We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plumpton Racecourse

Features Animals
Review Highlights
Reasonable Owner experience but....

...but with a bit of effort it could have been better. As with a number of racecourses, the retired... read more

Reviewed 31 January 2018
cannytraveler
,
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Great afternoon out, couldn't pick a winner though.

Went mid October, and the weather was wet, and whilst it could have dampened the day, it didn't as... read more

Reviewed 23 January 2018
AntonyHaase
,
Northampton, United Kingdom
Read all 110 reviews
102
All photos (102)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good27%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“race course”(5 reviews)
“parade ring”(4 reviews)
About
Plumpton is a hidden gem in the world of horseracing. The thrill of Jump racing, the joy of a win, delicious food and drink, and stunning rural backdrop provide a memorable sporting experience for everyone from novice to racing expert. We race 16...more
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Plumpton BN7 3AL, England
Website
+44 1273 890383
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Plumpton Racecourse
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
69
30
5
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
69
30
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews race course parade ring family fun day easy parking big crowd london victoria food outlets places to eat and drink free parking pot roast car park great afternoon ice cream van picnic area whole family local courses great fun
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 20 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2018

...but with a bit of effort it could have been better. As with a number of racecourses, the retired temporary staff employed come from an era when officialdom ruled and customer care hardly existed. The challenge we received when we entered the O/T car park...More

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank cannytraveler
Plumptonracecourse, Manager at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Good afternoon, Thank you for the review and we are glad that the journey from Shropshire was worth it. That said, we take on board your constructive comments and they will go into our season review and areas for development too, including staff training and...More

Reviewed 23 January 2018

Went mid October, and the weather was wet, and whilst it could have dampened the day, it didn't as the place is great, the atmosphere good and great facilities. it's an intimate racecourse, which means you are close to the action, easy access and in...More

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank AntonyHaase
Plumptonracecourse, Manager at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Many thanks Antony - hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, The Plumpton Team

Reviewed 15 January 2018

1. Poor management - in the morning they say racing is going ahead and no inspection planned - then they call it off. The weather forecast didn't change. 2. Poor communication - even after it was called off there was nothing on the main part...More

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank Brighton9
Plumptonracecourse, Manager at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Good afternoon, We are of course very sorry to all racegoers for yesterdays abandonment - it was very unfortunate and we can of course understand the frustration of customers. Despite how I am sure it looks and feels, we did everything we could to get...More

Reviewed 8 January 2018

We headed to Plumpton racecource to surprise my brother for his Birthday I have been before but my daughter and the party we were joining had not. Yes a great result for me with 2 first places and 3 3rds helped but the course didn't...More

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank liquidpleasure
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We had not been to this racecourse before but have been to a number of racecourses in England. Easy to get around, good facilities, food outlets were reasonable and a free racecard was a nice surprise. Would come back.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank DianeHerts
Plumptonracecourse, Marketing Executive at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your first visit to Plumpton and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Harriet Brown

Reviewed 3 October 2017

had a great time!! people were so friendly and helpful. even the bookmakers!!! will deff be back!!! the train stops at the course which was an added bonus.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank bnb83
Plumptonracecourse, Marketing Executive at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear you liked our friendly atmosphere and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Harriet Brown Marketing Executive

Reviewed 3 October 2017

A beautiful late summer, early autumn day was the perfect backdrop for a very fun accessible trip out to the races. With fun activities for the kids there is something for the whole family. Donkey rides, face painting and a climbing wall all came included...More

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 75alil
Plumptonracecourse, Marketing Executive at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your review! Indeed, accompanied under 18's always get free admission at Plumpton Racecourse. We too believe it's worth getting Grandstand and Paddock tickets on feature days - not only can racegoers also enjoy the picnic enclosure/centre course, but they also get to...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Never disappointing, a great way to spend a few hours. Staff always helpful-especially on-line. Recommend a visit!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: September 2017
Thank mrsmuttley2017
Plumptonracecourse, Marketing Executive at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear you always enjoy your day with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Harriet Brown Marketing Executive

Reviewed 3 October 2017

i always go the sunday meetings and always the service is second to none racing good food good and are looked after from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: September 2017
Thank stewart1charlton2
Plumptonracecourse, Marketing Executive at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our customer service and are delighted to hear you enjoy the Sunday meetings. Our next Sunday meeting is the Sussex National raceday on Sunday 7th January. Harriet Brown Marketing Executive

Reviewed 2 October 2017

Always a good day out. Really enjoy being able to step off a train and straight onto the course. Good selection of places to eat and drink and some enjoyable activities for the kids.More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: September 2017
Thank jock1978
Plumptonracecourse, Marketing Executive at Plumpton Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your review! We are only an hour from London by train with direct routes from Hastings and Eastbourne as well. Our next raceday is on Monday 23rd October in half term, with action from the Shetland ponies ahead of the day's racing!...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Bull
311 reviews
3.60 km away
Newmarket Inn
288 reviews
6.79 km away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
579 reviews
6.80 km away
The Shelleys
442 reviews
7.49 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
The Half Moon Pub
437 reviews
2.45 km away
The Nutmeg Tree
60 reviews
3.68 km away
The Rainbow Pub & Carvery
62 reviews
4.35 km away
Forget Me Not Cafe & Tearoom
31 reviews
4.58 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
UpMarket 22
19 reviews
5.72 km away
Made and Making
47 reviews
6.36 km away
Ridgeview Wine Estate
79 reviews
3.85 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
DaveyGEastbourneUK
10 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Plumptonracecourse | Property representative |
Hi. Yes you can. There is a footbridge which takes you to a path which leads all the way to the gate. It is sign posted. If you would like any more info do please give us a call on 01273890383.
1
Vote