We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Queenstown
Post
Inbox
Search

Half-Day Milford Sound Flight and Cruise from Queenstown

Save
Share
Select Date and Travelers
From
US$379.43
Date
2 travelers
Options
Select tour language
Overview
Milford Sound is an area of extraordinary natural beauty. It offers a majestic fiord, dramatic and awe inspiring scenery and prolific flora and fauna. This tour with Air Milford allows you to combine the stunning flight to Milford Sound with a beautiful cruise on the fiord. Relax as you enjoy the best of both worlds from above and from the sea.
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Queenstown
Or, you can also get picked up
See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Air Milford
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    See details
    Pass by Coronet Peak
    Pass by Skippers Canyon
    Pass by Glenorchy-Queenstown Road
    Pass by Routeburn Track
    Pass by Fiordland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
    Pass by Milford Sound
    Pass by Mitre Peak
    Pass by Milford Sound Airport
  • 2
    Cruise Milford
    Stop: 105 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 3
    Bowen Falls
    Stop: 5 minutes -
    See details
    Pass by Milford Sound Airport
    Pass by Sutherland Falls
    Pass by Lake Te Anau
    Pass by Greenstone and Caples Tracks
    Pass by Lake Wakatipu
    Pass by Walter Peak Station Wharf
  • 4
    Air Milford
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    See details
You'll return to the starting point
Highlights
  • Milford Sound flight and cruise combo tour
  • Fly over Fiordland National Park to see remote landscapes
  • Multiple departure times to accommodate your schedule
  • Convenient pickup and drop-off at Queenstown hotels
What to Expect
Meet a driver at your centrally located Queenstown accommodations for transfer to the airport, where you’ll start with a preflight briefing on the scenic highlights of the route, including Skippers Canyon, the Paradise region, and Donne Glacier. Enjoy spectacular views of the rugged southern terrain and then fly over Milford Sound itself before landing at the head of the fjord. Board a cruise boat for a trip down the length of Milford Sound, with reserved seating, hot drinks, and open-air decks that give up-close views of the fjord’s dramatic waterfalls and wildlife. Following the cruise, lift off for the return flight to Queenstown, taking a different route to see even more of the landscape, including towering Sutherland Falls. A driver will greet you at the airport for return transfer to you accommodations.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Queenstown, New Zealand

Traveler pickup is offered
We provide our complimentary pick-up/drop-off service from all centrally located Queenstown accommodation, please update us with your details. If your accommodation is not centrally located, please let us know and we will send through parking directions.
Duration
4h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Live pilot commentary on board
  • Reserved seating aboard the Nature Cruise of Milford Sound
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (centrally located hotels)
  • Coffee and/or Tea
  • Snacks - On the 9.30am departure a small morning snack is provided, on the 11.30am departure, lunch is provided and on the 1.30pm departure a complimentary beer, wine or soft drink is provided.
  • Entry/Admission - Cruise Milford
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Subject to favorable weather conditions. If cancelled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date or full refund
  • Do not forget to bring a jacket and your camera
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Infant rates apply for 0 - 1 years of age, when the infant is sat on a parents lap, with an infant lap belt
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
230Reviews11Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 212
  • 4
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The last minute weather change got us in a Cessna plane with 8 other people, 9:30 in the morning.Breathtaking scenery,flight and cruise.Air Milford scored 10 out of 10.
Read more
Splurged for my family of 5 and it did not disappoint. We did the fly, cruise, fly. Everyone at Milford Air was very friendly and responsive. Worth every penny. The only thing I would do differently would be to bring snacks. They do offer coffee, tea and cookies though. No
Read more
Response from Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Half-Day Milford Sound Flight and Cruise from Queenstown
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Michelle, Thank you for reviewing your experience with Air Milford on TripAdvisor. We absolutely agree with you, the sights viewed from both the plane and the cruise aboard out Milford Sound Fly/Nature Cruise/Fly trip are 'stunning', with glistening snow capped peaks, remote alpine lakes, thundering waterfalls and towering granite cliffs! We are sorry to hear you got a bit peckish, our 9.30am trip includes, as you note, morning tea, consisting of tea, coffee and a small snack. Guests are on the cruise portion from 10.30am - 12.15pm, which we have found in the past is too late for breakfast, but too early for a lunch. A few years ago we added on lunch, but found that the large majority of the food was wasted, as people were not hungry at that time (It's such a shame to see food wasted!). We absolutely agree with your recommendation and actively encourage guests who think they may get peckish, to bring some snacks along for the trip :-) On behalf of the whole team here thank you for choosing to fly with us and for your constructive feedback to future travelers, All the best, Mary, Guest services, Air Milford.
Read more
Very friendly staff, kept us all fully informed of any potential weather scenarios that could have affected the trip. The cruise was very scenic and beautiful.
Read more
Response from Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Half-Day Milford Sound Flight and Cruise from Queenstown
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Orlando D, Thank you for reviewing Air Milford on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to receive your feedback and hear that you had an excellent trip with us recently. We have been in a pretty average weather pattern for the last few weeks, with lots of weather disruptions and cancellations. We try our best to communicate the implications of the weather on the excursion to our guests and are pleased to hear that you felt that we did a good job keeping you informed. How wonderful that there was a break in the weather and you were able to experience the stunning scenery of Fiordland National Park from the air and sea! On behalf of the whole team, thank you for your patience with the weather and for your high recommendation to future travelers, All the best, Mary, Guest services, Air Milford.
Read more
If you are lucky enough like we were to have good weather, I cannot imagine a more stunning way to experience Milford Sound. Instead of a 5 hour drive each way, you have a 40-minute flight and a 5 hour trip time total, leaving plenty of time to explore Queenstown before and
Read more
Response from Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Half-Day Milford Sound Flight and Cruise from Queenstown
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Trillimod, Thank you for reviewing Air Milford on TripAdvisor. We are really pleased that you were blown away by viewing our local area from the skies with pilot Alex, aboard one of our Cessna Caravans. You are 100% correct it is a completely normal part of flying in the mountains to experience some turbulence, or as the pilots call them 'bumps'. Often these bumps are created by rising warm air, which is accentuated in mountainous regions. The larger the plane, the less you feel the bumps, so our Cessna Caravans are ideally suited to fly between Milford Sound and Queenstown, they are large enough to reduce the feeling on the bumps, but still small enough to be able to land in Milford Sound. Thank you for your wise advice to future travelers about the weather dependent nature of the trip. Milford Sound is one of the wettest places in the world, with over 7 meters of rain falling annually! We only fly to Milford when the weather permits, which means we fly about 70% of the time. Because of this, we recommend guests book in for their first available day in Queenstown. So that, should the weather be unfavorable for flying on the first day, they have maximum flexibility to move their booking on to a following fine weather day. On behalf of the whole team, we are so pleased you were able to find a good weather window and experience the unforgettable scenery. All the best, Mary, Guest services, Air Milford.
Read more
We had an unbelievable experience on a flight and cruise to Milford from Queenstown a few months ago (Sep. 2019). This was on our second day in NZ, after flying in from the US. On the way to the airport, our rental car got a flat tire. While we were super worried about missing
Read more
Response from Airmilford, Front Office Manager at Half-Day Milford Sound Flight and Cruise from Queenstown
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Ariel H, Thank you for sharing your review of Air Milford with the TripAdvisor community. We are blown away with your kind feedback on your experience flying with Tom in September. He is an awesome pilot and loves sharing his local knowledge of the region with his guests, as you have discovered, we are lucky to have some breathtaking scenery to explore on our doorstep. We are pleased that we were able to come to the rescue when your car got a flat, it would have been an absolute shame all round, if that had caused you to miss the trip :-) On behalf of the whole team here, thank you for your high recommendation to future travelers and all the best for your next adventures, Sincerely, Mary, Air Milford.
Read more
Previous
Key Details
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Hotel Pickup
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+63 923-0990452