We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  • Electronic Voucher Accepted
  • Languages Offered: English
Itinerary

Your tour departs from the café at the Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon, where, wearing warm clothes and sensible hiking shoes, you'll greet your guide. From here, you’ll board a vehicle for the short drive to the Vatnajokull Glacier, one of the largest glaciers in Europe.

On arrival, you’ll descend to the glacier’s subterranean caverns and spend the next 40 minutes discovering frozen caves, deep crevasses, and unique ice formations. Capture photographs of magical light reflections and learn about the glacier’s geographical formation from your guide.

Return to your original departure point at the Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon at the end of your tour.

Locations visited
Jokulsarlon Lagoon
Vatnajokull Glacier
Overview

Satisfy your appetite for adventure on this 3-hour ice cave tour of the Vatnajokull Glacier from Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon. Alongside your guide, you’ll delve into the subterranean caverns of the Vatnajokull Glacier, one of Europe’s largest glaciers, and capture stunning photographs of stalactites, stalagmites, and unique ice formations. Receive personalized attention in a small group limited to six and choose from several departure times throughout the day.

Highlights
  • 3-hour cave tour of the Vatnajokull Glacier from Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon
  • Ideal for adventurous travelers
  • Discover the subterranean caverns of one of Europe's largest glaciers
  • Capture photographs if stalactites, stalagmites, and unique ice formations
  • Receive personalized attention in a small group limited to six
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveler rating
0
0
0
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
0
0
0
2
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 5 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2018
Massively overpriced

Whilst I couldnt fault the service as such, I was very disappointed with this experience on the whole. We opted for the early morning tour from Jokulskarlon, which apparently was so early that not even the cafe/toilet facility nearby could be bothered to open to...More

2  Thank NickOswald
Ragnheiður Harp... H, Public Relations Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear NickOswald , thank you for taking the time to write us this review.  We are so sorry that this was your experience and we can assure you that this will be taken into the discussion at the next quality meeting. Our guides take courses and...More

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile
Poor service on refund process for cancelled tour

Ice cave tour was cancelled due to weather. However, there was no follow up on refund. I emailed them a few times but they did not even reply. The funny thing was, they replied promptly when I enquired about their private tour before I booked...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ragnheiður Harp... H, Public Relations Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi there, thank you for your feedback, we are sorry that this was the experience. The refund shouldn't take more than 10 working days. If it still hasn't gone through please check with our customer service they will be happy to assist. Have a good...More

Reviewed 4 January 2018
A huge disappointment: no 'guided tour'

What we got was certainly not a tour, but a lift to the ice cave and the use of helmets and snow crampons. In the cave proper, the 'guide' simply showed us the end of the cave, and then spent the rest of the time...More

4  Thank Iidabee
RagnheidurHarp, Public Relations Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Iidabee, first, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We are terribly sorry that this was your experience whilst on your tour with us. This is not in line with any of our guidelines and is...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile
Very disappointing

For the extortionate price this "tour" was very disappointing. You are met at the lagoon and taken to the ice cave in a big 4x4 which is probably the most exciting part of the tour. When you get to the cave you are met by...More

3  Thank Adam A
RagnheidurHarp, Public Relations Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Hi Adam A, Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry to hear about your experience.  The Crystal ice cave has for a long time been one of our most popular tours and most are very fond of it. It is, like you say,...More

Reviewed 1 December 2017
Kind of disappointing

We were really excited about this one, and it turned out the cave was barely a few meters long... not much to explore and being left there 40 minutes turns boring at points (even for the tour guide) I guess the most exciting part was...More

3  Thank carlosteclas
RagnheidurHarp, Public Relations Manager at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear carlosteclas, thank you for taking the time to write us about your experience. We apologize for the tour not meeting your expectations and will definitely look into ways to improve. Ice caves are natural phenomenons and here in Iceland they are greatly affected by...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Crystal Ice Cave Tour from Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Travelers Also Viewed