We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hoover Dam Tour from Las Vegas

Save
Share
Select Date and Travelers
From
US$56.99
Date
2 travelers
Options
Select tour language
Overview
Your trip to Las Vegas won't be complete without a tour of the mighty Hoover Dam! Built during the Depression, thousands of men came to Black Canyon to tame the Colorado River, and it took them less than 5 years to build the largest dam of its time.
Itinerary
+
You'll get picked up
See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Gray Line Las Vegas
    Stop: 30 minutes -
    See details
  • 2
    Hoover Dam
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
    Pass by Lake Mead National Recreation Area
  • 3
    Hoover Dam Bypass
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    See details
  • 4
    Ethel M Chocolates Factory and Cactus Garden
    Stop: 25 minutes -
    See details
  • 5
    Lake Mead Cruises
    Stop: 90 minutes -
    See details
You'll return to the starting point
Highlights
  • See the highlights of Hoover Dam in a day from Las Vegas
  • Option to upgrade to include a 90-minute Lake Mead cruise
  • Hassle-free round-trip hotel transportation
  • A stress-free package ideal for first-time visitors
What to Expect
Your tour begins with pickup from your Las Vegas hotel. Board the comfortable bus and drive to Hoover Dam. Upon arrival, stop at the visitor center, exhibit gallery, and see the scenery from the viewing platform. Then, embark on your guided tour. If you upgraded to the deluxe tour, make a stop at the Hoover Dam Lodge for lunch (included) after your guided Hoover Dam tour. Then, head over to Ethel M’s Chocolate Factory and Cactus Gardens. If you upgraded to the Deluxe Tour and Lake Mead Cruise, take in the views of the Hoover Dam by water after your guided tour. Climb aboard the boat for a 90-minute paddlewheel cruise and enjoy an included picnic lunch. All tours end with drop-off back at your hotel.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Traveler pickup is offered
Duration
9h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Driver/guide
  • Hoover Dam Discovery Tour
  • 90-minute Lake Mead Cruise (if option selected)
  • Ethel M's Chocolate Factory visit and Lunch (if option selected)
  • All taxes and fees
  • Entry/Admission - Hoover Dam
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Lunch (unless option selected)
  • Ethel M' Chocolate Factory (unless option selected)
  • 90-minute Lake Mead Cruise (unless option selected)
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infants 23 months and under are considered a lap child
  • Children ages 2 years and up require a seat .
  • This tour is not recommended for anyone who suffers from claustrophobia, has a pacemaker or defibrillator. Tours are conducted in confined spaces and in a power plant with generators emitting electromagnetic frequencies.
  • Collapsible wheelchairs can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them to board and disembark the bus.
  • Buses equipped with a lift are based upon availability and might not be available. Should a bus equipped with a lift be required, a three day advanced notice is required, and you must contact the local tour operator immediately after booking to confirm your request.
  • Hotel pickup is available for this tour/activity. Please note: depending on the hotel, buses may not be able to access or enter every property. In this case, pickup may be redirected to a central bus stop or nearby hotel. Exact pickup details will be provided to the guest upon reconfirmation with the local tour operator.
