EuropeIrelandProvince of MunsterCounty KerryKillarneyThings to Do in KillarneyTours and Tickets

The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney - with unbiased reviews

Reserve Now & Pay Later

The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney

Save
Share
Select Date and Travelers
From
US$101.80
(Price varies by group size)
Date
2 adults
Options
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
The remote Gap of Dunloe features spectacular scenery but is hard to navigate, so this half-day tour makes it easy to access the photogenic mountain pass from Killarney’s medieval Ross Castle. The classic Irish adventure includes a narrated boat ride on the lakes of Killarney plus a pony-drawn carriage ride through the relatively untouched Black Valley, so you can travel the way that locals have for centuries.
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Ross Castle
Ross Rd, Ross Island, Killarney, Co. Kerry, IrelandCompany rep from Tangney's of Killarney will meet with you at 10.20am at the wooden foot bridge in front of Ross Castle. There is free car parking at Ross Castle
See address & details
  • 1
    Ross Castle
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • 2
    Lough Leane
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • 3
    Gap of Dunloe
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • 4
    Killarney Jaunting Cars Tangney Tours
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • 5
    Old Weir Bridge
    Stop: 10 minutes - Admission included
    See details
You'll end at
Ross Castle
Ross Rd, Ross Island, Killarney, Co. Kerry, IrelandCompany rep from Tangney's of Killarney will meet with you at 10.20am at the wooden foot bridge in front of Ross Castle. There is free car parking at Ross Castle
See address & details
Highlights
  • Explore some of Killarney's most remote yet rewarding landscapes
  • Travel through the Gap of Dunloe and Black Valley on a traditional pony cart
  • Learn about the region's history on a boat ride through the Lakes of Killarney
  • Convenient start and end point at historic Ross Castle
Important Information
Departure Point
Ross Castle, Ross Rd, Ross Island, Killarney, Co. Kerry, Ireland
Duration
5h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Driver/guide
  • Live commentary on board
  • Local guide
  • Guaranteed to skip the long lines
  • Transport by private vehicle
  • Entry/Admission - Lough Leane
  • Entry/Admission - The Black Valley
  • Entry/Admission - Gap of Dunloe
  • Entry/Admission - Killarney Jaunting Cars Tangney Tours
  • Entry/Admission - Old Weir Bridge
  • Guaranteed to skip the lines
Exclusions
  • Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
  • Food and drinks
  • Lunch
  • Gratuities
  • Entry/Admission - Ross Castle
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or non-arrival of cruise ship
  • Comfortable walking shoes are recommended
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 60 travelers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
51Reviews
5Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 16
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
lgk1915 wrote a review Oct 2019
12 contributions5 helpful votes
For our last day of a great week, we decided to turn our touring over to someeone else. We chose Tangney Tours for an all day adventure. It included a Jaunting Car ride through the beautiful, peaceful mountains and valley on a small cart led by a horse. It was the absolute
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Response from killarneyjauntingcar, Front Office Manager at The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney
Responded 13 Oct 2019
Thank you for posting a great review and we are so delighted you enjoyed your Gap of Dunloe Tour with us. The Gap of Dunloe is such a special place and it is often described as another wonder of the world. We are happy to read that you found the booking process easy and that by booking with us it allowed you to sit back, relax and enjoy your day out in our company. We hope we can welcome you back to Killarney again sometime to enjoy some more of our great tour options that are available,
Read more
Suma16 wrote a review Sep 2019
127 contributions49 helpful votes
We were met at Ross Castle and taken to the start where we got on our jaunting cart for our ride through the Gap of Dunlop. After lunch we enjoyed a boat ride with Dux back to Ross Castle. The whole experience was amazing and so well organised. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Response from killarneyjauntingcar, Front Office Manager at The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney
Responded 29 Sep 2019
Thank you for posting a great review and we are delighted you enjoyed The Gap of Dunloe Tour with us. Yes we agree with you this tour is amazing!! We hope we can welcome you back to Killarney again sometime to enjoy some more of our amazing tour options on offer.
Read more
Thomas K wrote a review Sep 2019
5 contributions
Scenery great, boat trip great, boatman great, Jaunt trip a disaster. Cart broke down midway - Buster's (the horse) guide was a dud. The cart broke down midway and the guide emptied the cart of us and turned around leaving us to walk over 3 miles. No cart was sent for us and
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Response from killarneyjauntingcar, Front Office Manager at The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney
Responded 17 Sep 2019
Hello Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you had an inconvenience on your tour. Unfortunately a bolt came loose on your trap and for safety reasons you were asked to disembark your trap. A trap came as a replacement which should have meant you would only have walked from the black valley church to the boats- which is an approx 1 mile walk. We are sorry for the inconvenience you had but we must adhere to safety procedures. We are glad that you enjoyed your boat tour and that you got to enjoy the scenery of the Gap of Dunloe which is a wonderful part of Ireland. Again our apologies for the inconvenience you had on your tour. We hope we can welcome you back to Killarney again sometime
Read more
Darren D wrote a review Sep 2019
232 contributions63 helpful votes
We got a wet and windy day. In away it added to the experience as Ireland can be harsh and the people have to adapt to her over history. The gap ride was wet, windy and fun, there is a steep part that we needed to walk, u should check if you have problems with walking up hill
Read more
Jessica L wrote a review Aug 2019
168 contributions24 helpful votes
We loved it! We met at Ross Castle for a short bus ride to Kate Kearney's place, where we boarded our four-person pony-and-traps for the ride up the mountain. So beautiful, and our driver/guide, Michael, was so interesting! He knew the area so well because he lived there (we
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
About the operator
By: Killarney Jaunting Cars Tangney Tours
AMasters87
123
Danny and Pele - Magic!!!!
Danny and Pele made our trip to Killarney absolutely magic! They were beyond amazing. Danny told a story that
Read more
deltadawn323
Cork, Ireland
10
Lovely
Fabulous experience lovely people and horses. Will definitely do it again next Christmas. The Christmas lights
Read more
Marcus Yong
80
Great Gist of a Large Acre
It’s not very possible to explore such a large Killarney National Park purely on foot so this gives a good
Read more
Brimton
Wilmington, North Carolina
4721
Paul and Ollie what a great team
We took the jaunty cart to Ross castle a wonderful calm ride through the park while Paul told us facts about
Read more
tatyo17
10
Lovely evening
A lovely evening on the jaunting cars.jimmy was our horse beautiful well kept animal.great value for money
Read more
Mag48
Dublin, Ireland
20
We did this trip with my parents and daughter who is 5 and we loved it, from start to finish it was fab
This is a wonderful way to see the park and it’s beauty and I would recommend this highly, a must when you visit
Read more
Scoota13
Broken Hill, Australia
9013
Peacefull
What a great experience, travelling through the parklands and listening to the clatter of hooves...highly
Read more
Lu T
Fort Wayne, Indiana
174
Fun Experience!
Fun and educational! Jon our Driver was talkative and knowledgeable and answered everyone’s questions. I would
Read more
Karen H
21
Christmas Sleigh Ride
Fabulous Magical Experience. Travelled with a 3 and 6 year old they both loved it. Bob the horse and our driver
Read more
3kidsandmum
Cork, Ireland
30
Christmas in killarney
Booked our slot online for 6.50pm. 3adults and 3children. Our second year doing the town route experience during
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 5h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071
Tripadvisor
© 2020 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.
* TripAdvisor LLC is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our site... more
TripAdvisor LLC is not responsible for content on external web sites. Taxes, fees not included for deals content.
CURRENCY/REGION
US$USD
Philippines