We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Topiary Wines

Wemmershoek Rd | La Tramontagne Farm, Wemmershoek, Franschhoek 7691, South Africa
+27 21 867 0258
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent all the way...

Our last stop on the Garden Route ,and we were not disappointed,we were met by Laurence who gave us... read more

Reviewed March 9, 2018
Shelley C
,
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
via mobile
Soak up the peace and quiet

This is a self catering stopover with twin cottages available all you need to cater for yourself if... read more

Reviewed February 21, 2018
bob_cope2
,
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Read all 71 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Topiary is a working wine farm in the stunning Franschhoek valley. It is the only solely French owned farm in Franschhoek (The French corner of the South African winelands). Owners Philippe Colin; a fourth generation Chassagne Montrachet winemaker and consultant sommelier from Nice; Serge Jaczynski have a passion for the unique terroir found at Topiary. Two brand new guest cottages and a deluxe honeymoon suite opened in 2015. Also visit the Topiary tasting room where you can sample 5 magnificent wines, with in depth explanations by a professional wine adviser. All while swimming in an unmatched view of the Franschhoek valley.
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good22%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“self catering” (4 reviews)
“swimming pool” (4 reviews)
“stayed nights” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: < 1 hour
LOCATION
Wemmershoek Rd | La Tramontagne Farm, Wemmershoek, Franschhoek 7691, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 867 0258
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"self catering"
in 4 reviews
"swimming pool"
in 4 reviews
"stayed nights"
in 2 reviews
"min drive"
in 2 reviews
"the cottages"
in 3 reviews
"a great stay"
in 3 reviews
"honeymoon suite"
in 3 reviews
"small kitchen"
in 2 reviews
"rooms are spacious"
in 2 reviews
"buy wine"
in 2 reviews
"cellar tour"
in 2 reviews
"tasting room"
in 3 reviews
"stunning views"
in 2 reviews
"south africa"
in 2 reviews
"wine estate"
in 2 reviews
"lawrence"
in 25 reviews
"braai"
in 7 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Our last stop on the Garden Route ,and we were not disappointed,we were met by Laurence who gave us a tour of the winery which was extremely fascinating ,followed by tasting of some excellent wines ,it was a pleasure to be able to discuss the...More

Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceWhite, Manager at Topiary Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review Shelley, We always try to show off a little of our wine passion to our guests in order to make the whole stay as authentic as possible. Sometimes it can be hard though concentrating on wines when...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2018

This is a self catering stopover with twin cottages available all you need to cater for yourself if you wish. Toaster, coffee maker and single electric hob plus barbecue area out on the extensive patio area. This overlooks the vineyards vines and has an amazing...More

Thank bob_cope2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceWhite, Manager at Topiary Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Thanks so much for your review Bob. I am glad you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the views and the barbecue. Thank yopu for the book i enjoyed it very much. Pop in to Topiary whenever you return to Franschhoek Best regards Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

I arrived here wanting to taste and buy some wines, but the lady in the reception area said she could not help me. Apparently the front-office person was conducting a wine tour. She said he would not be long, but 10 minutes later, we were...More

Thank TAJagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceWhite, Manager at Topiary Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Good day TAJagain I would like to sincerely apologise for the service you received at Topiary. I can assure you this is not our standard and unfortunately on the day you came an unwell member of staff had meant we had to leave a cleaner...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2018

We are on a business trip wine buying and need a place to rest our heads. The cottages at Topiary are very good everything you need to self cater (no oven) but a BBQ with everythihng provided and views to die for!More

Thank Marian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceWhite, Manager at Topiary Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review Marion, It is always a pleasure to have you stay at Topiary. We believe our views are among the best in Franschhoek and our stunning wines are the cherry on the cake Visit again when you return...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

I enjoyed the quiet and peacefull setting combined with an amazing view. Everything was perfect and thanks to Laurence I had a great wine tasting experience. Will definitely recommend and visit again.More

Thank J.C. V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceWhite, Manager at Topiary Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thanks so much for your kind review JCV. We try to make our tasting experience an interesting and informative experience. Topiary though is all about the views and the tranquillity and peace of the farm Come and stay with us again when you return to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We were sleeping in de bridal suite, which was Wonderfull! Very spacious and an amazing bathroom! Bistro La Paris is close by and perfect for breakfast. We would love to visit again.

Thank Marloes2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceWhite, Manager at Topiary Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thanks so much for your kind review Marloes. I am very glad you enjoyed our Honeymoon suite. We aim to offer a little luxury on a working wine farm. Visit us again the next time you are in South Africa,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 December 2017

It's a long story but due to a change in ownership the 2013 shiraz is still availble now (Dec 2017). It was recommended to us in a local wine store and after tasting it we visited the winery. We had a very informative wine tasting...More

Thank Bucketlistmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceWhite, Manager at Topiary Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thanks so much for your review Bucketlistmania. Our Shiraz 2013 is a stunning wine and we are lucky that we still have a small amount and we get to taste it when its drinking so well. Stock up the next time you are in the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

We can’t wait to stay here again and bring our family. So relaxing and quiet as it sits far away from the road (unlike many wineries in the area). Lawrence took great care of us! See you soon!

Thank nicoletakesflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceWhite, Manager at Topiary Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review nicoletakesflight. Topiary is all about the views and the peace and tranqulity. We have both in spades. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Visit again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2017

The two of us had a fantastic time at Topiary. The location feels isolated and tranquil, without being cut off from the town by distance. The finishing in the rooms is lovely, and even the honeymoon unit we spent one of our nights in was...More

Thank dgeorgeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceWhite, Manager at Topiary Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review dgeorgeza. We find our cottages are the perfect place to relax amid the vineyards with the stunning view up to the Helshoogte pass but for that little extra indulgence and privacy the Honeymoon suite takes relaxation one...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Our stay at Topiary just hit the spot with us on every level. The room is lovely and catered for all our needs (Little things, hairdryer, tissues, coffee pod maker...) BUT, what blew me sideways was the view and the situation. There is a large...More

Thank _marsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LawrenceWhite, Manager at Topiary Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for your kind review _Marsberg. We find there is no better way to recharge your batteries than with a bottle of Topiary rose on our deck watching the sun set over the mountains. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Wemmershoek Hotels
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
885 reviews
6.84 km away
Leeu Estates
121 reviews
7.02 km away
Simondium's Country Lodge
18 reviews
7.45 km away
La Residence
325 reviews
8.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
La Paris Bistro
29 reviews
3.46 km away
The Werf Restaurant
129 reviews
7.40 km away
Boschendal restaurant
262 reviews
6.45 km away
Ou Meul Farmstall Simondium
12 reviews
7.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lynx Wines
299 reviews
.69 km away
Boschendal Manor & Winery
1,156 reviews
7.50 km away
Eikehof
161 reviews
2.65 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Topiary Wines staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;