Tours and Tickets

Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk provided by Franz Josef Glacier Guides

Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk

Save
Share
Select Date and Travelers
From
US$49.23
Date
2 adults
Options
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Low Price Guarantee
No Booking Fees
Overview
Hike to Franz Josef Glacier along the Waiho River on a half-day guided hiking tour that explores local ecology, history, and the terminal face of the glacier itself. Since the hiking tour includes equipment, from boots to waterproof clothing, you don’t need specialized gear to explore Franz Josef Glacier, and group size is limited to 13 hikers to ensure personal service from the guide.
Highlights
  • Soak in hot pools after a glacier valley hike
  • Follow the path of the glacial retreat up a scenic valley
  • Learn about the glacier’s history and Maori legends
  • Come as you are: all hiking equipment is provided
What to Expect
Make your way to the Franz Josef hiking base camp, get suited up with equipment for the day’s conditions, then take a short bus ride to the trailhead. Set out along the glacier valley, following the Waiho River that marks the glacier’s retreat. As you walk, the guide shares the story of Ka Roimata o Hinehukatere, as well as the natural history of the Franz Josef Glacier. Once you near the terminal face, you get to cross over the public barrier for a brief climb to a viewpoint over the glacier. After the return hike down the glacier valley, this tour concludes with a transfer back to the base camp; since you have tickets to the Glacier Hot Pools that are attached to the hiking base camp, you can soak tired muscles in warm water following the trek.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
63 Cron Street, Franz Josef Glacier 7886, New Zealand
Duration
3h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • 3-hour guided glacier tour
  • Professional guide
  • All equipment
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Show More
Additional Info
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum age is 6 years
  • The glacier walks are quite challenging as the valley floor is undulated and becomes steeper nearer the terminal face, and clients need to be fit and able.
  • Operates in all weather conditions
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 13 travelers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
148Reviews
14Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 48
  • 20
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
PopsPeter wrote a review Mar 2020
Witney, United Kingdom124 contributions21 helpful votes
Sophie took us on the glacial valley walk. We were lucky as the sun was out when we got our first view of the glacier. Sophie was a mine of information as we proceeded up the side of the river. The heavens opened and the mountains began to torrent. We made it to the glacier
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Response from Aimee_FJGG, Customer Service Supervisor at Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk
Responded 4 weeks ago
Kia Ora PopsPeter, Thank you for your review and feedback, we really appreciate it. It is wonderful to hear you had a great time on your Glacier Valley Walk even though the weather was playing games. We will pass on your lovely words to Sophie and the team here at the Franz Josef Glacier Guides. Thanks again and Safe Travels. Ngā mihi, Aimee
Read more
linda12349 wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom17 contributions9 helpful votes
Was unable to complete due to tour being cancelled. Very disappointed. We’re able to complete short path walk to closed barrier which was nice
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Response from Aimee_FJGG, Customer Service Supervisor at Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Kia Ora Linda12349, Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear you were unable to complete the tour as it was cancelled. Unfortunately we have had some rain lately which has resulted in track damage meaning we have either had to cancel or alter the Valley Walk trip over the past few days/weeks. It is never our intentions to have to cancel a tour, however safety of all guests and staff is paramount. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused. Ngā mihi, Aimee
Read more
aa2c wrote a review Feb 2020
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota8 contributions
We had a good experience. It was pouring rain, but our guides worked hard to make a good experience for us. Travelers should be aware that West Coast New Zealand weather is unpredictable and the waivers clearly say there are no guarantees. One should also be aware that the
