Tours and Tickets

Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights Tour provided by Leisure Tours

Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights Tour

Save
Share
Update from company: This experience has indicated that they are taking additional safety measures due to COVID-19.Read more
Select Date and Travelers
From
Date
2 adults
Options
Low Price Guarantee
No Booking Fees
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights Tour
Follow the safety guidelines as issued by the New Zealand Government and maintain good hygiene and social distancing measures. Do not travel if you are experiencing cold or flu symptoms. If the city in which you are departing from is in alert level two, then please wear a facemask for all transport.
Read more
Updated 25/09/20
Overview
This tour from the Banks Peninsula to Christchurch has been carefully designed so cruise ship passengers can make the most of their short time on land. After disembarking at Akaroa—a town renowned for its French heritage—travel through scenic countryside to Christchurch city. Check out some of the highlights, including the Botanic Gardens, Sumner Beach, and Lyttleton.
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Akaroa Dolphins
    65 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
    From the Main Wharf in Akaroa, head down to the end where you will see the Akaroa I-Site and a small park on the right-hand side. Next to the Canon statue, a representative will be waiting for you. Please arrive by 10.15am for a 10.30am departure.
    See address & details
  • Pass by
    Akaroa Village Inn
  • 1
    Christchurch Botanic Gardens
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Christchurch Cathedral
    Stop: 45 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Lyttelton
    Sign of the Takahe
  • You'll end at
    Akaroa Dolphins
    65 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
    From the Main Wharf in Akaroa, head down to the end where you will see the Akaroa I-Site and a small park on the right-hand side. Next to the Canon statue, a representative will be waiting for you. Please arrive by 10.15am for a 10.30am departure.
    See address & details
+
Highlights
  • Port transfers are provided, so you don't need to worry about getting around
  • An easy way to see a lot in a relatively short time
  • Be amazed by the beautiful landscape so close to urban Christchurch
  • Relax on a worry-free excursion, with guaranteed return to your ship or the next port-of-call
Important Information
Departure Point
Akaroa Dolphins, 65 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Duration
6h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Port pickup and drop-off
  • Driver/guide
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Worry-free Shore Excursion Guarantee
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • At time of booking, cruise ship passengers must provide the following information: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Please note that activity times and schedules can be slightly amended depending on your cruise ships timetable.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
Cancellation Policy
If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee. If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee. If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.
221Reviews
7Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 20
  • 5
  • 5
  • 4
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Jamtraveltips wrote a review May 2020
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida153 contributions11 helpful votes
Our full day, small group tour of Christchurch began in Akaroa and was given by Ian. It took us about an hour and a half to get to the city of Christchurch from Akaroa. The scenes along the Banks Peninsula of rich farmlands, green hills, gorgeous clear waters and mountains
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Canterburyleisure, Manager at Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights Tour
Responded 1 Jul 2020
This review has been posted against the wrong business. In Akaroa we do not offer a small group option on any of our shore excursions. We have repeatedly asked Tripadvisor to remove this review with details of the company against whom the review should be posted and as normal the ignore the requests and do nothing!
Read more
Sharon C wrote a review Apr 2020
71 contributions4 helpful votes
Although the bus left on time and we were aware of the travel time to Christchurch, we didn’t expect to have only 30 minutes at the botanical gardens (also a bathroom stop). Unfortunately our driver Steve wasn’t the best. The bus didn’t start after our 30 minute stop and he
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Canterburyleisure, Manager at Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights Tour
Responded 17 Apr 2020
It is always disappointing to receive a negative review especially when the comments made by the reviewer are untrue. The reviewer traveled with us on the 7th March on the 14th April, some 5 weeks after completely the trip the reviewer requested a refund on the grounds that the excursion departed late, however, when it was shown that the excursion had departed actually a little earlier that the scheduled departure time the refund was rejected this negative review was posted. We understand that all reviews are subjective, however, it is always disappointing when outright falsehoods are stated. Please see some of the other wonderful reviews for this product, there are currently over 200 reviews with an 4.5 star average, from this I am sure you can judge the creditability of the reviewer.
Read more
Geoffrey M wrote a review Mar 2020
Atherton, United Kingdom74 contributions22 helpful votes
Chris was a very knowledgeable driver and guide. He must have needed throat lozenges after this trip as he never stopped talking. Brilliant! Christchurch is a very sad place following the 2011 quake. Large areas of the city are abandoned. I'm glad I went there but I feel so
