We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
    South PacificNew ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionWanakaThings to Do in WanakaTours and Tickets

3-Hour Tour From Wanaka: Tandem Skydive From 12,000 Feet - with unbiased reviews

3-Hour Tour From Wanaka: Tandem Skydive From 12,000 Feet

Select Date and Travelers
2 travelers
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Low Price GuaranteeNo Booking Fees
Enjoy a 20-minute scenic ride to altitude on this 3-hour sky diving adventure from Wanaka. Strap yourself to a beautiful stranger and soar over the stunning Southern Alps. You will have amazing views over the snow capped mountains, glaciers, lakes and the South island's longest River, the Clutha. Skydiving is one of life's must do's and Wanaka is one of the most stunning places to tick off your bucket list. Free transport from central Wanaka is included.
What to Expect
This is a typical itinerary for this product

Stop At: Mount Aspiring National Park, Ballantyne Rd, Wanaka New Zealand
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
102 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
  • Tandem Skydive
  • Safety briefing with experienced Jump master
  • All safety equipment
  • Complimentary transport ex Wanaka and Queenstown
  • Photo or Video package on USB (available to purchase)
  • Skydive Wanaka merchandise ie t-shirts, sunglasses (available to purchase)
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • All persons over 95kg are subject to Tandem Master assessment at the drop zone. Persons 95kg – 104.9kg will incur a weight surcharge of $50, Persons 105kg-114.9kgs will incur a weight surcharge of $75 and those over 115kgs+ will incur a weight surcharge of $100 (payable at time of check in).
  • The minimum weight is 30kg/66lbs and all passengers must be big enough to fit safely into the harness.
  • Customers under the age of 18 years, must have adult onsite to sign waiver
  • Not recommended for participants with heart complaints, back problems or if pregnant
  • Allow 2.5 hours return trip ex Wanaka. Complimentary transport is available from i-SITE Wanaka – 103 Ardmore Street, Wanaka (for on-the-hour trips).
  • Allow 5.5 hours return trip ex Queenstown. Complimentary transport is available from New Zealand Skydive Centre, 35 Shotover Street, Queenstown for 9am and 2.30pm trips only. Check in at 7.15am and 1.15pm respectively.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Pets are welcome
  • Infant seats available
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Traveler rating
  • 15
  • 3
  • 3
  • 3
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Popular mentions
adrianc wrote a review Nov 2019
15 contributions1 helpful vote
Thank you so much Team Skydive Wanaka. It was our first trip to NZ and Skydive experience. Due to bad weather, we had to reschedule a couple times but eventually took the leap of faith to reschedule our other activities and drove back to Wanaka for our jump. I'm glad we made
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Lynette wrote a review Sep 2019
14 contributions
What a life changing experience!!! It was my first dive and there are just no words to describe the emotions and the high I felt, except to experience it yourself. All credits go to Team Wanaka Skydiving! Special reach out the my fabulous and lovely instructor... The Beautiful
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Hank wrote a review Sep 2019
16 contributions5 helpful votes
My instructor didn't talk much the way up to the sky, neither did he during the fall. I felt really uncomfortable at the moment the parachute opened. Perhaps there was something wrong with my body position. Since it was my first time doing this, he should've given me more
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Response from KirstyB1643, Front Office Manager at 3-Hour Tour From Wanaka: Tandem Skydive From 12,000 Feet
Responded 7 Sep 2019
Kia Ora Bodomphantom, Thank you for choosing Skydive Wanaka, we are sad to read that you feel your experience was anything but amazing. We always strive to ensure our customer's experience is beyond the ordinary from start to finish. As you can imagine all our Beautiful Strangers (tandem masters) are highly trained professionals. Each has their own unique personality; some of which are more reserved and shy than others. In saying this communication is always a top priority, hence we would like to look into this further; could please email your full name and skydive date to kirsty@skydivewanaka.com. Kind regards, Kirsty
Read more
Alexander W wrote a review Apr 2019
81 contributions22 helpful votes
Absolutely phenomenal experience. Never done skydiving before and absolutely loved it. Perfect weather and absolutely stunning scenery. If you are going to spend this much on an activity do it with some incredible views. Absolutely brilliant day and the hand held videos were of
Read more
Response from Phoebe C, Guest Relations Manager at 3-Hour Tour From Wanaka: Tandem Skydive From 12,000 Feet
Responded 7 May 2019
Hello, Thanks for sharing your feedback. We are so happy to read that you had such a fantastic time. Our Tandem Masters still get blown away by the scenery here too, even though they see it every day. We are spoiled with our mountain, lake, river, glacier, views. Thanks for jumping with Skydive Wanaka.
Read more
SachinRS wrote a review Mar 2019
2 contributions
As a group of 9 people who all enjoyed our jump and sky-dive experience, we were disappointed by a number of things: 1. A few of the instructors need to be trained to make the experience more comfortable and enjoyable. They should be polite, and reciprocative. 2. Lack of on-site
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
Response from Phoebe C, Guest Relations Manager at 3-Hour Tour From Wanaka: Tandem Skydive From 12,000 Feet
Responded 17 Mar 2019
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to submit some feedback. We pride ourselves on amazing customer service, offering customers from all over the world an exceptional experience, so we were disappointed to hear that you didn’t feel like you were provided that standard of service with our instructors. We will certainly look into this and will investigate further. We are not doctors, and therefore can not offer any medical advice, hence we don’t have on-site medical assistance. Some members of your group felt motion sickness after their skydive. We encouraged them to drink something sweet and fizzy to help with the motion sickness, and tried to ensure they were as comfortable as possible, but we really cannot provide medical services. We are sorry to hear that you felt the cost of the videos and photos was exorbitant. Our Tandem Masters/Cameramen are fully trained and experienced to take videos and photos while skydiving. The price reflects the experience, time, skill and equipment required to be able to offer such an incredible product. We believe the prices for camera are industry standard, and the product we deliver is premium. We are glad you did enjoy your enjoy and experience, and we will be sure to take the rest of your feedback on board. Thank you.
Read more
Key Details
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071