We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Post
Inbox
Search

Historic Charleston Walking Tour

Save
Select Date and Travelers
From
US$20.00
Date
2 travelers
Options
Overview
Without a guided tour, you’re likely to miss all the tales from Charleston’s rich 400-year history that make this city one of the top destinations in the United States. A guide brings the "Holy City" to life by pointing out the buildings, monuments, and other historic attractions that mark Charleston’s development from an early colonial settlement to the thriving hub of Southern culture that it is today.
Highlights
  • Walking tour of downtown Charleston brings history to life
  • Guide tells key stories from Charleston’s rich history
  • See top city attractions: Old Exchange Building, the Battery, and more
  • Plenty of photo stops let you admire views of parks, homes, and buildings
  • Multiple departure times let you fit this tour into your schedule
  • Tips from your guide help you experience Charleston like a local
What to Expect
Meet your guide in downtown Charleston to begin your walking tour. Starting at the Four Corners of Law, stroll down cobbled alleyways and past pastel-colored buildings populating the historic core of the city. Pass top sights such as St. Philip’s Church, White Point Gardens, Dock Street Theatre, and the Battery as your guide provides information about Charleston’s colorful history as one of the earliest cities in the United States, its role in the Civil War, and its recent revival. Plenty of stops for photos and questions help you make the most of your tour. Thanks to Charleston’s small size, you don't need all day to see the historic district’s top attractions, leaving you free to explore the rest of the day on your own.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
80 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401, USA
Duration
2h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Professional guide
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Entry/Admission - Charleston City Hall
  • Entry/Admission - Old Slave Mart Museum
  • Entry/Admission - St. Philip's Church
  • Entry/Admission - French Huguenot Church
  • Entry/Admission - Dock Street Theater
  • Entry/Admission - Edmondston-Alston House
  • Entry/Admission - Heyward-Washington House
  • Entry/Admission - Rainbow Row
  • Entry/Admission - Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved, comfortable walking shoes are strongly advised
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
399Reviews24Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 279
  • 26
  • 10
  • 4
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
You'll find that this town just wants your MONEY, by hook or crook. starting with visitors center. Charged us $20.00 for Travel advice and had trouble getting money back. Charleston's SCAM.Avoid the Visitiors centers. DON'T GET CAUGHT UP IN THEIR MONEY GRABBING.It could cost
Read more
Response from Christina K, Manager at Historic Charleston Walking Tour
Responded yesterday
While we are sorry that you had such a negative experience while you were in Charleston, this review is posted here in error. I am not sure why you have posted your complaints to our page as the information you provide is not related to any services we offer.
Read more
You won't be disappointed if you book a tour with this group. Our tour guide was great -- she was very knowledgeable, had a good sense of humor and showed us things that we would have walked right past without knowing their significance. Highly recommended.
Read more
Response from Christina K, Manager at Historic Charleston Walking Tour
Responded 2 days ago
A huge thank you from all of us here at Walks of Charleston for your recommendation! It truly means everything to us that you loved the tour so much that you would take the time to write a review. Amy will be thrilled to hear your feedback. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Amy was great and so was tour until some folks started smoking. As a cancer patient,smoke is a huge reactor for me. So maybe you can implement some non smoking tours. Or at least have the guides be able to tell the folks to step far away from the group if they must smoke.
Read more
Response from Christina K, Manager at Historic Charleston Walking Tour
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed Amy and the tour. I regret that the actions of others took away from your experience. We will be using your feedback to brainstorm ways in which we can prevent future disappointments like yours. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Charleston and that you will return soon. When you do, please call us directly so that we may offer you a complimentary tour.
Read more
+4
Being in Charleston for only an afternoon and early evening (which, if you weren’t sure, is not nearly enough time to experience the city), we decided a walking tour may give us a good general look at the historic district. In the end, I only wish the tour were longer. I don’t
Read more
Response from Christina K, Manager at Historic Charleston Walking Tour
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you SO much for your thorough and very well written review of your tour with Evans! He will be thrilled to hear that his story of Robert Smalls was so well received. You are absolutely correct in that there is so much more to explore and for that reason we offer tours that go beyond the popular points of interest, namely the "Alleys & Hidden Passages" tour and the "Charming Charleston" tour. Alternatively, you could join us on a private tour that is fully customizable and could include a route based on your particular interests. We do hope that you will join us on one of our other tours the next time you are in town. Thank you again!
Read more
Evan was a great guide. He shared lots of historical facts and many amusing stories. You should definitely ask for him to be your guide.
Read more
Previous
Key Details
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Instant confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall: +63 923-0990452