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from Canterburyleisure, Digital Marketing Manager at Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights Tour
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Thanks for the great review, Geoffrey. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your Banks Peninsula and Christchurch Sightseeing tour from Akaroa. It's also nice to know that your driver/guide Chris did such a good job on your excursion and I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to him. Regarding your comments about the earthquakes, it's true that the destruction of our central business district was devastating and rebuild efforts were very gradual, but fortunately our city has begun to recover and is slowly returning to its former glory. Thanks again and I hope you get to return to Christchurch & Akaroa someday soon!
Read more
Dolly502014 wrote a review Mar 2020
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom98 contributions77 helpful votes
Not a bad day but very rushed due to the travel time from Akaroa to Christchurch. The scenery on the way is stunning. The roads are very windy so if you get travel sickness you may want to think again.. the bus is big so it takes time to get 50 people on and off and back on
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Canterburyleisure, Manager at Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights Tour
Responded 6 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am sorry to learn that you felt the tour was a bit rushed. As you are aware Akaroa is a tender port and the time ashore is dictated by the cruise ship and the last tender time. Some of the cruise ships such as the Noordam have very late last tender times which allows us to extend the excursion on the day of travel and give everyone longer in Christchurch. As you say the scenery is stunning and with this product being half the price of what you would pay for just a shuttle to Christchurch off the cruise ship and all the excellent reviews this excursion receives it is very popular and often sold out well in advance.
Read more
Vera G wrote a review Mar 2020
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada7 contributions1 helpful vote
We had Scottie as our tour guide and he was fantastic. He was very friendly and very informative. He made the tour great for us. We would highly recommend taking this tour and having Scottie as your guide.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Canterburyleisure, Digital Marketing Manager at Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights Tour
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Thanks for great review, Vera! I'm happy you enjoyed your Banks Peninsula and Christchurch Sightseeing Tour from Akaroa. Scotty is one our most positively review driver/guides as he's incredibly outgoing and has a good knowledge of both Christchurch and Akaroa's rich history. It's really awesome that you would recommend the tour because of him and I'll be sure to pass on your kind words when I next see him. Thanks again and I hope you get to return to Akaroa and Christchurch some time soon!
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Leisure Tours
nathant544
00
Superb day on the Waipara Wine Trail
Had a superb day on the Waipara Wine Trail Afternoon Tour from Christchurch. I would highly recommend this tour if
Read more
Travel34855117471
00
Beautiful day
What a beautiful spot. Had the best fish n chips in a very long time. Wonderful shops to brows through. Everyon
Read more
Travel34855117471
00
Amazing experience, i would highly recommend.
Well organized, lovely friendly and helpful staff. Onboard videos informative. Great trip got what we expected ev
Read more
Robert T
00
Worth a look
Interesting kitchen area and a lovely outdoor area with a great vintage car. Friendly volunteers giving a great ed
Read more
Camper715744
00
Giants House must see
We walked to the meeting spot once off the ship and boarded a small van. The van held about 15 people. We drove u
Read more
LynW207
00
Akaroa & Surrounds
We were met ashore in Akaroa with a friendly welcome and to our surprise we were upgraded and we got to go to Chris
Read more
amandamaaike
00
Winery Tour
I went on this tour with my mother and 3 year old son, and everyone (driver, winery staff, and fellow tourists) wer
Read more
BobC_Florida
00
Great Wineries with Great People!
My wife and I had such a good time. We ended up becoming good friends with everyone else on the tour. Well worth th
Read more
TheAdmiralW
00
A great experience sort of
I have been on many different wine tours and this was my first in New Zealand. The organisers did a great job and o
Read more
ChristineH2707
00
Dunedin sightseeing
Ross was our guide. He was very knowledgable and helpful. Highly recommend this tour. Olveston House is amazing
Read more
debbiesZ1413UW
00
Lord of the Rings half day!
Quite incredible! Our tour guide taught us a lot! Went to scenes where the movies were shot and the Weta Wow worksh
Read more
Frank C
00
3 day tour Auckland to Wellington
DO NOT USE LEISURE TOURS. We booked a three day tour from Auckland to Wellington and paid $1308 US dollars. Day one
Read more
100kaylaw
00
Amazing
Our tour guide Keith was fantastic - a great sense of humour and super patient with our group. The wine tasting its
Read more
LStarcevich
00
Fun Day On The Taieri Gorge Train!
During a cruise stop in beautiful Dunedin we chose to take the train up to the Taieri Gorge. We were picked up near
Read more
cecilial773
00
Late departure
This tour was a little disorganized to get us off to our activities, the speed boat ride thru the river was fun!
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 6h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+63 923-0990452
Frequently Asked Questions about Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula and Christchurch City Sights Tour