We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Post
Inbox
Search

Hiking and Sandboarding in Cerro Negro

Save
Select Date and Travelers
From
US$105.00
Date
2 travelers
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Following convenient pickup at your hotel in León at either 7:30a.m. or 1p.m., travel to Cerro Negro in a comfortable tour vehicle. During your journey, learn about the volcano, which was born in 1850 and is one of the most active volcanoes in Nicaragua. 

    Hike up to the top of the mountain, which takes less than an hour on a footpath through the rocks and volcanic ashes. Prepare to sweat, as there is no vegetation to absorb the heat, and the temperatures can range between 86 and 118 degrees Fahrenheit (30 to 48 degrees Celsius). 

    Once you reach the top, take in panoramic views of the surrounding mountains, the crater of nearby Telica, and the Pacific Ocean. 

    Get some instruction, and strap yourself onto a board. Then zoom down the rocky slope all the way to the bottom. Protective equipment is provided for this adventure. 

    After your four hours of fun, return to León for drop-off.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Hotels in Leon City
    Departure Time
    7:30am, 1pm
    Duration
    5h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Transport by private vehicle
    • Local bilingual guide
    • Use of volcano boarding equipment
    • Local taxes
    • Hotel pickup and drop-off
    • Entry/Admission - Cerro Negro Volcano
    Exclusions
    • Drinks
    • Gratuities
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    1Review0Q&A
    Traveler rating
    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    • 1
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Don’t not use this company. They not only never picked me up from my hotel, the number they provided in the email wasn’t even connected. I had a reservation, with email confirmation, they never picked me and my friends up. When I tried calling the number provided they number
    Read more
    Response from pg011, Manager at Hiking and Sandboarding in Cerro Negro
    Responded 12 Mar 2019
    Dear Q9214WTfrankm, Thank you for your review about this afternoon tour (which didn't take place). As my colleague Katia explained you by phone yesterday, this booking (which was made through a booking Engine so there was no direct communication between you and our agents) was sent to us just 3 days prior to the scheduled activity, and the mail went into our Spam Box, so we didn't see the booking request and thus, didn't organize the services. We deeply apologize for this, we don't check our Spam Box daily and now will. When we got the mail from Viator yesterday (as we didn't have your contact) we called the hotel right away and offered to re schedule for tomorrow, as it was too late to organize the same day (requires specialized guide, 4x4 vehicle, equipment for sand boarding, snacks etc and we can't get tghis all together in an hour. As you said you didn't have time to do the tour the next day, we asked Viator to proceed to full refund to you (we get paid a month later or so). In addition to full refund, if you are still in the country for a few days, please contact us (you have our contact but we don't have yours) and we will offer a complimentary tour in one of the areas that you will visit in the next few days. As travelers may read through the ~250 reviews about our company, we take great care of our guests and try to offer the best experiences possible. Once again we are sorry that this tour that couldn't take place due to a technical/email failure. We wish you a great end of vacation. Pierre G.
    Read more
    Key Details
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: +63 923-0990452