We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Rome
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Vatican Skip-the-Line Tour Packages: Basilica, Sistine Chapel, and Vatican Museums from Rome

Save
Share
Likely To Sell Out
Select Date and Travelers
From
US$67.87
Date
2 travelers
Options
Overview
Chose one of the three options to visit the Vatican. Each option has different duration and gives you the opportunity to visit different sections of the Vatican. The Silver, Gold and Platinum guided tours are tailored for those who would like to see only the "must see", for those who would like to see more than "must see" and also for those who would like to discover some treasures more in depth.
Highlights
  • Choose between three types of Vatican visits for three types of travelers
  • Ideal for visitors who have a tight schedule
  • Skip-the-line admission allows you to breeze past the Vatican’s long lines
  • All admission fees and headsets to hear your guide clearly are included
What to Expect
Your tour starts at Borgo Vittorio Street, where you meet your guide at the City Lights Tours office. Three tour options are available, each designed for a different type of traveler. With the Vatican Silver tour, skip Vatican Museums to save time and visit the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter’s Basilica in roughly 90 minutes. This is ideal for travelers who have already seen the museums or who don’t have time to visit the art collections. With the Vatican Gold tour, spend time inside the Vatican Museums with a guide. Visit the Vatican Museum galleries, Raphael Rooms, and Sistine Chapel, and skip the lines at St. Peter’s Basilica. The Platinum tour is the most comprehensive: Take a guided tour of all areas of the museums and stop at the most important works of art along the 9 miles (14.5 kilometers) of galleries.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Borgo Vittorio, 84, 00193 Roma RM, Italy
Departure Time
11:30 AM
Duration
4h
Return Details
Saint Peter's Square, Forum Sancti Petri, Città del Vaticano, Vatican City
Inclusions
  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • Tour guide
  • Headsets to hear the guide clearly
  • Entry/Admission - Sistine Chapel
  • Entry/Admission - Vatican Museums
  • Entry/Admission - St. Peter's Basilica
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • Minimum age is 6 years
  • Please arrive 15 minutes before your scheduled departure time
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
30Reviews4Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 14
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Totally recommend booking through Viator. We’ve used them several times before and have had only good experiences. With so many visitors no matter what time of year you go, the skip the line tour is certainly worth it. Our guide was very knowledgeable and super nice!
Read more
Too busy, disorganised and very disappointing. We went to see the beautiful painted ceiling in the Sistine Chapel. Beautiful it is but after a long trek round the museums to get there it was so busy we were quickly ushered out to make room for all the others. Couldn't really
Read more
Response from Sean_CltRome, Guest Relations Manager at Vatican Skip-the-Line Tour Packages: Basilica, Sistine Chapel, and Vatican Museums from Rome
Responded 18 Jun 2019
Thank you for your review especially because this is the second version of your review. In the first one you were blaming us for the starving children around the globe compared to the wealth of the Vatican and of the Vatican Museums. As we couldn’t find any reference of your booking we understood that you were a last minute costumer, joined our already booked clients and probably, what happened is that another agency asked us to accommodate few last minute clients as, within our limited size group, we had few free spots. We don’t want to let anybody down and we accepted you to join us at the very last minute. That said we need to make you understand that Rome in June, and especially the Vatican, is probably one of the busiest places on Earth and you cannot expect to be alone. You came to the Vatican without any kind of reservation and ended up in a well-organized group, max 20 participants, that skipped all the lines. Probably you didn’t realize that what you paid for was a complete tour of the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and skip the line for the St Peter’s Basilica and that’s why the whole history of the Museums for you was just a “long trek round the museums to get” to the Sistine Chapel. We are sorry if the guide annoyed you with centuries of history within the Galleries and rooms of the Vatican Museums. As for the people with low mobility, there are separate itineraries within the Museums – the itinerary you went on cannot be taken as almost discriminatory paradigm in terms of people with low mobility. Also, from our experience with clients, people with low mobility check in advance about the itineraries and possibilities to have a seat at some point. The “gelateria outside”: there is no gelateria outside our office and not even in the whole street where our office is located. You were probably talking about a gelateria in front of the Museums, that, allow us, is not even worth mentioning: everybody knows that restaurants, coffee bars etc close to main attractions and monuments are in most cases the worst and not the cheapest ones. Thank you for heads up anyway! Also, there is another thing that my staff and myself couldn’t understand. It’s the “Val P” review title which is probably some your criteria of evaluation. We have also “googled” it and couldn’t find anything and so still thinking of it :) . That’s why we don’t want to let you down not even this time, so let us salute you with a kind of Italian pun that we adapted to our case, that says: Molte volte anche i clienti la fanno completamente fuori dal vaso. Come visit us in November or January, you might be alone in the Museums and inside the Sistine Chapel! Maybe next time all your Tripadvisor reviews about Rome will be better - we noticed you complained almost about everything. Happy travels!
