21 reviews
.78 km away
Lakeview
22 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gosfield Shopping Village
59 reviews
1.54 km away
Halstead Antiques Centre
74 reviews
3.69 km away
Boydells Dairy Farm
279 reviews
5.43 km away
Hedingham Castle
219 reviews
5.43 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Gosfield Lake Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit