Clifton Heritage National Park

Clifton Heritage National Park

Clifton Heritage National Park
4.5
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Monday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Sunday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
About
Come to CLIFTON and SEE! Experience Culture, Revisit history, Explore Nature, Enjoy Leisure. Home to the remains of Lucayan villages and plantations, as well as the setting to several movies of pop culture such as Jaws and the Bond series. We boast several private beaches and event area for your day getaway, beach picnic, parties and other event. Whether you are here to connect with the past, nature, yourself or your spirit, Clifton welcomes you!
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.

Top ways to experience Clifton Heritage National Park and nearby attractions

See what travelers are saying
  • Philippe R
    Pezenas, France134 contributions
    Snorkeling into petroleum
    Great scuba diving until we swam into an oil leak from a tanker ship close by. Talking to the local people this boat has been here for 3 years and keep transferring petroleum to another tanker or pipeline. Parc manager has been fair and returned our money. It took us a lot of efforts to remove oil from our body, hair and material. This parc explains on their brochure everything they do to protect eco system….
    Visited December 2022
    Traveled with family
    Written December 30, 2022
  • Wendy B
    41 contributions
    Disappointing
    Gorgeous beach, blue water, sandy beach. No lawn chairs or public services. No rest rooms or wash areas. It is just a beach, the trails and viewing areas of the park have not been maintained.
    Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback and we are saddened you did not enjoy your experience with us. We are not quite sure which beach you were to, but there are restrooms on or near our private beaches and lounge chairs are brought out everyday for our guests to enjoy, once the weather allows.
    Written March 22, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited February 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written February 18, 2023
  • Marty C
    Gutersloh, Germany115 contributions
    Snorkeling was great but not happy that I was covered in a thin film of oil from
    Friendly staff, excellent Bahamian dish of the day at a good price. Snorkeling was great but not happy that I was covered in a thin film of oil from the oil depot 1/2 a mile away which put a downer on my day. The Bahamian Govt needs to wake up and think of an alternative, friendlier way of generating electricity. This pollution is such a shame and as a Bahamaian who lives overseas I feel disgusted with my home country.
    Visited March 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written March 10, 2023
  • DrLinda712
    Nassau, New Providence Island1 contribution
    Waste of time and money
    We paid $27 each for a tour guide who got there half an hour late and we got to see three slave buildings and a banana hole. They need to up their game. Very disappointing. Also, we paid $10 to be able to drive in our van, instead of walking and the signage is terrible. We got stuck in the sand because of the poor signage and ended up paying $250 for a wrecker to pull our van out of the sand. The waters at Cabbage Beach are beautiful. Getting to that beautiful beach is a nightmare. You all need to up your game.
    DrLinda712, We are saddened that you did not enjoy your experience with us but are grateful that you took the time to provide valuable feedback. We apologize that your experience was less than ideal, and we hope you will give us another chance to prove ourselves.
    Written September 24, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written September 12, 2023
  • 2CAM
    Little Chalfont, United Kingdom78 contributions
    No place for the over 65s
    No place for the over 65s! We weren’t actually able to visit this park, despite having rented a car for the day specifically so to do. We had not booked a tour because I had read the small print which says only age 12 to 65 years are allowed. However we thought we could do the snorkelling independently – but no! Despite us both being PADI certified divers, with considerable snorkelling experience we were not permitted. I cannot find this information anywhere on their website. There is no waiver. Yesterday we dived and snorkelled with sharks! Authorities decree we can’t make a risk decision for ourselves above a certain age. Disgusting and disappointing.
    Visited November 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written November 7, 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
753 reviews
Excellent
532
Very good
123
Average
41
Poor
29
Terrible
28

