Krakow Tours
Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour with Ticket and Pickup Option
4

Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour with Ticket and Pickup Option

By Discover Cracow Tours
About
Even with just half a day to spare, get out of Kraków and visit one of Poland’s most cherished monuments on a guided tour of the Wieliczka Salt Mine. Get picked up from Kraków's city center for an easy journey to the UNESCO World Heritage Site, where you descend deep underground to explore a vast network of historic mining tunnels, saline lakes, and intricate salt sculptures carved over centuries.
from
₱1,881.34
per adult (price varies by group size)
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 30 per group
Duration: 4h 30m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: German, English, Italian, French, Spanish
More

Highlights
  • Visit the historic Wieliczka Salt Mine on a guided tour from Kraków
  • Learn the history of one of the world’s oldest salt mines
  • Explore mining shafts, tunnels, underground lakes, and salt carvings
  • Round-trip transport from city center included, so no need to rent a car

  • Local guide
  • Pickup from centrally located meeting point or hotel (if relevant option selected)
  • All Fees and Taxes
  • Admission to Wieliczka Salt Mine
  • Entry/Admission - Wieliczka Salt Mine
  • Entry/Admission - Stare Miasto

After a pickup from Kraków's city center, travel to the Wieliczka Salt Mine, one of the oldest and largest salt mines in the world. With your included entrance fee, enter the mine and descend more than 200 steps into an expensive underground network. A guide shows you the way through a maze of tunnels, chambers, and stairways built over eight centuries. Learn about the fascinating history of the mine and browse a collection of antique mining equipment that dates back to the Middle Ages. Breathe deep in the mine’s mineral-rich microclimate, which is thought to have health benefits, and admire detailed shrines and sculptures carved entirely from salt rock. You're dropped off at a convenient point in central Kraków after the tour. As a bonus, receive a free Kraków sightseeing audio guide when you book.

Start:Multiple pickup locations offered.
  • Option 1
    Pawia 18b, 31-154 Kraków, Poland
    Kiss and Ride stop, next to Mercure Hotel
  • Option 2
    Daniłowicza 10, 32-020 Wieliczka, Poland
    Next to Wieliczka Salt Mine UNESCO World Heritage Emblem
  • Option 3
    Wielopole 2, 31-072 Kraków, Poland
    Kiss and Ride stop
Pickup details
  • Customers are required to provide their accommodation address when choosing the option with hotel pick up. Please note that it is not possible to pick up from certain hotels in the centre of Krakow due to traffic bans. In such cases, the driver will approach the hotel door and lead you to the vehicle. If your Hotel is not listed as one of the pickup points please contact the supplier to confirm your pickup location.
Hotel pickup offered
During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included hotels.
    End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

      • Not wheelchair accessible
      • Near public transportation
      • Infants must sit on laps
      If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5752P39

      • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
      • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
      • TOUR DURATION AND SCHEDULE: Typical tour duration in the Mine is around 2-3 hours. Check the specific start time of your tour and plan to arrive at least 15 minutes early.
      • TICKET INFORMATION: Ensure you have your tickets or booking confirmation ready, either printed or on a mobile device.
      • LANGUAGE OF THE TOUR: Verify the language of the guided tour to ensure it matches your preference.
      • HEALTH AND SAFETY: Be aware that the tour involves walking and descending a significant number of stairs (around 800 steps). The tour is not recommended for people with claustrophobia or severe respiratory or heart conditions.
      • DRESS CODE: Wear comfortable walking shoes as the tour involves a lot of walking. Dress in layers; the temperature inside the mine is around 14-16°C (57-61°F) year-round.
      • PHOTOGRAPHY: Check the policy on photography; usually, non-flash photography is allowed, but a fee might be required for camera use.
      • FACILITIES: Restrooms are available before the tour begins and at certain points within the mine. There are often opportunities to purchase souvenirs and refreshments.
      • RESTRICTIONS: Large bags and backpacks are typically not allowed inside the mine; lockers are available for storage.
      • ADDITIONAL TIPS: Bring a bottle of water, especially if visiting during warmer months. Listen to the guide’s instructions and stay with the group at all times.
      • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers

      • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

      If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5752P39

      Reserve your spot

      Similar experiences

      Itinerary
      • 1
      • 2
      • 3
      About the operator
      Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
      • Discover Cracow Tours
        5,956
        Krakow, Poland
        Joined in April 2011
      • Marienah
        0 contributions
        1.0 of 5 bubbles
        Didn't tell us about time change of tour
        The tour operator changed the meeting time of the tour and never told us, so we didn't get to go. They also denied us a refund. Would not choose this company again.
        Written June 17, 2024
      • brianvC6074TN
        0 contributions
        3.0 of 5 bubbles
        Very little about Schindler
        To be honest the tour has very little to do with Schindler. It is 99% mainly about Polands role in WW2, particularly Krakow. The only real connection to Schindler is the exhibition is in his factory, but thats where it ends. Therefore if you wanting to get an insight into schindlers life etc, ironically this is not the place.
        Written June 17, 2024
      • Ivermacdonald
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        Well worth a visit.
        We weren’t going to have a guilt trip by going to Auschwitz with all that is going on in Gaza. This is a very good museum. There are too many dead ends where you have to double back on yourself. Some out of place exhibits (the underwear) though excellent in their own way. Don’t get stuck behind a guided tour unless you want to tag onto it.
        Written June 15, 2024
      • egryko
        0 contributions
        1.0 of 5 bubbles
        Rude driver and unwillingness of company to address the problem with the ticket- the company is double charging their cu
        I am writing to inform future customers about an unfortunate incident involving one of the bus drivers during our return journey from Auschwitz to Krakow. I had reserved the Auschwitz tour and shuttle bus through your company, and everything went smoothly until the trip back to Krakow. Upon entering the bus, the driver told me that my name was not on his list and that I could not ride the bus unless I purchased another ticket for myself and my friend. I presented my reservation in both paper and email form, but the driver was extremely rude and, while yelling, told us he did not care about the reservation because my name was not on his list of passengers. He also mentioned that this issue happens quite often and accused Discover Cracow company of cheating him and his customers. To avoid further conflict, we purchased additional tickets from him and were finally allowed to sit down. I am very disappointed not only with the mistake regarding our reservation but also with the rude behavior of your driver. This experience has left a negative impression on what was otherwise a well-organized tour. I email the above letter to the company. They did not address the rude behavior of the driver neither the problematic ticket. They told me I cannot receive refund due to lack of needed receipt. I did not ask for refund. It is only $10 . I truly want the company to investigate why my name was not on the list despite the company sending me their receipt. I recommend checking other companies if you are looking into visiting Auschwitz
        Written June 14, 2024
      • linda1901
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Not a pleasant trip but a must
        Excellent transfers from hotel. Driver looked after group well. The guide was informative but tour felt rushed, a lot of walking at quick pace
        Written June 10, 2024
      • linda1901
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Must visit to understand the history
        A real insight to the life of people in Poland during the 2nd world war. The guide was brilliant and had stories to share from her grand mother
        Written June 10, 2024
      • JohnHart_13
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        Visit by coach
