We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lava Tourist Service Center: Tours & Tickets

Features Animals
Closed Now: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
All photos (444)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good12%
  • Average2%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“extreme hike”(35 reviews)
“cerro chato”(61 reviews)
We do hiking tours, book different kind of nature excursions, reserve a wide variety of action adventure activities, help plan and book transportation and we have the best lodging deals.
Certificate of Excellence
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Local 3 edificio Adifort, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
+506 2479 8004
Improve This Listing
Red Lava Tourist Service Center Tours and Tickets
from US$87.00
More Info
from US$38.00
More Info
from US$80.75
More Info
from US$75.00
More Info
from US$40.00
More Info
from US$128.25
More Info
See all tours & tickets
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
More languages
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews extreme hike cerro chato arenal observatory hot springs la fortuna our tour guide costa rica face mask day hike plants and animals booked tours great tour hanging bridges full day tour these guys awesome guide super fun
Selected filters
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 581 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We did the full day La Fortuna, Arenal hike and hot springs. I loved the trip. The water fall was beautiful and the volcano hike was light-moderate with pretty scenery. Like some other reviews we were disappointed by the hot springs- its more a cluster...More

Thank dmbolto
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We had a great experience and our guide Anthony was knowledgeable, funny, and took plenty of pictures for us. The waterfall and volcano hike were beautiful and we loved having the knowledge of the guide along the way. We had a great interaction with a...More

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank pkief
RedLavaTsc, Owner at Red Lava Tourist Service Center, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi pkief, If you check the description of our tour now (or 4weeks ago and on) you will see that the hotspring description has changed. We visit a really nice little resort at the foot of the volcano in stead of the river. You booked...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was truly an amazing excursion packed with several activities. The tour guide Santiago was fantastic. He really made the tour fun with his enthusiasm and knowledge of the plants and animals in the area. Felt like we were in great hands with his experience....More

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Stay00760927259
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Red Lava Tours offers a very complete range of tours around La fortuna. You get great value for your pay and the guides are knowledgeable about the area and are easy-going.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank _robertprins2
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our tour guide, Christian, was the best as it gets. Anything I have to say about him and this hike would be an understatement. Knowing he has done these hikes for over 10+ years, he is just as enthusiastic as I would assume his first...More

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank klabeaune
Reviewed 16 September 2019

I just have to say that this is not meant for those who can't hike. There is A LOT of walking, hiking, climbing during this excursion. WEAR HIKING SNEAKERS, BRING WATER SHOES! You need the hiking shoes, for the hiking part, and the water shoes...More

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank KellyJ924
Reviewed 10 September 2019

Antonio and Miguel were excellent tour guides who successfully led the tour for both Spanish and English speakers. Without their guidance it would have been very difficult to see all of these attractions in one day, and they even found a sloth and a troop...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Blake R
Reviewed 5 September 2019 via mobile

Got off the bus station from San Jose and immediately booked all our three days excursions with them. They are very helpful and flexible. It was such a relief to know that everything has been arranged and that we were in good hands. Whatever company...More

Thank miguelmikog
Reviewed 23 August 2019 via mobile

This is by far the best trip for those choosing to have Adventures in Costa Rica. We started our morning with a bus trip to kayak the Arenal Dam. Everyone enjoyed even the novice and experienced kayakers the views can not even be described and...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank MustangAndy
Reviewed 19 August 2019

After we were picked up from our hostel at 7.30am, we went to the tour agency for awhile when our tour guide, Marcos was sorting out a small issue with the total number of guest before we went to La Fortuna waterfall. We had a...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank JennyTJL
View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 62 nearby hotels
Fortuna Downtown Inn
16 reviews
.05 km away
Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant
26 reviews
.11 km away
Hotel La Fortuna
580 reviews
.14 km away
Luigi's Hotel
143 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 216 nearby restaurants
Chifa La Familia Feliz
1,102 reviews
.09 km away
Yellow Bark
124 reviews
.10 km away
Tierra Mia
744 reviews
.07 km away
La Parrilla de Maria Bonita
940 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 212 nearby attractions
Espiritu Santo Coffee Tour
154 reviews
.06 km away
Bill Beard's Costa Rica
73 reviews
.13 km away
Iglesia de La Fortuna de San Carlos
90 reviews
.12 km away
Onirica Art Gallery
37 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
1 April 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sara F | Reviewed this property |
No. We had no changing area either. If you are going to Tabacon or another established site then there will be places to change but our tour ended in a roadside spot so it was free but there were no facilities at all.
25 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from lisaxoo |
the hike is not really difficult, but it will be very muddy when it rains (and the weather changes very often). the best is to rent rain boots. to the waterfall you have to go down about 400 steps and walk this back. I... More
Google Translation