Sofia L
2 contributions
Nov 2023 • Couples
My boyfriend and I did the snorkeling at heritage park with our guide Javon. He was very informative. I have been snorkeling a few times before and this was the best snorkeling experience I’ve had. We saw tons of fish and even a southern sting ray. It lasted about 45min-1hour. They supply snorkel gear. So I would definitely recommend. There was also a beautiful beach 5 min walk from the snorkeling it was absolutely gorgeous and it was almost private. Thank you Javon we had so much fun.
Written 30 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello sofialU9245NK Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We will share this with the team (especially Javon) to let them know to keep up the amazing work. Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Written 1 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alexa K
2 contributions
Nov 2023 • Friends
We had stopped here during our ATV tour and it was a great experience. Once we got there, we were greeted by a lady who gave us a tour of different spots throughout the park. She was very knowledgeable and provided us with a lot of interesting information about the land and its history.
Written 27 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello alexak919, We are so grateful for your 5-star review. Thanks for sharing your rating with us and the community. Please come back and visit us on your return to Nassau. Have a safe trip back home.
Written 1 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gloria L
West Bloomfield, MI2 contributions
Nov 2023 • Family
It was a wonderful experience. We took the slave tour and really felt the tour guide brought everything alive for us! Lunch was good too! Octavia was the best! We loved the driver Joseph Ford. He gave us a history lesson on the ride to the park.
Written 27 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello 682gloriaw, Thank you for this awesome 5-star review and for taking the time to highlight our team members. At Clifton, we work hard to offer high-quality service to each of our guests. We will make sure to share this feedback with our team to give these star players the recognition they deserve. Thank you once again, and we hope you have a safe return home.
Written 1 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Xuxuxyay R
1 contribution
Nov 2023 • Family
This is definitely the best beach to go and get away from the crowds. I paid for the beach package and it was awesome. Our bus driver Mr. Ford picked us up at our hotel and dropped us off afterwards at the hotel. He had a lot of local knowledge about the Bahamas. Fantastic host!
Written 27 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for the kind rating, xuxuxyayr! We’re so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. Please come back and visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you back to the park on your return to Nassau.
Written 1 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Denise H
1 contribution
Nov 2023 • Family
A beautiful, secluded beach day, snorkeling, and amazing people. My family of four did the snorkeling deluxe tour while stopped in Nassau on a cruise. Joseph picked us up right outside of the cruise port and gave us historical facts and sites as we drove to the national park. Snorkeling was beautiful, there were several colorful fish, coral reefs, and the sunken statures were breath taking. After snorkeling, we were taken to one of the beaches at the park for a beach day. The beach was like a postcard and we had it all to ourselves! Joseph delivered lunch around noon and then came back at 2 to take us back to the cruise port. I would recommend this tour to anyone coming to New Providence Island.
Written 26 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
"The beach was like a postcard. " denisehE5387UJ, thank you for visiting with us and for your kind words- we truly appreciate it. We are ecstatic to know you enjoyed your experience at the park and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Hope you had a safe return home.
Written 1 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joseph H
1 contribution
Nov 2023 • Friends
Joseph Ford is an excellent tour guide, he provided tons of information on the island, customs, daily life, and an excellent history lesson. We had the beach all to ourselves. The snorkel adventure was amazing!!! Crystal clear waters!! Highly recommend, book your tour today!!
Written 26 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello josephhZ62EM. thank you for taking the time to provide this awesome 5-star rating. We truly value your opinion, as it helps us maintain an excellent standard of service to all our guests. Thank you once again for visiting with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the park in the near future.
Written 1 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Amber L
Raleigh, NC3 contributions
Nov 2023 • Family
Clifton Heritage National Park was totally worth the drive from Nassau/Paradise Island. We did the heritage tour with Octavia who was incredibly knowledgeable and entertaining. We learned so much about the history of New Providence and getting to see slave structures still standing over 200 years later was very memorable. Highly recommend!
Written 22 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello amberlevitt, Thank you so much for this great 5-star review. We really appreciate your business and helping to share the word about Clifton. Please come back and visit with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Nassau.
Written 1 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shanello
Hendersonville, TN1 contribution
Nov 2023 • Family
Vernita was very informative and kind. The historical tour was amazing, even picked fruit from Tamarind tree planted during the 1800s. Super Nostalgic vibes. Edmond and Javon provided safe transportation. My sister and I will definitely visit again!
Written 13 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Vacation51803724692 Thank you for sharing a review of your recent experience. Our team at Clifton is committed to providing high-quality customer service, and we’re thrilled to hear that we made a good impression on you. Please come back and visit us again. We hope you had a safe return home.
Written 1 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Marcy R
2 contributions
Nov 2023 • Friends
It was a beautiful experience. Defiantly would only recommend to people who know how to swim even with a life vest. So awesome to see and the tour guide Octavia was very knowledgable! Loved it, glad we went!
Written 13 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello marcyr524, Thank you for taking the time to leave this awesome 5-star review- we truly appreciate it. Yes, knowing how to swim is one of the requirements for our snorkel excursion. We are super thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future, during your return to Nassau.
Written 1 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Daydream31039952415
Georgetown, KY9 contributions
Nov 2023 • Family
If you want peace and solitude, this is the place to go. We visited two days in a row. The first day we wandered the property learning about the history and touring the ruins. The second day, we went for a guided snorkel tour and spent some time soaking up the sun and sea breeze on the beach which we had all to ourselves save a couple that was probably a hundred yards away. The snorkeling was beautiful and we were blessed to see a pair of eagle rays. All the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable.

We also got to see some local wildlife including a few hermit crabs, some giant caterpillars, terns, and little ghost crabs.
Written 12 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 722
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

CLIFTON HERITAGE NATIONAL PARK: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Clifton Heritage National Park

According to Tripadvisor travelers, these are the best ways to experience Clifton Heritage National Park:


Restaurants near Clifton Heritage National Park: View all restaurants near Clifton Heritage National Park on Tripadvisor