        We had a car pick up from the hotel which took us to where the coach left from, as a number of people seemed to be doing this we had to wait a while before leaving. On the way back we were told we had to find our own way back from the coach to the hotel ,even though the ticket said we had transfers both ways. ]Aafter some Whatapps messages the company said they would pay for a taxi back for us, which was good- hence 4 stars When you get to the salt mine you are met by a tour "host" who takes you to the entrance who then hands you over to an official tour guide from the mine. The tour "host" then tells you she will meet you after the tour and take you back to the coach. But also tells you that you will come up from the mine using a different shaft in the town and that you need to use Google maps to find your own back, as she can't be in two places at once. A simple map or set of instructions would have been useful to get back! The actual tour was very interesting and highly informative and I'm sure you can raed all the details elsewehere. It is worth noting there is train station a few minutes walk from the salt mine which would be quicker than using a coach and you could book tickets directly with the saltmine but you may have to queue and not get a group slot with a tour company.
        Written June 9, 2024
      • 707Rachel
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Interesting morning
        Very interesting tour round the museum, our local guide was very good and knew her stuff! Something not to be missed in our opinion !
        Written June 7, 2024
      • Patricia M
        0 contributions
        3.0 of 5 bubbles
        Bad contact information, unhelpful people, crowded sometimes distracting. Good guide storytelling but could not answer q
        We arrived an hour early ( it was raining lightly). We were told to wait outside to meet our tour contact. As other tours formed we kept checking in but brushed aff, “Not me.” Only with persistence did we finally find our contact. Glad we had a tour guide but the, it was too crowded. Maybe re think how to schedule groups and individuals.
        Written June 3, 2024
      • mariewheeler
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        More about World War 2 than Schindler
        Having visited Auschitz the day before, we were expecting to learn more about Schindler at this museum. It was a great museum but it focussed mainly on world war 2 and its impact on krakow - very interesting but not what we were expecting!
        Written June 2, 2024
      • Nomad54720374501
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Well with a visit
        Very interesting visit led by a very good guide. I would recommend this museum tour to fully understand the actions of the Germans towards other races.
        Written May 31, 2024
      • Helen B
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        Well worth trip
        Saltmines was well worth the trip very interesting and knowledgeable guide. Only issue was with tour operator when leaving saltmines no directions as to how to get back to bus location so late on bus due to getting lost. Not signposted and no one there to advise as 2 exits all depends on which lift you were allocated to as 1 near entrance and 1 through a park to get back to which no signs luckily they had mobile contact to reach us
        Written May 30, 2024
      • T5385QLlisaf
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Worth a visit, take a tour
        Very interesting museum. I would suggest you take a tour as our guide really added to the experience telling us things that weren't in the displays and pointing out particular things of interest. Although it is set in the factory it is not just about Schindler but the wider experience of Krakow during the war years. I did not catch the name of our guide but he was Polish/Australian and was excellent. He obviously had a very wide knowledge of the subject.
        Written May 25, 2024
      • 457jsl
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        Visit 16/05/2024
        Interesting and thought provoking - we were there over 4 hours - many exhibits and comments - signage could have been better - recommend an early visit as got busy with tour parties and teenagers - believe that this is part of school education! It would have been better if ear phones were used with the guide using hi fi! Overall a must see if in Krakow!
        Written May 24, 2024
      • ash14089
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        So much info
        What can you say except what an important piece of history this is. Oscar Schindler saved 1200 Jews by having them work at this factory and not working for brutal Nazi regime. I'm sure everybody has seen the film "Schindlers List" and the movie doesn't even come close to that overwhelming feeling of actually seeing the pace all in its entirety. The displays within the building are of the German Occupation and you will also get to know some of the Jews that survived as a result of Schindler. If you do ever go to Krakow then make the factory and the death camps top of your list to visit.
        Written May 19, 2024
      See all 5,956 reviews
      These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

      Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

      Popular mentions

      4.0
      4.0 of 5 bubbles1,052 reviews
      Excellent
      614
      Very good
      235
      Average
      98
      Poor
      49
      Terrible
      56

      xrachaelxx
      70 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Good to see but the tour was 3 hours long with a lot of walking. They have ruined the mines natural beauty by adding various shops and cafes inside the mine.

      It would have been better if they did different length tours as we found 3 hours was just too long and we got bored.

      The guide was a little abrupt at times as she was getting frustrated at the fact she had a spare headset that no one was claiming.

      Having said this- the mine is beautiful. It’s not suitable for slow walkers or people that struggle with walking .
      Written February 3, 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank your review and comment. I am glad that despite the predicaments concerning the length of the tour, you still were able to enjoy the beauty of the Salt Mines. I will pass your feedback to Salt Mine's office and I agree with your advice mentioning that the tour may be exhausting for people who have mobility issues and it is recommended to come with the mindset that the tour might be physically demanding.
      Written February 4, 2020
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Wendy R
      Canterbury, UK5 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Dec 2019 • Couples
      Little disappointed with the support during the visit. Certainly the mines have a degree of fascination but I feel I would have had a better experience if I had visited with the aid of a guide book.
      Our guide had good English but the audio equipment worked intermittently and she failed to wait for our group to congregate around her before she was setting off to the next display that meant that those bringing up the rear never actually heard the information.
      The whole visit seemed rushed because other groups were setting off at 15 minute intervals.
      Despite this there were some positives e.g the church was something to marvel at.
      Unfortunately as with most popular tourist attractions the mines have been spoiled by numerous gift shops and a large cafeteria.
      Visitors should make their own mind up. I’m glad I made the visit but if you’re mobility is not good then it’s not for you. Lots of walking along the tunnels and of course many steps to get down.The lift to the surface is also very small could cause a problem for those who are a bit claustrophobic and because of its size there is a period of queuing.
      Written January 11, 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for providing us with the feedback regarding the tour. We will get in touch with the The Salt Mines museum and pass them your comment concerning the quality of provided tour guide. We hope that even though, you felt rushed and could not hear the tour guide completely, your visit to the venue itself was a possitive and informative experience. Kind regards,
      Written January 16, 2020
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Uptonk
      5 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Aug 2020 • Couples
      A fantastic well organised trip. We were picked up promptly in Krakow centre at Straszewskiego 14 at around 8:35 (the exact time we were told we were being picked up). It took around 25 minutes to arrive at the salt mines, where our driver walked us a couple of minute to the entrance. He got the tickets for us and explained where to be at what time. The tour itself was also fantastic! The 400 steps to start weren’t bad at all and the overall walking wasn’t half as bad as I thought it would be! Although it says to wear a jacket when you enter the mines I just had a dress on and the temperature was perfectly fine, not too warm and not too cold. Our tour guide was fantastic and very informative. The tour took a total of 90mins where you then had the choice to do a little museum tour or get the lift to the exit, we got the lift to the exit as we weren’t sure if the bus driver was expecting us back. Overall a fantastic morning and I am so glad we visited 😁
      Written August 12, 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      daisy270609
      255 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      No doubt the place was stunning and the sculptures and chandeliers made out of salt were exceptional and look just like the photos but the mine was very dark so you could not experience the full effect of the colours of the salt crystals. Moreover, I felt rather claustrophobic and grew quite anxious as the tour progressed. It was cold outside, therefore I was dressed in rather heavy attire and I was very hot walking around inside the mine. There was no warning that it is warm inside and no offer of a cloakroom. The heat (and I am an ‘always cold person), along with being quite squashed underground with many people, made it for me not the most pleasant experience. My husband rather enjoyed though and I suppose we are both glad to have seen it.
      Written February 21, 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Dear Daisy, thank you very much for your review. We will share this further to the Salt Mines office, so they can improve the quality of this tour. Kind regards and stay safe, Kamil - DiscoverCracow Team
      Written April 24, 2020
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Pauline c
      4 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Mar 2020
      The salt mine is a wonder to see. How the miners worked and created the sculpted marvels is an unmissable story. The guide was very good and made the tour more fun with stories and anecdotes. The only down side is the 800 and something steps that you have to go down to the mine. We thought it would be cold underground and dressed accordingly however the temperature is kept at a constant level which is by no means cold. Knowing this before the trip would have been very helpful
      Written March 12, 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Mr S
      10 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      This was a spectacular attraction to see. The size of some of the rooms which had been hamd made so far underground, combined with the details in the carvings, was very impressive. It's not something you'll see anywhere else, so if you're visiting Krakow, I'd highly recommend you carve out an afternoon to visit this attraction.

      We were picked up by a nice coach in the exact spot specified and at the correct time.

      A couple of things I would note as advice:
      1. Definitely don't choose this attraction if stairs and walking are difficult for you. There is a seriously large amount of stairs which you need to decend when going down into the mine. There is also a large amount of walking involved. You'll also be stood up for a fair amount of time. There was a quick toilet stop and drink stop just over halfway round, but this is only for 5/10 mins. (You get a lift back to the surface at the end of the tour).
      2. You don't need to take a jumper. Even though it was a hot day outside, and this was very deep underground, the temperature was fine. Some may expect it to be very cold, but it was perfectly acceptable.

