Tours and Tickets

Underground Vaults Historical Walking Tour in Edinburgh provided by Mercat Tours

Underground Vaults Historical Walking Tour in Edinburgh

Save
Share
Support this operator:Times are tough for the travel community right now. To show your support, consider leaving a review or posting photos of tours and experiences you have taken. Your support will go a long way in helping tour operators worldwide get back on their feet down the road
View all photos (79)
Select Date and Travelers
From
US$20.84
Date
2 adults
Options
Low Price Guarantee
No Booking Fees
Overview
No visit to Edinburgh is complete without descending to the South Bridge Vaults, home to more than 300 years of history. Escape the city’s icy winds on a historical walking tour of Edinburgh Old Town, both above and below ground. Explore excavated tunnels only accessible with a guide, and listen to commentary that brings the former residences to life. Choose between two different departure times, and upgrade to include a special souvenir.
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Mercat Cross
High St, Edinburgh EH1 1RF, UKMercat Cross, High St, Edinburgh EH1 1RF. Look for the 8 sided monument with white Unicorn on top. You will find a member of our visitor services team waiting here to check you in. They will be dressed in black, holding an iPad, wearing an orange lanyard & holding a black & orange umbrella.
See address & details
  • 1
    Mercat Tours
    Stop: 45 minutes -
    See details
  • 2
    Mercat Cross
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    See details
  • 3
    Edinburgh Old Town
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    See details
You'll end at
28 Blair St
28 Blair St, Edinburgh EH1 1QR, UKMercat Tours, 28 Blair Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1QR. This tour ends after a visit to our Blair Street Underground Vaults.
See address & details
Highlights
  • Visit vaults only accessible with a guide on an Edinburgh Old Town walking tour 
  • An atmospheric experience suitable for adults and kids alike 
  • Let your guide bring 300 years of history to life
  • Choose between two different departure times for your convenience 
  • Upgrade to include a special souvenir to take home with you
What to Expect
Your tour begins at a designated meeting point in Edinburgh Old Town. Greet your guide and receive an overview of Edinburgh’s rich history. After two stops above ground, descend to South Bridge Vaults and explore the tunnels by candlelight. Learn about how the vaults came into fruition and listen to spine-chilling tales of death, disease, and body snatching by the infamous Burke and Hare. Plus, see relics abandoned by the former residents of the vaults. The tour concludes in the Discovery Room. Here you can gain access to exhibits containing further information on the South Bridge Vaults.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Mercat Cross, High St, Edinburgh EH1 1RF, UK
Duration
1h 15m
Return Details
28 Blair St, Edinburgh EH1 1QR, UK
Inclusions
  • Local guide
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop off
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
Show More
Additional Info
  • No Children under 5
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
589Reviews
10Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 301
  • 63
  • 11
  • 6
  • 3
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
More
Popular mentions
Christian Janss wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
They were very proactive and helpful about the cancellation from Covid-19. They gave me a refund and were very nice about it. I will see them in the future.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from MercatToursLtd, Owner at Underground Vaults Historical Walking Tour in Edinburgh
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there Jan, Thanks for getting in touch, its great to hear you're happy with our service - even without being on tour! Until then, take care and stay safe. Kat
Read more
Expedition623041 wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution
Due to COVID, Kat went above and beyond to reschedule me 3 TIMES and then arrange me a private tour! Who does that? Now we are cancelled due to COVID, but the minute we can go, we will! Kat was human above policies, kind, helpful. WOW! The airlines and other tour companies could
Read more
Date of experience: May 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from MercatToursLtd, Owner at Underground Vaults Historical Walking Tour in Edinburgh
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there, Wow! What a lovely review, thank you! It was a pleasure to help out, hard times are made a little easier if we all support each other. Until we see you in bonny Edinburgh, take care and stay safe. Kat
Read more
m0chael wrote a review May 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
I went on a historic underground tour of the vaults with underhay with Jade and Carla and some residents and it was in the afternoon before it got dark it was during the week and it was from Monday to Friday in October Last Year our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Kristina wrote a review Apr 2020
Toronto, Canada2 contributions
We were so excited to go on our historic underground tour this upcoming May, but unfortunately had to cancel our trip and tour due to Covid-19. This has been the most painless cancellation we've had while in the process of cancelling our two week trip. Can't wait to come to
Read more
Date of experience: April 2020
Helpful
Share
patrizia1710 wrote a review Apr 2020
Lane Cove, Australia236 contributions49 helpful votes
Our tour was to happen in May 2020 but due to COVID19 this couldn't happen and all our plans were cancelled. We had terrific communication with Kat and her understanding of our situation to allow us to receive a full refund was amasing. Hopefully we'll be travelling
Read more
Date of experience: April 2020
Helpful
Share
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Mercat Tours
BetsyS263
00
Great Customer Service!!! Definitely Book Again
Great Customer Service!!! We were looking forward to a trip to Edinburgh this summer. I love the city, having been
Read more
sarahbtraveling
00
Outstanding customer service and top-notch concept
Our tour was very unfortunately canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic. We had very much been looking forward to
Read more
garybM6272QD
00
Fantastic Customer Services
My wife and I had our trip to Edinburgh cancelled recently to the lockdown. We were gutted not to be able to visit
Read more
Rmoncayo
00
Great customer service
Like many people I unfortunately had to cancel my trip to Scotland for May and my tour planned with Mercat. Of all
Read more
lemursaucea
00
Prompt Customer Service
I had an underground vault tour scheduled for this upcoming July (2020). Unfortunately, due to the Covid-19 pandem
Read more
DemiiTravels
00
Amazing experience
A Scottish friend recommended the underground tours to my friend and I so we decided to give it a go! We had a grea
Read more
52sherylg
00
Pandemic cancellation
We were scheduled to go on a tour of Edinburgh Castle through Mercat tours. Unfortunately, due to the pandemic, th
Read more
scorpiomichael
00
Excellent Customer Service
Our trip from NZ to the UK was postponed 12 months by the Covid19 situation. Mercat Tours was so well organised the
Read more
169jefff
00
Mercat Tour Extraordinary Customer Service
Our trip to Edinburgh at the end of April 2020 was cancelled due to COVID-19. Mercat Tours was very understanding a
Read more
Ellis t
00
Amazing customer service
Mercat Tours is having a difficult time now, but they contacted me pro active to announce that they will be closed
Read more
Margaret P
00
Extremely helpful
We had a short break booked in Edinburgh in May and had to postpone our visit due to lock down. This meant liaisin
Read more
Laurenamybrown1996
00
Great customer service!
We had a tour booked for May that was cancelled due to the Coronavirus situation. I emailed and enquired about our
Read more
anna z
00
Great customer service
Booked this tour for May and because of Corvid our entire trip was cancelled. Kit could not have been nicer about a
Read more
844sherrif
00
Cancelled trip
My husband and I were supposed to go on a trip to Scotland the end of May. All our travel plans were cancelled due
Read more
kimhK3053MD
00
Brill!
Absolutely awesome tour with a friendly, fun and knowledgeable guide (Lauren). No one jumps out, just a bunch of hi
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 1h 15m
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+63 923-0990452
Frequently Asked Questions about Underground Vaults Historical Walking Tour in Edinburgh