Tours and Tickets

Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah provided by Savannah Walks

Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah

Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah
4.5
Book in advance
from
₱1,413.41
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Visit different areas of the city on foot during this Savannah walking tour
Duration:
1h 30m
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
30
Wheelchair accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    1h 30m
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Group size:
    30
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
Diving into Savannah’s history isn’t something that’s easy to do on your own. This Savannah walking tour takes you through the Historic District and other areas with a guide, so you don’t miss a beat. Listen to stories about Savannah’s past and present that you might not hear otherwise, and get an overview of the city that’ll leave you feeling like an expert yourself.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • A guide tells you stories about Savannah’s past and present
  • A perfect overview of the city for first-time visitors
  • Choose from a morning or afternoon tour time to suit your needs
What to expect
This Savannah walking tour meets in the Historic District at Reynolds Square. Once you get a little acquainted with your guide and group, set off on foot through the city. Your guide dives into the history of Savannah, telling you stories about the American Revolutionary War, the Civil War, and colonial times. Stop by the city's main attractions and pass by lesser-known sites, eateries, and shops. During your tour, gain a sense for where to go to get certain types of food or souvenirs. This tour is really the perfect orientation to the city, and since you’re on foot, it’s easy to remember directions and street names as you walk. Your Savannah walking tour ends back in Reynolds Square.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 1h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • A guide tells you stories about Savannah’s past and present
  • A perfect overview of the city for first-time visitors
  • Choose from a morning or afternoon tour time to suit your needs
What to expect
This Savannah walking tour meets in the Historic District at Reynolds Square. Once you get a little acquainted with your guide and group, set off on foot through the city. Your guide dives into the history of Savannah, telling you stories about the American Revolutionary War, the Civil War, and colonial times. Stop by the city's main attractions and pass by lesser-known sites, eateries, and shops. During your tour, gain a sense for where to go to get certain types of food or souvenirs. This tour is really the perfect orientation to the city, and since you’re on foot, it’s easy to remember directions and street names as you walk. Your Savannah walking tour ends back in Reynolds Square.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 5897STROLL
Important information
Inclusions
  • Professional guide
  • Learning about Savannah's fascinating history
  • Seeing the history and culture firsthand
  • Hearing about the best shopping and dining spots
  • Getting an overview of this beautiful city
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
1h 30m
Departure details
  • 24 Habersham St, Savannah, GA 31401, USA Departure Point: Company: Savannah Walks Historic District North Address: Warren Square (Congress and Habersham Streets)
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund.
  • Comfortable walking shoes are recommended
  • Pets welcome
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
Inclusions
  • Professional guide
  • Learning about Savannah's fascinating history
  • Seeing the history and culture firsthand
  • Hearing about the best shopping and dining spots
  • Getting an overview of this beautiful city
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
  • 24 Habersham St, Savannah, GA 31401, USA Departure Point: Company: Savannah Walks Historic District North Address: Warren Square (Congress and Habersham Streets)
Duration
1h 30m
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund.
  • Comfortable walking shoes are recommended
  • Pets welcome
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
162 reviews
Excellent
117
Very good
21
Average
8
Poor
5
Terrible
11

Keith R
Orlando, FL20 contributions
Mar 2021 • Family
Our family of four loved the Savannah Stroll. William was our guide and he gave us a detailed history of the city’s past as he walked us down the cobblestone sidewalks. We learned the true stories behind Abe’s on Lincoln Street, the sad desecration of the old cemetery and much more. Our kids, 9 and 11, were exhausted by the end of the walk but I felt like exploring more of the city’s charm. We will definitely do this tour again next time we come back or one of the other tours by this company.
Written 13 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rachel R
1 contribution
Lawless was a great guide! His voice was strong and easy to understand. He had great stories that made the historic buildings really come to life. After the tour, we felt like we knew the lay of the land and confidently navigated to the other spots we wanted to see by foot (River Street, Forsyth Park, Cathedral of St. John the Baptist). The squares are such beautiful green spaces in the middle of the city and offer nice shade even on a hot day!
Written 3 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

christinecB481NH
Richmond, VA5 contributions
Mar 2020
We did a 1.5 hour walking tour with James our first morning in Savannah. He was very knowledgable and funny! He mixed in information about the founding and design of the city, civil war history, movies, historical homes, and current day events. Even our 2 teens were happy with the experience. It was a great way to get an introduction to the city and figure out what we wanted to do during the rest of our stay. We had great communication from the tour company and got a reminder text the night before about our trip (and setting our clocks forward since it was a change from daylight savings). I highly recommend the tour!
Written 15 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mary S
Clinton, NY31 contributions
Apr 2021 • Couples
This tour did not meet my expectations. Our guide talked mostly about the civil war and definitely gave the impression they thought the South was robbed of victory. If I heard “not that President, not that Lincoln” or that Savannah is the “prettier” sister city to Charleston one more time I would have left the tour. We walked in small circle, seeing monuments in 3 squares and a few historic buildings. I would have liked to have learned more about different aspects of the city. Our 90 minute “walking” tour included about about 1 mile of actual walking. We did not see advertised attractions of Forsyth Park, Juliette Gordon Lowe house, City Market, and River St. We heard nothing about modern accomplishments in the City and learned very little about the architectural building styles. I would not recommend this tour to anyone visiting for the first time who wants an overview of the City.
Written 8 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad S
Thank you for you review. Awful? We’re scratching our heads. How is that even possible? Your tour was two hours long and included 1.8 miles of actual walking. This is a history tour. Not a modern accomplishment of the city tour. The architecture is covered on the Historic Homes tour. The Civil War tour has been our most popular tour for 25 years and we do add the highlights on this tour that everyone enjoys. Perhaps you should have booked one of our private tours that would have been crafted to meet your specific expectations.
Written 9 April 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Steve W
Port Orange, FL3 contributions
May 2021 • Couples
Please for the love of god find another tour. The guide couldn’t string a coherent sentence together, attempted to educate us on “the decoration of independence”, and lost us when he attempted to describe how concrete works. We left the tour less than 30 minutes in - it was a complete and utter waste of money and time.
Written 15 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad S
Is this review some kind of joke? Our guides are highly educated and have years of experience giving tours. Surely this review was written in error! We reported this review to TripAdvisor so they can review it further.
Written 15 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

rabsfried
2 contributions
Dec 2020
Our guide was knowledgeable about the Historic District. While he tried to engage with the group, he didn't seem to put in a lot of effort and didn't connect. The route was well organized, both walking through the district and moving from the past to the present. Our group felt a bit too large to hear him without a microphone, especially in areas where there was traffic or construction.

Little to no COVID precautions were taken. Guide never wore a mask (but he carried one in his hand), no temperature checks, did not enforce mask wearing, and in fact, encouraged us to get closer rather than social distance. At the beginning, he said "everyone wear masks, it is required" but did not even check if everyone had a mask before leaving, let alone during the tour. Our tour group was about 30 people, which was much larger than our party of four expected. As a result, we felt the need to hang near the back to avoid being around other unmasked and undistanced parties.
Written 30 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad S
Thank you for the review. I’m happy to clarify things. We are fortunate to be able to offer our tours in the “open-air”, an ideal way to more safely enjoy our city! While we do require our guides to remind every guest at the beginning of each tour, every single time, of the city of Savannah‘s request that masks be worn, sometimes, out of necessity, guests -and occasionally guides- will pause during the tour to take a drink or may temporarily remove their mask to breath after a jaunt, which is what appeared to be the case on this tour. If someone has temporarily removed their mask, we leave it up to the individual adult to check themselves and have not had an issue with guests agreeing to honor the suggested protocol overall. We wish you had had a better time! Please know, that on our tours, we don’t want to turn anyone away and sometimes, we have groups of up to 30 people, which is what the city allows (and, by the way, the use of voice amplification devices is strictly prohibited by city ordinance). If it would make you more comfortable and you would like to guarantee that your tour group is on the smaller side, we invite you to book one of our private tours, which is always an option! You can message the company for these alternative rates and opportunities. We strive to take care of our customers and, under the current climate, we do our very best to ensure a great time - and a safe time - is had by all!
Written 30 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

apjnjp
1 contribution
My friend and I were so excited to take our first tour in Savannah! We arrived at the address provided, which was a resident. We were confused so we drove around the block thinking we might have missed some signage for the meeting place. The guide had watched us go around the block a couple times. Once he got out of his car, he was sarcastic when he noticed our confusion. We parked and ignored his rudeness.

Once we realized we were at the correct place there were others already waiting and talking with the guide. When we arrived he never recognized us or introduced the others in the group to us.
We were unfortunately the “elephant in the room”. Because he didn’t make us feel welcome the others on the tour followed his lead.

There were attempts to make small talk with the rest of the group however a polite cold answer was what we received in return. We went along with them and did learn some things about the squares of early Savannah etc., but would have enjoyed it much more without petty comments such as we don’t recognize Lincoln there. Sad. I thought we’d gotten past those petty attitudes. If you are someone of color I would discourage you from this tour. It was not not worth the time or money.
Written 18 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad S
We are very sorry to hear about your experience. But we are wondering if you were on the correct tour? Since you were late for your tour, the guide may have already started and tried to graft you into the tour. That’s my guess. Our guides are extremely experienced in the field of customer service and would never allow any guests to feel out of place. Perhaps we can explore this further and find out which tour company and tour guide you were with and have this negative removed at the same time. The guide was absolutely correct when addressing Lincoln street. It is not named after Abraham Lincoln!
Written 18 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

walt
Boston, MA8 contributions
Very disappointing 2 hour walk. It appeared that the guide was proud of the Confederacy and that he was still fighting the war. He did talk about Savannah’s role in the revolutionary war, but was more focused on on the civil war period. He was happy to tell us that the confederate constitution comes out of a museum every year and gets read to the public. While I am white, I would have preferred a tour that had a robust perspective from a black persons point of view., particularly if there is going to be an emphasis on the Civil War.
Written 2 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad S
Your guide gave the Savannah Stroll Historic tour and did include elements of the Civil War history in the tour. The Civil War material is told from the perspective of Savannah at the time of the War circa 1864. It is certainly not an apologetics tour given to pacify our current woke culture. It sounds like your concerns are more from a personal bias rather than historical accuracy. Never the less, our tours have been Travel Channel favorites for well over 25 years and we are delighted to have everyone take these award winning tours!
Written 2 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Zack H
Moultrie, GA6 contributions
The tour guide was knowledgeable to the point where you might think he lived in savannah from when it was founded to present day. While on the tour it felt as if the guide was a friend apart of the group. He was super easy to talk to and made you feel welcomed to the historical streets of Savannah GA. Im almost tempted to take the tour again. Will definitely recommend this tour to anyone wanting to know about the history of savannah
Written 20 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MFB
13 contributions
Aug 2020 • Solo
Definite recommend. Guide really knew his history, and was very considerate. Called me the night before to ask if I wanted to move from 1pm to 10am because the heat index the next day was going to be 105 degrees. He also encouraged questions, and it’s always nice to know your guide knows enough that they feel like they’re going to know the answer whatever you ask.
Written 30 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 161
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Savannah Walks
John389_389
John389_389
00
Poor business practices.
Scheduled tour for May 15th. Tour company cancelled our tour due to tour guide injury. We and the company tried t
Happyplace0719
Happyplace0719
00
Great guide with interesting twists!
The guide was very informative! We learned so much about how the area was laid out and why. The street names and c
johncQ3256LA
johncQ3256LA
00
no experience, canceled
This tour was canceled by the operator the day of. It's now two weeks later and I have still not received a refund
Jayme1515
Jayme1515
00
Historic Homes Savannah
This Tour and the tour guide was awesome. Apparently I original tour guide was not able to make it and the company
gregward12022
gregward12022
00
Walking Tour and Carraiage Tour
Both tours were wonderful. Guides were knowledgeable of the area's history and it's buildings. Carragiage was cle
Explore38254557429
Explore38254557429
00
Disappointed!
Our Tour Guide was very knowledgeable about Savannah and the Historic Homes which was very enjoyable. The reason fo
Scenic512225
Scenic512225
00
A great walk through a good book
We were the only 2 on the tour. Guide was great. Very knowledgeable and personable. Gave us good tips about other t
Debra F
Debra F
00
Gardens & Gates Walking Tour
Our group of 21 travelers enjoyed the walking tour. The guide, Katherine, was very informative, was on time, and w
Lucinda C
Lucinda C
00
Highly recommend
Good blend of history, stories and architecture. Good overview of the history of Savannah. Highly recommend this to
Susan H
Susan H
00
Good but not as advertised
The walk was the Civil War Walk. It was mainly history of Savannah and a sentence or two about the Civil War. We we
114jaybird
114jaybird
00
Informative
First visit into Savannah and tour. The tour started on time and ended just a few minutes late…but who cares when y
daniellE9715FJ
daniellE9715FJ
00
Above average
Great experience! Really felt like our tour guide was invested in the tour and history rather than reading from a
891layneg
891layneg
00
Great if you are looking for "The White" Tour of Savannah
We have experienced many Free Walking Tours in Europe. I know there are many different companies that run these tou
joansG8917GV
joansG8917GV
00
Seeing the city through the eyes of a local resident.
Our tour topic was changed at the last minute due to uncooperative weather earlier. What was going to be a tour ca
Wanderer674362
Wanderer674362
00
Great Tour!!
This was a great tour, our guide was SO knowledgeable and shared great stories about the city. I have been on a few
Frequently Asked Questions about Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah


Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah price starts from ₱1,325.17. Discover and book Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah on Tripadvisor

Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah on Tripadvisor

Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah is hosted by Savannah Walks. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Savannah Walks on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Savannah Stroll: Guided Sightseeing & History Walking Tour of Savannah on Tripadvisor