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Response from Aimee_FJGG, Customer Service Supervisor at Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Kia Ora aa2c, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you had a good experience on the Glacier Valley Walk even though your time was cut short. Safety is always our number one priority and unfortunately mother nature had a mind of her own on the day of your trip! Thanks again! Ngā mihi, Aimee
Read more
MissMem wrote a review Feb 2020
Memphis, Tennessee1,034 contribution297 helpful votes
First off, this company is fantastic.....great equipment, great guides, great vibes. Our start was under gloomy skies in a rickety bus. Luke, a fantastic and very charismatic guide, drove us to the start of our 4 and 1/2K (round trip) river valley walk. The sky cleared, the
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Response from Aimee_FJGG, Customer Service Supervisor at Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Kia Ora MissMem, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is awesome to hear you had and awesome time on our Glacier Valley Walk and that the skies managed to clear up for you! I will pass on your kind words to Luke. Thanks again. Ngā mihi, Aimee
Read more
JimmyB_70srock wrote a review Jan 2020
Newcastle, Australia28 contributions7 helpful votes
We enjoyed our time with our guide, Jake, and his friendly and informative tour. There was no rush, and we all made the trip easily. We did not need the supplied gortex jackets as the weather was fine, but two of the teens appreciated the supplied socks and walking boots which
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Response from Aimee_FJGG, Customer Service Supervisor at Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Kia Ora JimmyB_70srock, Thank you for taking the time to place your review on TripAdvisor. It is great to hear you had an awesome time with your guide Jake on the Glacier Valley Walk. Also awesome to hear you didn't need the rain jackets, the weather must have been great! Thank you again and I will pass on your kind comments to Jake your guide. Ngā mihi, Aimee
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Franz Josef Glacier Guides
annedunne24
00
Truly amazing experience
The helihike was simply amazing. The Franz Joseph Guide Comnpnay were so professional, safety conscience and cover
Read more
jvmnatlparklover
00
Heli/hike on Franz Josef Glacier was super fun
The heli/hike tour on Franz Josef glacier was excellent. Our guide, Jake, was great. The hike on the glacier was lo
Read more
Hannah M
00
What an amazing experience
We knew that this was definitely something that we wanted to do when planning our trip to NZ. We were informed tha
Read more
Marilyn B
00
Guide was great
Darren, our guide was fantastic. I was a bit apprehensive, but he alleviated my concerns and helped me feel comfort
Read more
Lesleysayers
00
Best trip ever
Not to be missed. Very friendly and informative guide. Felt totally confident about level of safety on the heli hik
Read more
nicbur08
00
Must Do!!
We did the Heli-Hike and it did not disappoint! Amazing experience and Eliot was a fantastic guide! He kept us safe
Read more
sally b
00
Great experience
In 7 weeks away from home, this was the highlight. So lucky to get a weather window - trip was interesting as well
Read more
PaulandChris86
00
Professional and excellent experience
Could not fault the whole experience and would definitely recommend. Parking was no problem, booked in and introduc
Read more
Curious29772702048
00
Once in a lifetime photo opportunity, with problems
The glacier tour was awesome. Our guide was awesome. BUT, I had a miserabe experience with my camera gear. I nor
Read more
C2419XPdaniel
00
Wonderful time on glacier hike
Hiking on the Franz Josef Glacier was one of the highlights of my time in New Zeeland, and given how NZ has many wo
Read more
hugh m
00
Good but
As a scene setter I need to say this is our only helihike so we only went by tge videos etc. Tge preview days had r
Read more
MinnesotaLaurie
00
Fantastic Experience
The entire experience was great from the check in, prep with the guide, helicopter transfer, hike in glacier, guide
Read more
janetM2950YH
00
A trip to be repeated
My husband and I joined nine other people of varying ages and nationalities on the helihike. Our guide was excellen
Read more
352janetg
00
One of my favourite activities on the South Island.
Worth every penny even though I had been in helicopters before and on glaciers. This was a great experience. Our gu
Read more
Bob H
00
Franz Josef Glacier Heli-Hike, Franz Joseph
My wife and I did this excursion and had a fantastic time. We are both 70 years old and had wondered whether we cou
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 3h
  • Printed Paper Ticket Required
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+63 923-0990452