Read more
Dozens of tours are all skip the line. Too much to do in just a few hours. Guide was hard to understand. Not worth the money.
Read more
Response from Sean_CltRome, Guest Relations Manager at Vatican Skip-the-Line Tour Packages: Basilica, Sistine Chapel, and Vatican Museums from Rome
Responded 21 May 2019
Dear Sackemper, Thank you for your review. We tried to understand and to investigate what happened on your tour. You didn't give us any further details about your tour and we couldn’t find what went wrong. Tours, worth being called “tours”, should be all skip-the-line tours. We guarantee our clients skip the line for all the attractions. Moreover, due to the long security check lines at the Vatican, in the last few months, our company has the privilege to skip the security check line as well – with no additional cost for our costumers. We thought that this additional advantage City Lights Tours offers would have been appreciated by our guests. Maybe you didn’t notice how smoothly our groups enter the Museums or (it could be) you never joined the City Lights tour? As for the length of the tour itself, we are glad you discovered that the Vatican Museum is one of the biggest Museums in the World. You joined our 2 hours tour, but if you wanted to dedicate more time to this experience, we are offering many options that you could have chosen in order to discover more sections inside the Vatican. They all have different costs. All our clients receive City Lights card with the name of the guide and all our contacts. That’s why we are wondering why you didn’t mention the guide’s name as you have been unhappy with him/her. Also, all our guides are mother-tongue or fluent English language speakers, without mentioning the exact and punctual terminology they have to use during the tours in the historic or archaeological sites. Also, we are among very few companies with an office in the Vatican area (we don’t meet on a random spot on the street/piazza). We would have extremely appreciated if you have come back to our office and report your disappointment. We invest a lot of efforts on the costumer care and in case you had reported directly to us any problem you had on your tour, we would have been glad to find a solution for you. Thank you for your time. Kind regards.
Read more
My friends and I heard about this tour from "Rome Free Walking Tour". We received a nice discounted voucher that we were able to apply. They were very helpful and accommodating, since we have booked the 3:00 tour very late. I totally recommend on joining this tour because you
Read more
We got the platinum package and it was wonderful! So glad we were guided in the Basilica. Alessandra the guide was excellent! Most of all she ddin’t make me feel stupid when I cried (I loved Pope John Paul II) and even waited while I said a quick prayer. Alessandra was super
Read more
Previous
About the operator
By: City Lights Rome - Day Tours
The Mindful Cyclist
Lawson, Australia
60
Very informative and enjoyable tour
Having looked at the queue of people going into Vatican City, we were immediately relieved that we had booked a
Read more
angelap69
London, United Kingdom
20
Great Tour
Very good tour, yes, you do skip the line as it says. Our tour guide Dina was very helpful and informative. Groups
Read more
Myka S
Boca Raton, Florida
5117
NO
impossible to find location sad waiting space they had a fridge with one bottle of water - just for them, couldn't
Read more
PDFamily
Atlanta, Georgia
71
Rome with the experts.
We had two separate English-speaking tours with this company. Both were outstanding. One day, we toured St.
Read more
Tony S
33
Vatican Tour
Pretty ordinary would look elsewhere. Guide tried her best but was boring! Wasn’t that well organised. We seemed
Read more
scjerusalem
Jerusalem, Israel
30
Wonderful!
Totally recommend booking through Viator. We’ve used them several times before and have had only good
Read more
Mozbaer
10
Great tour
We had a mixup with the pickup and Sean the tour manager worked with us to make sure we made it in time to the
Read more
Lisa H
10
Best tour I’ve ever had!
Amazing tour!! Dina was our guide and she was SO informative. Was nervous about the “skip the line” tour not being
Read more
rickysmv
20
Amazing service and knowledge!
This was a great tour but made even better by the service. We arrived late (due to the crappy bus system!) but the
Read more
mickyc783
62
Mum, brother and I with Eduardo
We loved our tour with City Lights Rome. Eduardo is an amazing guide - very warm, knowledgeable and kind to our
Read more
Key Details
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+63 923-0990452
Travelers Also Viewed
Likely To Sell Out
Likely To Sell Out
Frequently bought together
Skip the Line: Colosseum Small Group...
12,625 Reviews
from US$51.32*
Special Offer
Colosseum, Pantheon and Roman Forum...
809 Reviews
from US$35.65*
US$41.94
Likely To Sell Out
Gladiator Gate and Arena Floor...
789 Reviews
from US$68.42*
Likely To Sell Out
Skip the Line: Colosseum and Ancient...
591 Reviews
from US$62.90*