  • 30-minutes of complimentary WI-FI is available.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
515Reviews5Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 57
  • 17
  • 11
  • 7
  • 19
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Shocking!!! Absolutely the worst day out EVER. Pick up was ok, then when at the depot for departure, we were given the hard sell for 'upgrades', told that the guided tour of the dam was 'unavailable' and given a $5 rebate!!!! $5!!!! Oh well, have a coffee before leaving, coffee
Read more
Response from Zachary B, General Manager at Hoover Dam Tour from Las Vegas
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Graham W, While at Gray Line we are sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us more, we do take exception to some of your aggressive remarks. First, we do not hard sell, while we do offer upgrades there is no hard selling going on- we suggest maybe you google what hard selling entails. Second, you went to our café and saw what the prices were, then you decided you wanted to buy stuff at the clearly marked prices and now you want to say that we ripped you off? Why did you simply not purchase things at our Café? Third, you went on an inexpensive sightseeing tour and apparently you thought lunch would be at a 5 star restaurant? Seems illogical to us, but we do apologize that you were dissatisfied. Finally, we have been taking people on sightseeing tours to the Hoover Dam for nearly 40 years and almost all people seem to think that 2 hours is about the correct amount of time. Any more than that and we start to get a ton of complaints. We wish you well in your future travel experiences. Sincerely, Zachary
Read more
Our original mini tour was cancelled due to an equipment issue, so we were upgraded to the “deluxe.” While Hoover dam was great, I advise against the “deluxe.” While part of the tour goes on a cruise, which is an option, others go to the Hoover Dam Lodge for a lengthy 90 minutes
Read more
Response from Zachary B, General Manager at Hoover Dam Tour from Las Vegas
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Gary G, Thank you for being a Gray Line customer and we are sorry that we had to cancel your original Express tour. We realize that tour cancellation can disrupt a person's travel plans which is why this is a very rare occurrence at Gray Line and usually the result of an unexpected equipment issue. We are also sorry that the tourism elevators at Hoover Dam where down on your day. The Bureau of Reclamation, Department of the Interior, recently replace the nearly 30 year old elevators and of late have been having issues with the new ones. On behalf of everyone at Gray Line's more than 400 locations around the globe, I want you to know that we all hope to see you on another sightseeing experience sometime soon. Regards, Zachary
Read more
What an amazing tour. Our driver Rita gave us some history as she was driving. She also did a stop so we could see the mountain sheep on the way back. We didn't feel rushed at all. Rita made the trip very enjoyable, would take it again. Thanks so much Linda & Ralph
Read more
We booked a deluxe tour of the Hoover Dam through Gray Line. We received a confirmation call the morning of the tour from Gray Line. Bus was late picking us up (We had to phone to find out the bus was late-no call from them). After arrival at the terminal, we were informed that
Read more
Response from Zachary B, General Manager at Hoover Dam Tour from Las Vegas
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Dennis, Thank you for being a Gray Line customer and corresponding with us regarding your disappointment about the tour change. At Gray Line we do realize the disappointment that accompanies tour cancellation, which is why this is a very rare occurrence at our company. Yet, on rare occasions due to operational necessities it does become necessary that a particular tour is cancelled. Usually this is due to an equipment issue or a scheduled driver becoming unavailable. In these rare occasions, we do try to accommodate our guests as best we can. Normally our staff offers a choice of three (3) options; Go on our shorter tour & receive a refund of the difference in cost, re-schedule for a different day, or receive a full refund. We are very sorry if these options were not made clear to you. In closing, I do want to apologize for the tour change and I want to wish you all the best in your future travel experiences. Sincerely, Zachary
Read more
Tip for money savings for this tour is to book online; our hotel concierge could not beat the online price we found. Do read all instructions carefully from Gray Line, as you are required to reconfirm your booking. We went on a Friday afternoon, and it was a nice outing away
Read more
Previous
Key Details
  • Duration: 9h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Instant confirmation
  • Hotel Pickup
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 Support
Travelers Also Viewed
Hoover Dam Mini Tour
345 Reviews
from US$49.99*
Hoover Dam Experience from Las Vegas
138 Reviews
from US$49.99*
Ultimate Hoover Dam Tour
1,943 Reviews
from US$80.00*
Deluxe Small-Group Half-Day Hoover...
175 Reviews
from US$78.84*
Frequently bought together
Special Offer
Morning Maverick Horseback Ride with...
495 Reviews
from US$107.99*
US$119.99
Vegas Morning Hot Air Balloon Flights
50 Reviews
from US$136.99*
Siegfried & Roy's Secret Garden and...
111 Reviews
from US$22.00*
Las Vegas Super Saver: Madame...
369 Reviews
from US$55.00*