      Feedback for the tour operator:
      The guide we had on our specific tour wasn't very good at projecting his voice. If you wanted to hear what was being said, then you'd need to be at the front. If at the back then you wouldn't hear. They also had a habit of looking and talking to the people at the front rather than the group as a whole. I feel they should be given a microphone if they're going to struggle to speak loudly enough for all members of the group to hear. There would even be some moments where they'd say "this is very important information" and then you just wouldn't hear the rest. I still enjoyed the tour though.
      Written July 7, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for choosing Disocver Cracow! Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback. We appreciate that you share your observations for future tourists. Unfortunately, due to the fact that the Salt Mine is a state museum, we have no influence on the choice of guides. We are very pleased that the trip meets your requirements and we could take you to this unique place. I hope you will choose Discover Cracow again!
      Written September 2, 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Linzi03
      Braintree, UK231 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Booked the tour only option whilst visiting Krakow (easy to get a Bolt/Uber to the mines for about £4 from the city centre!) and was told to meet the entrance at 11:10.

      11:30 and still no sign of the tour guide, even being told the tour guide was on site sorting tickets.

      When he did finally appear, no apology for being late and leaving us all anxious (there were about 10 of us waiting) but simply ticked off, given a sticker and told to join the queue.

      However, the salt mine guide (provided by the salt mine themselves) was absolutely incredible. She was knowledgeable, funny and engaging and we highly enjoyed the tour (after a bit of a chaotic start!)

      If you’re visiting Krakow, I highly recommend visiting the mines. Lots of walking and took about 2.5hours, but we thoroughly enjoyed it (and be warned - it does get warm down there!)
      Written March 18, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Disney
      3 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Feb 2023 • Family
      Very eye opening worth the trip. Lots of walking involved so if have trouble walking wouldn't go. Booked tickets direct on line massive saving taxi booked on Now taxi app only cost £9 each way another massive saving taxis in rank wanted £20. Total cost was £100 for 4 hotel quoted us nearly £300 so beware of booking trips .
      Salt Mine guide very informative and good English speaking.
      Written March 6, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Sarah
      1 contribution
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Dont use this company! I paid almost 600 zloty to visit the saltmine - in the understanding that we would have a guided tour with Discover Cravow. But when we met the guide, all she did, was give us pur tickets and point in the direction of the mine. If we have bought the tickets in the machine, I would have saved almost 300 zloty. This is an indland business model, so if you want to visit the mine, just go by bus and buy your tickets on site. You will have the same experience and save a lot of money
      Written August 9, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for choosing Disocver Cracow. I see that the trip you bought also includes transportation, which incurs additional costs. The Salt Mine is a state museum so they only have internal guides, we reserve them in advance for our clients. Guide reservations are made much earlier, as it is often difficult to buy tickets on the same day. I hope you now understand where all the costs came from. I hope you will choose Discover Cracow again!
      Written August 31, 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Sightsee827305
      1 contribution
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Sep 2023 • Family
      The salt mine is interesting, but this review is more about the guide we were allocated. Quite frankly, she was poor, really poor. We booked an English speaking tour and our guide's english was adequate, but she did not make any effort to engage the group. Her tone was monotonous, and she showed very little interest. She spoke very quietly so only half or less of the group could ever hear her. And whatever we did hear was badly explained. We paid £180 for 4 of us and regretted every penny. Had we had a better guide then we would have got a lot more out of our visit.
      Written September 29, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for choosing Discover Cracow! We're so sorry that you didn't enjoy guide service. Please remember that this wasn't our guide, as Salt Mine Museum assigns only their own licensed official guides. We don't have any influence who will be assigned for each tour. But anyway thank you fro this opinion. Hope to see you again and make the best tour for you!
      Written October 1, 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Showing results 1-10 of 922

      Wieliczka Salt Mine Guided Tour with Ticket and Pickup Option provided by Discover Cracow Tours

      All Krakow HotelsKrakow Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Krakow
      All things to do in Krakow
      Day Trips in Krakow
      RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars