Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park

Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park

Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park
4.5
Nature & Wildlife AreasEco ToursForestsNature & Wildlife Tours
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM, 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
About
Immerse yourself in nature and learn about all renowned ecological projects on a guided tour featuring our efforts to protect and restore the Dominican Republic's unique species and develop innovative sustainable projects. The tour includes detailed explanations and visits to see the endemic Rhinoceros Iguana, the Apiary, the endemic Ridgway's Hawks, our YAUYA store, and last but not least our Indigenous Eyes Ecological Reserve (Inriri lagune).
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Meets animal welfare guidelines

Awards
Travelers' Choice
2023

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park
Travelers talk about
(6 reviews)
(6 reviews)
(6 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles997 reviews
Excellent
661
Very good
236
Average
62
Poor
18
Terrible
20

Trish
Sacramento, CA39 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Couples
Beautiful reserve to learn about their foundation and the importance of conserving the land! We had a wonderful tour guide, Mo! He was so passionate in his work that it draws you into everything he says. He was very friendly, knowledgeable and great personality. He made sure we were both on track literally with time and on the paths (several people kept wondering off) to ensure we were learning and spent good amounts of time to see spend at the lagoons. Thank you Mo for your wonderful work! The lagoons are the cherry on top of the trip! Beautiful & worth the tour!!
*Bring cash to Tip your tour guides generously. Show your appreciation for their handwork and kindness. They remind us of teachers… patient, knowledgeable, giving everyone what they paid for BUT have to stop to ask those politely not to wondering off, don’t touch things they shouldn’t yet and deal with them asking for more time to play! (And these are the ones that don’t tip, smh)
Written February 3, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Joan F
Saint Paul, MN36 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Family
We arrived to the Punta Cana Resort and club to get tickets at 11:30 and planned on doing a self guided tour. Unfortunately the website for the ecological reserve was incorrect. Only guided tours are now allowed for visitors not staying at the resort and we couldn’t get a tour until 2. Not only that, the entrance fee is now $80 US dollars instead of $50 like the website stated. We debated just going home but had already spent $40 Uber to get there from Bahia principe. So we opted for our driver to take us to the local mall where we killed time for 2 hours. Adding trips to mall and back we have now spent another $25 in Uber fares.

The tour itself and tour guide were wonderful! We got to see the bee house, iguanas, some interesting trees, and then to the water lagoons. The lagoons were beautiful and refreshing. The water is deep so if someone doesn’t know how to swim bring a floatie or life jacket. Tour only includes 3 of the 12 lagoons but to me seemed enough. Our tour guide explained so much to us and spoke English very well.

Recommendations: since the reserve is not allowing self guided tours I recommend doing some of the combined tours that you see on trip advisor. That include transportation from your resort. Transportation from the north side of Punta Cana was just too expensive plus the Uber drivers aren’t allowed to enter the property unless you have the ticket card from the front of the resort where you buy the tickets. We were able to get to the park but had trouble getting an Uber on the way back. Luckily our guide was able to call security and get our driver through.
Written December 24, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

coolmammaa
1,675 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Solo
Their site says 80 pesos however when you arrive at the property they inform you the website has an error and it’s 80 US DOLLARS !!! Absurd!!!!!!
Just to enter and visit the place
Obnoxious and they should prioritize fixing the website before anything else
I drove from far to find this out!!!!
Written December 24, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tatsiana B
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Family
We booked our tour to Ojos Indigenas reserve through Westin Punta Cana hotel where we stayed. We have 2 children and the cost to visit was $160. Upon arrival we were assigned a tour guide Helen who told us that she is a coordinator of the program. We have visited Punta Cana about 5 years ago and went to swim in lagoons almost every day during our stay. My daughter has been dreaming for 5 years coming back to swim in the lagoons. This time, Helen took us to only one lagoon as she said we were not allowed to see any other lagoons, which was done to protect the reserve, so people do not disturb nature and leave trash and cigarettes (?!?). I could understand and respect this rule, however, while my family was swimming in the one lagoon where we were allowed, there were a few other groups of people that were roaming around free in the reserve anywhere they wanted and they were not limited to number of lagoons they could see or the time of their visit. Those people were also tourists like us. Helen explained that because they booked their vacation with Airbnb, they are able to get in the park for $10 without a tour guide and allowed to spend as much time as they wanted. I cannot describe my children's disappointment and confusion of why we were only allowed to swim for 30 minutes while guarded by Helen while groups of other people are allowed to be there with no restrictions. And that is not even mentioning that we contributed $160 and other people did not. We asked Helen to stay at the lagoon longer, but I think she was bored sitting there watching us swim and told us we had to go. After a walk back to the center she said we can spend some time in the store, which we did not want to do, so she called our hotel to get our shuttle to come get us. My husband told her that it's only been 1.5 hours (instead of 2 hours advertised) of our tour and that we feel cheated by such treatment to which she said "ok, thank you" and left.
Later that day I emailed the manager Jake Kheel and asked to come back to the reserve in the next two days while in Punta Cana and he never responded to my request. This was the worst our family has been treated in DR and it left very bad taste in our mouth.
Written November 28, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your honest feedback and concerns. Los Ojos Eco Journey is a new experience, and we are working to improve both the park infrastructure, as well as the guest experience. We regret that the experience did not meet your expectations. As we continue to improve the excursion, frank feedback like yours is invaluable to us. As we discussed while you were in Punta Cana, we offered a refund as a gesture of recognition of your comments. As we also discussed, Los Ojos Eco Journey does not include a visit to all 12 lagoons within the Ecological Reserve. We have reviewed all of our official materials and did not find any mentioning otherwise. The other lagoons are part of a different trail that is visited by our researchers, foundation staff, resort homeowners, and guests of Tortuga Bay. This is part of our strategy to reduce the footprint of visitors throughout the reserve. Los Ojos Eco Journey is part of our Foundation’s mission to protect and restore the natural resources of the Punta Cana region. We have worked hard over the last 30 years to guarantee the sustainability of the Punta Cana region. All proceeds from Los Ojos Eco Journey go to support our ambitious agenda of social and environmental initiatives. We truly appreciate your support and hope that we can improve on your last experience in a future visit.
Written December 5, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rachel D
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Couples
We booked the Eco Journey tour through the Ojos Indigenas website and had a lovely experience with our guide 'Mo'. He shared information about the hawks, bees, and iguanas of the Dominican. The best part of the tour was swimming for over an hour in two of the lagoons! We even had the first lagoon to ourselves for awhile, and later saw a few other groups. So beautiful and refreshing! I only wish we had more time to explore more of the lagoons!
Written November 21, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Manuel V
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Friends
I was there with friend and was amazing!! You need to go first to the visitors center and then enjoy the places there!!
Written September 8, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lacy
Lumberton, MS20 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Couples
The views were amazing! We took lots of pictures we will forever keep! Lots of memories made it here!
Written August 30, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

eosopon
7 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Family
2nd trip to DR and to the Eco park. (First trip was in 2016)

Good.
Beautiful park with amazing fresh water pools.
Crystal clear, very cool and refreshing.
Nice hike through the park, take shoes not sandals (Pack sandals for pool area)
Nice mini tour with guide.
Guides are very knowledgeable and very friendly.
Speak primarily English and Spanish.

Not good.
$50 USD to get in.
Visited one pool with a 45 minute time limit.
It used to be free and it used to be a self guided tour with unlimited access to park and all pools.
Now like all other things its about money and tips. Was really looking forward to visiting the park multiple days but have to pay each time.

Worst part about the park now is that we reserved through are hotel. We visited and went swimming in the first pool and then told we could only see and take pictures at one other pool. We were told only guest staying at certain villas or certain resorts had full access. We saw several families walking and swimming freely with no limits. Our group just stood around watching and being told by the guide we had to stay together and exit the park because we were on a time limit.

Summary.
If it’s your first time, it might be worth it but expect to be on a time limit and only visit one pool.
I would look for other options to see if access to other pools is available and access to the big pool is really the best option.
Written July 24, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tom
Stonehaven, UK7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Couples
Great informative tour - very relaxed. We booked as it was cheaper to do this than get a taxi from our hotel to the Cenote we wanted to swim in.

The cenote was lovely. Added bonus was to see the abandoned hotel on the beach and also witness first hand the devastating effect the seaweed issue is having on some of the less popular beaches.

Moto moto and Panda were great guides - woukd recommend if you fancy a chilled day out of the resort.
Written July 13, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

alex t
London, UK32 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 • Couples
Such and amazing place.
Go, take a swim, relax and get away from crowd at Bavaro beach.
It is expensive but worth every penny.
Written June 29, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 467

INDIGENOUS EYES ECOLOGICAL PARK (Punta Cana) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

All Punta Cana HotelsPunta Cana Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Punta Cana
All things to do in Punta Cana
Day Trips in Punta CanaCasinos & Gambling in Punta Cana
RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars